We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Changing Trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Save
You added Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Life Changing Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Mostly I want to share the things that have taken place after our amazing trip to the Mayan Sea Garden in Feb 2012. I know I am posting late. I have to preface this with this is more of a human interest review (and lengthy) not a full hotel property review. However, my feelings of the resort are that this is a beautiful property and love that it was beach front. The customer service was great as well. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the staff humor on engaging guests to have a great time. But, there is more to add.
Have you ever wondered why you met a certain person or why you were in the right place at the right time? Our Mexican trip was just that to us. Bill and I agreed to the sales presentation at the Grand Mayan. (We did go for the freebies-we admit it.) We didn't know at the time but our lives were about to change. Isabel was our presenter and although we didn't buy, she was very professional. After many nos we said, "Isabel, we like you but it's no. However, we want to buy you a drink after your shift."
We spent the afternoon getting to know Isabel and even went into the evening meeting her husband and brother. She invited us to her church. A street church with no roof, chain link fences and plastic chairs. That night her brother her brother gave his life to Christ. Watching Isabel have tears stream down her face, and learning that her brother was changing his life from prison to loving the lord.
During the week, Isabel called us on her day off to show us the best shopping sites. She showed us how to negotiate prices and when to walk away empty handed. She was inspiring and generous with her time and spirit.
Bill and I enjoyed a swim at the Sea Garden. All the while talking about why and what and how all these things had happened. We felt moved to give back and promote artisans because we had just experienced real culture and somehow it changed us.
From that day on up until this evening, Bill and I have worked tirelessly on creating a company to promote quality items that come from hard working artisans and companies from around the world all from our trip to Mexico and Isabel, her brother and her generosity. We launched our international swimsuit line on Friday and are adding our other product categories over the next few weeks and will continue searching the globe for cool things from hard working people daily.

What we learned from our trip, was to learn people's stories and accept another's heartfelt generosity albeit small or large...because it could just change your life and many others. Thank you Isabel!

Brina Haga
RUWorldwide.com

Room Tip: We attached a picture of the beach view from the side we didn't stay at. : / Our view was of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Brinalikestravel :

Thank you so much for choosing Sea Garden for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We are always happy to learn our staff exceeds our guests' expectations, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are certain Isabel will gladly receive your feedback. It is nice to know you think our property is beautiful.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    70
    33
    15
    15
See reviews for
54
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just came back from our seven day Mexico vacation. We stayed at the Mayan Sea Garden it was great. The staff is wonderful they go out of there way for you, the rooms are very clean and the grounds are beautiful. it is quiet and not alot if people. We have stayed at the Grand Mayan before I would rather stay at the Sea Garden with not alot of people. There is a restaurant there the Rumba great food ad drinks. There are also good restaurants within walking distance by the Marina. I will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Teresa L:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Sea Garden. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Loved the proximity of the hotel to the pool and beach. When we went next door to the Grand Mayan it was quite a hike to get from one place to the next since it was so big. If one of our family members needed to go to the room it was very quick. We were on the second floor at the end and could watch the rest of the family at the beach.
We had a 1 bedroom suite which had a simple bathroom, kitchen area and king bed. Two teenaged boys had their own beds(couches) in living room
All staff were very helpful from the concierge to the front desk and pool staff. We were given great advice on where to eat like the locals. Good cheap food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Pinksandles:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at Sea Garden. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just returned after spending 4 weeks at the Sea Garden and have nothing but good things to say about it. The food, the cleanliness, the staff - were all wonderful. There are a LOT of restaurants in the area to choose from and we had a great meal almost all the time. We went on the Timeshare presentation and our Member Specialist - Craig R - was great!! Very personable, knowledgeable and if he didn't know, he got the answer for us. Enjoyed our time with him. Definitely plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Diane D :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Sea Garden. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, you perceived the resort’s cleanliness and we are grateful for your kind words about our staff's service, as they work very hard to achieve excellence. We are certain Craig will gladly receive your feedback.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hello - I am a long time Mayan owner and though I have been to most of the properties, love Nuevo the best. We were at the Buenos Aires restaurant right down the street from the Mayan property. I had a choking episode with a piece of meat - so after the Heimlich maneuver, my already thin esophagus, was closed even thinner. I quickly cabbed it back to the Mayan property, they called the doctor, as at the Grand Mayan, they have a doctor's office. It did take him a few minutes to get there, then decided I should be taken via ambulance to the hospital - which is right across the street from where the cruise ships dock. I think the doctor charged around $50 at the hotel and even though I did have insurance, I think the bill with x-rays and exam., was under $300 and they took very good care of me and had a pharmacy right on premises for medications (I think about $40). My husband had an earlier episode on a different trip, where we needed a doctor to come to the room at the Mayan Palace, and I think that was $65 and they added the charge to our room bill.

So possibly the person whose comments I am replying to - maybe when they said 1000 - they meant pesos?

And I believe, while on property, besides some of the pool restrictions to Grand Mayan and/or Bliss, you are entitled to use any of the restaurants on the full property

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently spent a week here as we have done before and again, very much enjoyed our stay. The property is small and very well maintained. Staff is very friendly.
It's located right on the beach. just south of the Marina. There is only one restaurant but they also have a poolside grill for lunch and snacks. The food is very good.
A big plus is their Laundry room with washers and dryers available for a small charge.
There are a number of great restaurants within a few minutes walk.
We have always enjoyed our stay here .

Room Tip: Would suggest requesting an ocean view room as the sunsets are magnificent. 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear russell85 :
We are glad you have decided to post a review as it helpful to further enrich our performance and give other travelers a better idea of what to expect when staying at Sea Garden. We are delighted to know you that you enjoyed our facilities and meals and thank you as well for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have no idea what Katie D was talking about in her negative comments about the staff. They were excellent ! This hotel is well placed amongst the Mayan hotels because of the restaurants in the immediate area. Yes The Bliss and The Grand Mayan are very beautiful, but they are huge and you are more or less limited to their restaurants which are very expensive. The Sea Garden has its challenges ie: very hard beds, no balconies and no mini fridges in the studio suites but overall, the best option in Nuevo. The food at the hotel's Rumm ba restaurant is very good but a tad expensive. There are several restaurants near by so check them all out. Eddies and Elbarracuda were our favorites. But, with the exception of Elbarracuda, the service at every restaurant was way beyond SLOW! I don't think they have invented a word yet for this type of slow. The people were very nice and most of the food was very good, but it just took a long time for a meal. If you go to Vallarta, you have to go on the Rythims of the Night Tour. You can read all about it on line but we would definitely recommend it. Overall it was a nice vacation but having gone to various places throughout Mexico (8X) the Mayan Riviera is still our favorite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear bfill:
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden. We are happy to learn you enjoyed our facilities and all our staff was welcoming and pleasant as this is what we strive for every day.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Sea Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.