We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so-so resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A so-so resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This resort shows its age. There are no balconies, so enjoying time outside your room must be done in public spaces. Our biggest complaint was the incredibly loud air conditioner turbines that provided cooling to the enitre building. We were put in a room near one of them and it was so loud (even with the windows closed) that you could not hear the TV without turning it way up. It sounded like a freight train going by. We requested a room change and was given one that only reduced the noise some.

At least half the 1 bedroom units do not have an ocean view. The units all cost the same, so be sure to request and ocean view if you prefer that. The housekeeping staff are basically good. However, I don't think our room was swept once during our stay. There was a bug that lay on the floor for at least 4 days after which I finally disposed of it. The floors felt sandy to my bare feet most of the week. Otherwise the cleaning was fine. The young woman who came and turned down our bed at night was the happiest person I have ever met. She made us smile every evening.

Had a problem with our in room safe. It wouldn't lock. We had to wait around for a full morning to have them get a new door and install it only to have that one not work either. After all that they decided to replace the safe which took about 20 minutes. Why didn't they do that in the first place and deal with the broken one on their time. They wouldn't work on it unless we were in the room. They let the maids enter our room without us there, so couldn't figure out why they wouldn't let the maintenance guy be there alone.

Food was good in the restaurant and they were very accomodating with any special requests. Pool are and beach are nice. Might want to bring bug repellent for the sand fleas.

The desk staff was friendly and helpful. However, we were surprised that we were charged for the bottled water in our room. Would have been nice if they had put a note on it saying that it would be 400 pesos if we used it. You can get bottled water in almost any nearby store for half that price!

Would I go back? Maybe, but only if I could pick my room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Lucky1Ca :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of your stay at Sea Garden. We are delighted to find out that most of our staff was welcoming and pleasant, as this is what we strive for every day.

We are also happy to learn that your meals were enjoyable. We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to please our guests with their creations.

Moreover, rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate area since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    71
    33
    16
    15
See reviews for
55
83
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First the bathroom sink fell on my foot on the second day we were there. It took them over 3 hrs to move us to a different room, first they wanted us to wait till the morning until they could get some "glue" to fix it. In the second room, on the 4th day when we came back to the hotel that night the whole bathroom floor was flooded. same thing it took them until the next morning to have anyone come and look at the problem. safety was not their concern. finally the next morning after 12pm the problem was fixed and the water was finally cleaned up... but a whole day of outings was wasted. Not to mention that all our dirty clothes were wet and the hotel washer and dryer costs $16 with a $10 for deposit. still nothing was done to try to compensate us, even though plenty of complaints were made to the manager and supervisors. Because most of their guests are nationals costumer service is not their concern. I have picture for the sink, i will post later.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Martha U :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta.

We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness as well as implementing regular maintenance measures which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties. However, we are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. For that reason, all pertaining areas will receive your feedback and we will continue working hard to achieve excellence.

If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, we are certain your current opinion of our services will change.

With all good wishes,

Sea Garden Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

a very nice spot for relaxing swiming pool beach area and restaurant are near by elevators,beware your budget evrething will be charged, water bottles,open parking, even collect calls or 800 calls.
personal is aware to be nice with you but it is not enough, front desk normally works with only one person,even that, staff is excellent bartenders in swiming pool really pamper you as well as all the rest of staff bell boys, everybody is paying attention for your comfort and they enjoy their work,they are really professional

Room Tip: be aware to select what you want sea view or golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Ocean Breeze/Sea Garden and we enjoyed it very much. The rooms are spotlessly maintained by a diligent and friendly housekeeping staff and the small property is lush and gorgeous. The food is consistently fantastic.

The lobby has a beautiful waterfall feature that creates a serene atmosphere, but we were surprised on this second trip to find that it has been spoiled by loud new age-type music coming out of hidden speakers around the waterfall. This music booms up the atrium and is very audible in many of the rooms, making an afternoon nap impossible. We even needed to turn up the TV loud to hear it over Enya or whatever. Even at a lower volume this music is annoying. It is apparently controlled remotely - the staff can't do anything about it. For some reason it was shut off for one day, which was VERY pleasant. You might escape it if you get a junior suite, as they are set back from the hallway.

The staff are absolutely wonderful, especially Miguel Moreno and Monica, who are the BEST beach servers ever. Monica remembered what we like to drink from our visit three months ago! The front desk staff are great and ALL the restaurant staff including Iris, Edgar, Allejandro, Efrain, Fernando, Mario, Alan and others whose names I didn't catch, are total professionals, fun, friendly and attentive. The staff really bring quality to this place. I saw the woman who maintains the lobby area walk by one of the sofas, then she stopped, turned around, and fluffed up one of the cushions. Her attention to detail pretty much sums up the whole place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

the staff at the sea garden were excelent . we enjoyed our stay at the hotel for a week in april. the pool was nice the swim up bar was great , the beach was awesome and we got to check out any of the other hotels along the strip in nuevo vallarta as long as we had the green wrist band on . you get access to the spa's and restaurants at the other resorts there .. it was our first trip to mexico and we would definitly love to go back there again some time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Spent the week of 4/7 to 4/14 at the Mayan Sea Garden. We toured the Mayan complex and have stayed at the Mayan in Playa. Frankly I prefer the Sea Garden. Being less upscale it feels more relaxed and fun. We had the 7th floor room to the left of the S in the Sea Garden sign. We had minor issues (broken remote & leaky coffee pot) which were fixed promptly. On the first day I got to know the pool bartender, Hermillo. He took care of our family the rest of the week. Great salesman. By day 3 he had my 4 year old ordering lemonade in Spanish.
Other reviewers have given good feedback on the Sea Garden so I'll try to give some other tips. We spent one day shopping in Bucerias and found prices to be lower than in PV. Unfortunately our red wristbands peg us as Sea Garden folks so the shopkeepers can tell we're tourists with a couple bucks to spend. I had a rental car which worked out well as I always found an open spot on the street close to the entrance. Bottom line, we enjoyed the Sea Garden and PV in general. It's not as crazy as the Yucatan and doesn't feel as seedy as Acapulco. We'll likely be back.

Room Tip: The walls are thin so bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great 7 days at the Mayan Sea Garden. Love the smaller hotel, the smaller pool area, closeness to the beach and the bus system. The food was always excellent and the staff were very willing to help. We found the time share "sellers" weren't as pushy as they have been in the past. Perhaps because it was at the end of high season and they were just tired of pushing their product! As it is, we just say "no, gracias" and walk away ... Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: When we checked in, we asked for an ocean facing room and they didn't have any, BUT when we said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Sea Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.