We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Save Saved
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and i spent a week at VLE in mid-March. We are fairly seasoned, fairly picky travelers (okay, i am at least!). We loved our week at VLE. The people, the pool, the sunshine, the spa, the workout facility, and the location were fabulous. We rented a 2 bedroom place on the 3rd floor (Brad & Joey) with a view of the ocean and the pool. The room was huge with everything you could ask for. But, don't go because of the rooms - you won't want to stay there much! We did the all-inclusive for 3 days and were on our own for 4 days. This worked out nicely for us, as we got the best of both meal plan choices. Something for you to consider if/when you go. Go to Buceris (walk or cab) for dinner, buying, etc...PV was fun, but a $25 cab ride or so and a little too 'touristy' for us... All in all a great trip. I wish i could remember everyone's name that were so kind to us (there were LOTS of them) - starting with Luis at the front door, Alan in La Casona for breakfast, Lizandro (sp?) in the gym, Claudia in the spa (amazing deep tissue massage), Angel at the pool and Alexandro (sp?) at the pool bar/server. We did not want to leave. And, it looks like we will now be back in December for a family reunion trip of sorts! Looking forward to that already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    54
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
259
237
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Villa la Estancia lives up to all the fantastic reviews I read prior to our departure in March. the resort is a combiation of condo units owned / rented by the owner, and units that are "rented" as part of packages by travel providers such as Expedia. We were greeted upon arrival by the concierge and treated to a hand massage and refreshing glass of sparkling wine. How civilized! Checkin went without a hitch and we were given a short overview of the amenities of the property (and the adjoining Flamingos resort at which we could use the facilities) on our way to our room.

We booked a "Deluxe" room with our package and it was luxurious and spacious. There were two queen sized beds, a comfy chair, desk and tub chair in the main sleeping area. Then there were the surprises -- a huge walk-in closet with ample room for suitcase storage and hanging clothing, a separate closet complete with iron, ironing board, and wall safe for secure storage. There was a "coffee bar" with coffee maker and small bar-sized refrigerator for your personal beverages. The bathroom had a lovely tub/shower combination made of stone/tile and came complete with two robes and slippers for your comfort. I felt like I was being pampered already!

We ate at the restaurant every day for breakfast. The menu had a great array of traditional Mexican dishes and Western favourites from which to choose. I tried a different dish every day and was not disappointed. The restaurant had indoor and patio seating and inevitably we chose the outdoor option after being cooped up all winter with snow and cold.

The restaurant is also open in the evening for dinner and we dined there on the day we arrived. The food was cooked to our liking, the service was not rushed, and they made you feel valued as customers.

The pool area had a splash pad for little ones, a terraced pool and a lower pool complete with swim-up bar. This bar / food prep area handled food and drink on the terrace during the daytime. The servers were always attentive, but not pushy, understanding if you didn't want anything at that time. Around the pool were ample lounge chairs and table/chair combinations for sitting and relaxing. Towels were provided by the staff and umbrellas moved to your liking.

There were also lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach along the front of the property that were equally popular with the guests.

Villa la Estancia is located 1.5 - 2km south of the village of Bucerias. We walked the beach every day, finding great restaurants/bars and shopping at the main market in the downtown area of Bucerias.

In talking to some folks who owned condos within the property, they said that the package deals are usually better than renting from the owners directly and paying for airfare separately.

Will I go back? When can I leave?????

Room Tip: view from higher floors is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just got back yesterday from our trip. We travel with 11 people, 4 under the age of 16. There is no kid's activities. When we were told there were things to do next door it didn't happen. If not enough people wanted to do it it just didn't happen. Very disappointing for my 13 and 7 year olds.

We had no trouble with breakfast in the morning. However, dinner will take at least 2 hours if not longer. The sister hotel has much better service. We were suppose to have reservation at the sister hotel one night, but there was a mix up. They were still able to sit us even though we were a party of ten. Spent the rest of the nights eating over there.

There really was nothing for the kids to do besides swim in the pool, play on the beach, and play tennis. While those things are great to do hard to entertain a 7 year old everyday with the same thing.

The grounds were beautiful. The staff inside was very friendly. The waiters were trying to avoid us the last few days. We were not tipping as we went and had every intention of giving at the end based on service. We left nothing. By the end of our trip we couldn't even get towels put on chairs for us. The nicest person to us was a busboy. We were told tips were included in the all inclusive so just wanted to reward as we saw fit.

The rooms were beautiful, but it took forever to get them cleaned. On the last night I wanted the special jacuzzi bath they offer. I asked for it to be run at 8:30 as my kids with with their grandparents. At 8:45 I called and they said they would send someone. They sent someone at 9:30 and I had already run my own by then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our second trip to Villa La Estancia, and it was just as good as the first. From the moment we walked in and were greeting by the bellmen (who recognized us from last year), we were treated like royalty. The accommodations were outstanding (as expected) and the people were friendly, helpful, and always eager to please. We were able to hold a Passover seder in the main restaurant, which is one that our entire family will remember forever. The trip to the Mega market was fun for everyone (it’s always fun to try and figure out ingredients in Spanish). The resorts have cut down on the number of beach vendors, and those that do come by are actually polite (and understand that no means no). My wife enjoyed bartering with them as much as she enjoyed the trinkets that she bought. Anyone who reads thru the numerous reviews will see that you can’t go wrong, no matter who you rent from. We plan on coming back again next year for yet another fantastic week.

Room Tip: try to stay on the 4th floor or higher for an unobstructed ocean view. The lower room numbers are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It was our first trip to Mexico and we did a lot of research before picking the place :) (To be honest we are very picky travelers! ;) We stayed here for 8 nights in early August. The place is Amazing!!! We and kids (6 and 4) loved it - Rooms are super clean, spacious and wonderful, views are nice, grounds and pool are in immaculate conditions! Staff is super friendly - Bernardo @ La Casona, JJ, Alphonso @ the Pool bar and many many more.

Food at La Casona and Pool bar was very good - I wish there would be more restaurant choices with the same food quality as La Casona - there are places next door at sister property but food quality is not the same - plus it's super crowded - you definitely feel a HUGE difference when come back to Villa La Estancia). Spa and Gym are wonderful as well!

We are definitely recommending it to our friends and looking forward to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in early March. It was really great! Wonderful views and beautiful beach right there. The condo was gorgeous and the staff very friendly. We didn't have to fight for pool chairs or beach umbrellas like so many other places. I was amazed at how good the pool food was! Healthy choices and gourmet like presentation. Usually poolside food is just ok. Also would say how spectacularily clean everything was. I've never seen such well maintained grounds. We would return tomorrow if we could!! Rented from Brad & Joey Villa 1302!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I'm sitting here on the patio of my beautiful two bedroom suite looking out at the most beautiful beach and ocean. This is my last day and I wanted to write the review while it is fresh. The room is beautiful, the people are beautiful, the food is fantastic! It is well worth the price of the stay. You get what you pay for here!

Be careful of the time share people in the airport and next door at the Flamingo. If you are not into timeshares, you should stay clear! They will ruin your vacation. They are polite but if you don't want to spend hours of your vacation trying to say no.

I highly recommend taking the ATV tour with Wildtrek. You can book this tour on site. Make sure you bring money. You will drive through small towns where you can buy trinkets. You will also stop at this amazing restaurant on a steep hill. There your will have a tequila tasting with an option to buy.

Most people here speak English but they love to see you try to speak their language. They pool guys gave my teen boys lessons every night. The spa is a must try as well. I recommend the hot stone massage.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The third tower always has a nice breeze from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel La Estancia
Resort La Estancia
Villa La Estancia Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.