We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was awesome and we can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Estancia

Save Saved
You added Villa La Estancia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa La Estancia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
orange, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was awesome and we can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

It was wonderful. The hotel was gorgeous, and the staff was great. It was quiet and elegant, not like the timeshare places. From check-in with the concierge, instead of long lines and a pool concierge that helped you set up a chair (instead of getting out at 06:00 to reserve a chair) the whole experience was low-key and elegant.

The staff was great as well. When we commented that we loved the peppers served with our luinch, Cesar at the pool bar gave us an impromptu cooking lesson. We were constantly asked if everything was ok.

The only con was that the food and drinks were VERY expensive, so do all-inclusive if you can, or plan on doing some shopping and cooking.

We are already planning on getting back there.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view, even on 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    55
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
262
238
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I'll start my echoing was most all other reviewers have said about this place in that is was absolutely wonderful. If you're looking for a luxury set-up where all you want to do is simply lounge by the water, relax, drink cerveza, and chill, this place is it. There aren't many places we visit where we're already planning our next trip back before we leave, but we're coming back here no doubt.

Accommodations - we stayed in a one-bedroom villa that was bigger than our first house. Impeccably decorated with everything you'd need, including a full kitchen if you felt obligated to cook on your own. The only set-back was that our mattress was quite firm. Something a bit softer would have been welcome, especially on sunburnt shoulders. During our stay the resort was at about 15% full, so there were days we were practically the only ones there (May is the slow month we learned, though weather was still incredible). We learned from talking to the staff that the resort is never more than 60% occupied due to it's privately-owned nature of villas (vs. a time-share or normal hotel).

Pool/Beach - it gets windy in the afternoons this time of year, so we spent more time by the pool than beach. That was fine, because the service was fantastic and we were never without whatever we needed.

Food/Drink - we were on an all-inclusive package, so it was "more of everything" for us! Villa La Estancia partners with the time-share property next door, so an all-inclusive guest can use facilities there as well. However, the best restaurant between both properties was La Casona, the steakhouse. Service was great, as was the food and atmosphere. We ate nearly every evening out on their patio by the water fountains. We ordered the same thing several times, and each time it came out pleasantly a bit different (e.g. a different sauce, side dish, etc.. It mixed it up a bit, which we enjoyed). Alcohol is expensive if you're not on an all-inclusive, which we recommend as the way to go. The other restaurants at the property next door were good, but not as great at La Casona. The property next door often had themed-dinners (e.g. Mexican Fiesta, Lobster Night, etc.) if of interest. Others noted the lack of a bar-scene, which is accurate. But again, this place is about serenity and relaxing, not boisterous partying. At last call, grab a few extra Corona's and head back to the room or down to the beach.

Staff - Aim to please! Especially Miguel at La Casona and Juan Jose at the pool bar. They were willing to do whatever it took to make sure you were happy.

Spa - one of the best experiences we've ever had. The Tatewari water-spa experience is one not to be missed! There are about a half-dozen different ways to treat your body with water: jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, swiss shower, cold plunge pool, cascade shower - this place rocked! The massages we got were above-average, but likely not as good as ones you can get here in the US. It's likely a matter of staff training more than anything, but this isn't a compliant at all - they were still fantastic. The reflexology treatments were the best.

Gym - a full cardio and free-weight experience. We felt less guilty downing drinks all afternood and eating 3x day by working out each morning. We thought we'd try a run on the beach some morning, but this place has everthing you'd need, including A/C and an english news-feed on the TV.

Golf - there are about a half-dozen courses within about a half-hour of the resort. I played at Flamingo's one morning, which is the closest course (a 5-minute drive). I paired up with a sun-bird from Canada on a Sunday morning, and we literally were the only ones on the course. They are headed into the rainy season, so the course was a bit dry since they'd not seen much rain since last fall. But, it was still quite an enjoyable course to play. Staff were friendly and the quality of rental clubs was good.

Overall, if you're looking to be entertained and have many after-dark options, stay down in PV. But, if you just want to get away for a few days, be pampered, unplug yourself from the grid, relax, and get tanned by the water, we'd recommend this place over all others.

Room Tip: Check out LivingSocial.com for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Upon arriving to Villa Estancia we were greeted by the fantastic staff. The doorman Leo was a great and friendly face to take your bag and offer you a seat while you checked in. The staff were very polite and very knowledgeable! Once we checked in, we were taken to our room on the 6th floor and were absolutely speechless (in a good way). The room was huge and beautiful, every amenity that you could ask for was available. The bathroom was spacious and luxurious and the balcony that over looked the beach and pool was just fantastic. Overall, this was a great location for rest and relaxation and a lot of it was due to the great hard working staff! Thanks to the staff we could not have asked for a better stay!

The only downside was the Jungle Tour that was offered. It should have been entitled "Urban Jungle Tour," but this was outside of Villa Estancia's control as the tours are offered through another group.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had a truly remarkable trip to La Villa Estancia. The food was amazing - best calamari ever, best fresh tasting pina coladas and don't skip the "green juice" at breakfast. The healthy juice probably cancelled out the not so healthy calamari! Also, they have a really good ceasar salad. And the cheeseburgers. It was all just really good!
We did the all inclusive option, which was a real steal considering that our dinner each night would have cost twice what we paid for the all inclusive for the whole day.
The hotel was at 15% occupancy, which meant that we were able to get up, enjoy a leisurely breakfast, play some tennis and then hit the beach and have our choice of loungers, at which point the pool concierge set up our chairs and towels for us, along with extra "pillow:" towels. Many times we had the beach area to ourselves. There were beach vendors, but they were not loud or pushy, just walked by showing their wares.
I would say that the only downside of this resort was the lack of bar to hang out at in the evenings. The pool bar closes at 6pm each day, and the only remaining bar is the restaurant, which is not really a bar at all. The sister resort next door is a short walking distance and they had a small bar there, as well as restaurants that are part of the all inclusive package. Also, there is 24 hour room service.
One other minor complaint is signing a check for every meal and beverage.
The gym was well equipped with lots of cardio machines, weights and lockers/showers.
The pool was the perfect temperature. They had four hot tubs as well, which we did not use. One of them was adults only with a fire pit next to it. It looked quite nice, but after being at the pool and beach all day, I was very happy to be dry at night.
Finally, this is the first review I have written for a resort. My husband and I get away to Mexico every year for some adult time away from our four young children. We have stayed at many all inclusives, and we have stayed at the Four Seasons Punta Mita. The service and food at Villa La Estancia rivals Four Seasons. Now, May is not the busiest time in Mexico, but this resort had low occupancy and said that they would appreciate us leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I almost didn't want to do it because I don't want to let the secret out! However on the other hand this little secret doesn't do me any good if they go out of business does it? Ha. Anyway, I am happy to share my experience for such a wonderful place. They work hard and are all so nice, and I would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for reading.
I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My family (My wife and I and 2 girls age 12 and 13) were looking for a very relaxing vacation, and we defenitely came to the right place. We booked our stay at Villa La Estancia as part of a travelocity all-inclusive package, and so I can't speak to the hotel price, though the package price was very reasonable.

The resort was absolutely spectacular - well beyond our high expectations.

Our 1-bedroom suite was huge, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. It had 2 full bathrooms, a living area, dining area, and kitchen. The master bath was enourmous with a whirlpool tub and large dual vanity. We had a large private patio to ourselves with a breathtaking view of the entire resort, pool, and ocean.

The resort grounds were immaculate with grass, palm trees, ponds, and pool. The pool was beautiful, with 2 tiers, a waterfall between the tiers, fountains, a swim up bar, plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, and shallow areas for small children. There were also 4 hot tubs practically right on the beach with different temperatures (warm and hot) to suit your preferences. The beach had lounge chairs with umbrellas as well as a few hammocks, with sand that was smoothed out every night. Also on the resort grounds were a nice fitness center a luxurious spa, and a tennis court. There were two restaurants at the resort, one was pretty fancy with excellent food open for breakfast and dinner, and the other was poolside for lunch. Available close by were parasailing, jetski and kayak rentals. There is a small town 20 minutes on foot down the beach to check out. There was a sister hotel next door (Villa Del Palmar Flamingos) that had very similar grounds and 3 restaurants, which we also had access to. Villa La Estancia is geared towards a more relaxing stay. Villa Del Palmar Flamingos is a bit more lively and more crowded, with activities scheduled throughout the day. So if we wanted some excitement, we went over there. It also gives some meal alternatives with Italian, International, and pizza restaurants.

The service was unbelievable. Everyone, from the concierges to the restaurant staff to the pool staff to the spa staff, were waiting on us hand and foot. We would get calls daily from the concierge asking if everything was to our liking. We had maid service twice a day, once to clean and the other for turn-down service to prep the room for bed time. At the restaurant, we were served by multiple, incredibly friendly waiters. The pool staff was very attentive, preparing our lounge chairs for us and getting us whatever we needed, including magazines, sunscreen, pool and beach toys, in addition to the food and drink.

The only negative I can think of is that the hotel is pretty far from the downtown area (probably 30 minutes by taxi). We were not interested in going downtown, and so this was not an issue for us.

Just a note... We happened to travel there in May. This must be the low season, since we were practically the only ones at the resort. I'm sure this contributed to our enjoyment.

Overall, it was an incredible experience for us. We kept commenting throughout our stay that this must be how celebrities travel. I would absolutely recommend it. We are planning on returning there as soon as we can and are trying to talk some family into meeting there for a trip in the future. I just can't say enough about this resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed at the Villa La Estancia the first week in May. The weather was 75 degrees at night, about 85 degrees during the day. Nice ocean breeze, very comfortable. Booked the Travelzoo special at $260 per night for the "ultra-inclusive" package. This included all food, drinks (also alcoholic beverages), tips, and accomodations for two people. This was an absolute steal! A Bacardi and Coke at the pool bar is 16.00USD each. Their drinks are comparable to a double in the US but still the all-inclusive is a great bargain. Plus, you can ask them to add a shot or customize your drink and there was never an issue. The property was beautiful, built in 2007 and looked brand new. They keep this place immaculate. Gorgeous tile and travertine throughout, it is a very elegant resort with special attention to detail. Spectacular pool area facing the ocean with swim up bar and palms throughout..there is a top pool that waterfalls into the main pool area. Plenty of chairs and an outstanding service staff. People did not show up to lay out by the pool until about 11:00am (that's when the bar opens btw). You have a "pool concierge" who is at your service for anything you need. He sets up your chair/umbrella, lays out your towels, gives you travel tips/advice. Fantastic! You can order lunch and drinks poolside or ocean side as there are waiters that come to get your order. There are (3) jacuzzis oceanside, one with a nice firepit nearby. At sunset, you can sit in the jacuzzi as you watch the sun go down behind the mountains. The pool has a restaurant that serves lunch only. Food was very good there. The beach is very close to the pool area and is really nice. There are no rocks or hard shells along the beach so access is great and you can swin anywhere along the beach. Water is very calm in the morning but the wind and waves pick up in the afternoon. This makes for a great parasail experience (it is the highest parasail I have ever seen!). Also available down the beach are banana boat rides, boogie boards and other watersports equipment. I saw a gentleman with horses come down the beach and approached him about a trip. He offered to pick us up the next day right on the beach at our hotel and take us horseback riding for $35.00 per person for an hour. His name is Raul and he wears a light cowboy hat. He took us riding along the beach and then into a small nearby town. It was perfect! No forms to sign, no lesson, all good. Several different vendors work the beach but they do not come up by the beach chairs unless you wave them toward you. All are extremely polite and gracious. My favorite was the mango lady...she has a makeshift wheelbarrow with a cooler of mangos. She puts the cold ripe mango on a stick, peels it and slices it like it were a flower and hands it to you to eat. Awesome! Right next to the Villa La Estancia is a sister property...its so close, its like it is part of the same property. The all inclusive allowed you to drink and eat at the sister resort but we found the food there to be "average" compared to the food at Villa La Estancia. We decided to eat at La Consona every night because the food and service was excellent. It has a casual elegance to it, an indoor or outdoor option, and they use real china. It is open for breakfast and dinner. The resort also offers 24 hour room service. We used this a couple of times and food was always delivered within 30 minutes of ordering and the quality was good. Service throughout this resort is top notch! The people are very pleasant and accomodating. All rooms have an ocean view. You can get full suites with kitchen, dining and living room. We stayed in a standard hotel room and it was very spacious and well decorated. They even have a Pillow Menu where you can choose the type of pillows you like. They have a small, but very nice spa on site. Make sure you ask if they have any specials on the service you want because I was able to get an aromatherapy massage for $72 USD for 55 minutes...it was wonderful! (special not advertised). I also received a mani/pedi combo for $60USD. AND...if you spend $100.00 at the spa, you get a free bottle of wine at La Consona restaurant (you have to ask for this at the spa, and they will give you a coupon). At the sister resort, there is a small food market, gift shop, and a Dollar Car Rental desk. The sister resort was very busy and much more crowded, whereas La Estancia had less people and was more quiet/relaxing. This is mainly because La Estancia are sold as residences and rented out. We rented a car for a day from Dollar to go to the nearby town of Punta Mita. It is about a 30 minute drive. From there, we took a boat to the La Merietas islands. I will write that up in a separate review titled La Merietas Islands. It cost $60.00 per day to rent a car and includes all insurance coverage. The car was extremely clean, fairly new.
Overall, this is a great resort with great service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We got a great deal on Travelzoo - $260/night for the all inclusive package so only $130 per person per day. For the deal we got it was definetely worth it. However, there are both positives and negatives to the all inclusive package at this hotel:

Positives of all inclusive
- The food and drink are definetely better quality than the full all inclusive hotels like the RIU for example, because it is also a real hotel where people are paying for the food/drink a la carte. Also there are premium beverages like grey goose, don julio tequila etc... that are included. The drinks are good they aren't watered down or too sweet like you may expect at an all inclusive. The food is also very good, even at the restaurant next door at villa del palmar flamingos, all the resto's here are included with the all inclusive as well. The food and drinks are pretty expensive so if you order a lot of drinks during the day or plan on staying at the hotel for most meals, all inclusive is definetely the way to go (we probably consumed $500 daily alone on food/drink, so compared to the deal we got, it was a steal...).

Negatives of all inclusive
- There are great restaurants in the area - if you do all inclusive chances are you'll be inclined to stay at the resort, which is not so lively at night and you miss the culture of the nearby towns (nuevo and bucerias).
- The restaurant choices at the resort are fairly limited, there is just 1 for breakfast/dinner and 1 for lunch...you can go next door and there are some more choices but still fairly limited and that resort there are more kids and it is a lot wilder.
- Service is hit or miss. This could be due to the tipping which is a bit of a mind-game at this resort. In the all inclusive they tell you that all tips are included for servers. However, everytime you get a drink they ask you to sign for it and you get the impression that tipping is still expected. We felt the level of service you get is largely tied to the tipping. In fact, the maximum amount of time you can 'run a tab' by the pool is an hour before they have to bring you your cheque, so you could be signing 5 cheques by the pool everyday and feel inclined to tip each time. I agree that tipping is something you usually can't get around at a hotel but then it shouldn't say that its included in your package.

Otherwise, the hotel was great. Extremely clean and comfortable, ground kept very well, good pool/beach area, towels/chairs etc... There are a truck-load of kids at this resort so can get loud at times depending on how busy it is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Paseo Cocoteros 750 Sur | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel La Estancia
Resort La Estancia
Villa La Estancia Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.