We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst costumer service ever!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Northridge, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst costumer service ever!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First the bathroom sink fell on my foot on the second day we were there. It took them over 3 hrs to move us to a different room, first they wanted us to wait till the morning until they could get some "glue" to fix it. In the second room, on the 4th day when we came back to the hotel that night the whole bathroom floor was flooded. same thing it took them until the next morning to have anyone come and look at the problem. safety was not their concern. finally the next morning after 12pm the problem was fixed and the water was finally cleaned up... but a whole day of outings was wasted. Not to mention that all our dirty clothes were wet and the hotel washer and dryer costs $16 with a $10 for deposit. still nothing was done to try to compensate us, even though plenty of complaints were made to the manager and supervisors. Because most of their guests are nationals costumer service is not their concern. I have picture for the sink, i will post later.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Martha U :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta.

We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness as well as implementing regular maintenance measures which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties. However, we are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. For that reason, all pertaining areas will receive your feedback and we will continue working hard to achieve excellence.

If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, we are certain your current opinion of our services will change.

With all good wishes,

Sea Garden Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    67
    28
    14
    15
See reviews for
49
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

a very nice spot for relaxing swiming pool beach area and restaurant are near by elevators,beware your budget evrething will be charged, water bottles,open parking, even collect calls or 800 calls.
personal is aware to be nice with you but it is not enough, front desk normally works with only one person,even that, staff is excellent bartenders in swiming pool really pamper you as well as all the rest of staff bell boys, everybody is paying attention for your comfort and they enjoy their work,they are really professional

Room Tip: be aware to select what you want sea view or golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Ocean Breeze/Sea Garden and we enjoyed it very much. The rooms are spotlessly maintained by a diligent and friendly housekeeping staff and the small property is lush and gorgeous. The food is consistently fantastic.

The lobby has a beautiful waterfall feature that creates a serene atmosphere, but we were surprised on this second trip to find that it has been spoiled by loud new age-type music coming out of hidden speakers around the waterfall. This music booms up the atrium and is very audible in many of the rooms, making an afternoon nap impossible. We even needed to turn up the TV loud to hear it over Enya or whatever. Even at a lower volume this music is annoying. It is apparently controlled remotely - the staff can't do anything about it. For some reason it was shut off for one day, which was VERY pleasant. You might escape it if you get a junior suite, as they are set back from the hallway.

The staff are absolutely wonderful, especially Miguel Moreno and Monica, who are the BEST beach servers ever. Monica remembered what we like to drink from our visit three months ago! The front desk staff are great and ALL the restaurant staff including Iris, Edgar, Allejandro, Efrain, Fernando, Mario, Alan and others whose names I didn't catch, are total professionals, fun, friendly and attentive. The staff really bring quality to this place. I saw the woman who maintains the lobby area walk by one of the sofas, then she stopped, turned around, and fluffed up one of the cushions. Her attention to detail pretty much sums up the whole place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

the staff at the sea garden were excelent . we enjoyed our stay at the hotel for a week in april. the pool was nice the swim up bar was great , the beach was awesome and we got to check out any of the other hotels along the strip in nuevo vallarta as long as we had the green wrist band on . you get access to the spa's and restaurants at the other resorts there .. it was our first trip to mexico and we would definitly love to go back there again some time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Spent the week of 4/7 to 4/14 at the Mayan Sea Garden. We toured the Mayan complex and have stayed at the Mayan in Playa. Frankly I prefer the Sea Garden. Being less upscale it feels more relaxed and fun. We had the 7th floor room to the left of the S in the Sea Garden sign. We had minor issues (broken remote & leaky coffee pot) which were fixed promptly. On the first day I got to know the pool bartender, Hermillo. He took care of our family the rest of the week. Great salesman. By day 3 he had my 4 year old ordering lemonade in Spanish.
Other reviewers have given good feedback on the Sea Garden so I'll try to give some other tips. We spent one day shopping in Bucerias and found prices to be lower than in PV. Unfortunately our red wristbands peg us as Sea Garden folks so the shopkeepers can tell we're tourists with a couple bucks to spend. I had a rental car which worked out well as I always found an open spot on the street close to the entrance. Bottom line, we enjoyed the Sea Garden and PV in general. It's not as crazy as the Yucatan and doesn't feel as seedy as Acapulco. We'll likely be back.

Room Tip: The walls are thin so bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great 7 days at the Mayan Sea Garden. Love the smaller hotel, the smaller pool area, closeness to the beach and the bus system. The food was always excellent and the staff were very willing to help. We found the time share "sellers" weren't as pushy as they have been in the past. Perhaps because it was at the end of high season and they were just tired of pushing their product! As it is, we just say "no, gracias" and walk away ... Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: When we checked in, we asked for an ocean facing room and they didn't have any, BUT when we said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We exchanged our week in RCI to stay in this hotel which is a less expensive division of the Grupo Mayan Resorts. The pool was very nice and the wait staff was great. The buffet was nice, and the chef was great to provide me with a special salad( without mushrooms as I'm allergic). The room we stayed in had a badly broken lamp with a short in it in the bedroom and we found a previous guest's panties in the night stand. The bed was hard and the blankets were threadbare and needed to be replaced. We had only 2 washcloths and requested 2 additional and from then on only received 1 per day. You could walk to the other Mayan resorts on the property for meals, but were asked where you were going if you stopped to catch your breath at any of the "higher ranked" ones as you have a colored band which determines where you "belong" . We have stayed at the Grand Mayan in Cancun and visited the Grand Luxe in Cabo, and were interested in checking out the Grand Luxe, Grand Mayan, Grand Bliss and Mayan Palace for a future visit, but their staffs weren't very friendly even though we were there to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. They have a shutte that runs from the Grand Mayan to the Grand Bliss, Grand Luxe and Mayan Palace. We really enjoyed the Punta Arena, Tramonto and Cafe Del Lago restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room at the back of the complex facing away from the ocean with a view of the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear DesignerDebbieA :

We truly appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your feedback of your stay at the Sea Garden. We really thank you for your kind comments about our staff’s service and food options.Our culinary experts always look to please our guests with their creations.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. We are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction and this is very useful to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at and making your next stay memorable.

With all good wishes,
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Sea Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.