We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Vacation !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Pickering, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A wonderful Vacation !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

Just back a couple of days and missing the sun and warmth already. This resort is everything it says it is!! It's in a great location on the beach, ten minutes from the airport. The suites themselves and the resort overall are elegant and luxurious - very clean inside and out. The grounds are just beautiful. The activity staff at the main pool are great and they provide entertainment and games daily.

The Grand Mayan is large but it doesn't feel too large or impersonal. We never had trouble finding a pool chair, never had to wait to be seated at a restaurant, were always served quickly with a smile at all of the bars. The overall size of the resort and the numerous staff ensures that you'll be able to walk outside at any given time of the day and go where you want and do whatever it is you wish. We didn't feel crowded in any way.

The pools are fabulous - warm and clean. The lazy river is a lot of fun and a very nice way to cool down. We walked the beach morning and evening and it was beautiful. We had red flag days the entire time we were there but that didn't affect the holiday at all, due to the numerous pools to be enjoyed.

Food at the restaurants and pool side bars was reasonable and the resort offered two-for-one drink specials all day long at the bars. We did carry a cooler down to the pool decks a number of times as did many others. We ate in our suite a number of times - yes, we'd read Trip Advisor reviews and shopped for groceries at Walmart - a $11.00 cab ride to Walmart each way but was a nice trip away from the resort on day two to stock up on munchies, breakfast items, fruit and vegetables. We purchased beer from the Carona Factory at $1.00 per beer. Generally speaking, we ate one meal out each day and had a few drinks at the bars each, daily. Our food/drink bill was less than $500.00 for the week.

We took one day trip away from the resort with Vallarta Adventures and they are a very professional, energetic group providing well priced excursions.

This vacation cost us approximately the same as an all-inclusive holiday a few years back at New Year's time but the accomodations and food were much better here.

We had never travelled using a time-share before - We now highly recommend it - we find at all-inclusive resorts we tire of the buffet restaurants within a few days but at the Grand Mayan we had restaurant choices and food in our room (along with a clean, well-equiped Kitchen), so the boredom didn't set in. We loved sitting in our soaker tub watching in the evening watching the sun set.

We'll be back.

  • Liked — clean and elegant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — read reviews, take note of what others have said, and have a great time doing what you like to do on vacation.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    494
    222
    95
    93
See reviews for
761
450
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NJ
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

My family and I stayed here for a week three weeks ago. Form the moment we checked in, we were impress with the look of the hotel. Check in was fairly simple and in no time we were in our room. But before that they were trying to set us up for a time share presentation.

Room was a bit musty but once the door to the balcony was open and fresh air was allowed inside the smell went away. Had daily maid service which is rare with most of the RCI affiliated resorts that I have been to.

Were not that impress with the food, and it was very pricy, so most of the time we eat else where.

Getting into town was quite easy either by the local bus or by a cab. Just ask at the front door where to go for the bus, it’s about an 8 minute walk.

The grounds were beautiful and well kept.

The kids loved the water fall and the wave pool, not much for them to do at night though, so we brought cards and a bunch of board games so we would spend the night together ass a family.

There are little grocery stores close by but the prices are grossly inflated. Plan a trip to Wal-Mart and pick up what every supplies you may need, getting there by bus or cab is really easy just ask at the front desk or the bell boy station.

Over all not a bad resort

  • Liked — Size of the Rooms
  • Disliked — The food
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Wal-Mart ot get your supplies & Eat off Resort
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

The Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta is a wonderful hotel. I've stayed at this hotel twice and both times have received excellent service. All the employees at this resort are very friendly and the maids do a good job cleaning. The entertainment staff around the pools are also great. The resort is extremely clean and beautiful. The pools are wonderful. They have a lazy river, which is really long and very relaxing. They also have to large wave pools at the hotel. One with small waves and one with larger waves, so it meets everyone's needs. The resort also has a fun waterslide and an artifical beach. The Grand Mayan also has it's own private beach which is really nice. Plus, when you stay at the Grand Mayan you are allowed to use the facilities at the Mayan Palace as well at no extra charge. The Mayan Palace has one of the largest pools in all of Latin America. The Grand Mayan also has 3 pool bars where you can get snacks while swimming or order drinks. The entrance to the resort is phenomenal.

I stayed in a 2-bedroom suite on the 9th floor, which had an excellent view overlooking the large pools and the ocean. The 2-bedroom suite is very large and has anything you could ever want. On one of our three balconies in the room, we had a cooling pool, which is surprisingly large and can easy fit 8-10 people. The cooling pool is great for everyone to sit around in and talk and have drinks. Our room also had a large kitchen that came with all the utensils you could need. We also had a toaster, blender, microwave, refrigerator/freezer, stove, pots and pans and everything that is needed in a full kitchen. Our room also had 2 Jacuzzi’s in it and two full bathrooms. There were a couple minor problems with our room, such as the drapes wouldn't open, but we called the front desk and someone came and fixed them within 5 minutes. They were very good about helping us out.

The only drawback to the whole resort is that it is about 25 minutes away from the malecon (downtown Puerto Vallarta (boardwalk) Nuevo Vallarta is a very beautiful area, with it's own shopping mall, lots of restaurants and even it's own club called The Jungle. the mall was nice, but I did not go to the club because there is such great nightlife in Puerto Vallarta, so I went there instead. Taking a taxi downtown to the Malecon is about 160 pesos. But if you take the bus, which I did you only pay 16 pesos to get to downtown Puerto Vallarta from the resort. The buses were very nice. The bus station is a couple blocks from the Grand Mayan, and from there, you can take the bus to the Walmart for 12 pesos, then from there if you walk straight ahead 3 blocks you can take another bus that says "el centro" on it to go downtown and it only costs 4 pesos.

I would definitely recommend going to El Malecon (downtown Puerto Vallarta) at nighttime. It is amazing. There are thousands of people there every night walking around, there are lots of street performers, clowns performing free shows for kids, people building beautiful sand sculptures right off the malecon on the beach, lots of stores, and places to buy food. They even have live music there for free too. Also, there are lots of clubs along there that one can go to.

I definitely would recommend that if your going to Puerto Vallarta on Nuevo Vallarta, that you stay at the Grand Mayan. It is truly a very beautiful hotel, and I asked the locals and taxi cab drivers which hotels were the most beautiful to stay in, and the majority of the people said the Grand Mayan.

  • Liked — The pools were breathtaking and the whole resort was wonderful.
  • Disliked — It's located 25 minutes away from downtown Puerto Vallarta's boardwalk (malecon)
  • Tips/Secrets — I forgot to mention the resort has a beautiful 18-hole golf course. I'm not into golf, but the golf course looks beautiful.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St John, BC, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

Two of the concerns that we have had in previous visits to Mexico have been 1) the cleanliness of some facilities, and 2) bringing the kids. A lot of resorts do not have much for children, and once you leave the resorts, you really feel like you have to keep an eye on them (not specific to mexico, I guess). Although many places say they have kids activities, those activities consist of a ping pong table and water volleyball net.

I have always thought that the cleanliness standards in mexico were lower. Everyone will tell you to stay 1 or 2 stars higher than you would elsewhere. The facilities here are impecable. The pools, the rooms, the restaurants, the gym, the spa, everything; spotless. I guess you worry about that more when your kids are under 5. We have stayed at other Mayan Resorts as well, and even some of them are lacking in the janitorial services department, but not this one.

I am the kind of person that likes to get away from the resort and engage in other activities, that's why we prefer the time share as opposed to the popular all inclusives. You don't feel obligated to eat at the resort (although the [pricey] cafe de lago sunday morning brunch is unbelievable, and the restaurant on deck is excellent as well). With kids, however, the activities don't work out all that well. This resort allows us to stay put and not feel stifled. Almost the entire pool area is kid friendly, from their own little playground area to the wave pool to the water slide. I even took my 3 year old down the lazy river through the wave generator. We didn't bring our kids to ignore them, but there is a kids camp that you can drop your kids off at for a very reasonable fee. If your kid misses mom and comes out halfway through the day, he can't go back in though. (So we heard). The beach is huge, not like the resorts in town.

Without kids, the Brio Gym is very new and well equipped for a hotel. The spa provides a much needed refresher at the end of hot day full of suntan lotion, sweat and sand. Both of these facilities run almost as a seperate entities and the people that work there take pride in them. They are not simply other rooms that get cleaned once a day with people coming and going unmonitored. Both have a front desk and are staffed with attendants. A petite mexican woman wanders the gym with a cup of lemon water until someone takes it, at which point she gets another. The spa is seperated to women and men and are constantly being cleaned. The spa has a "recipe" on the wall consisting of Shower, sauna, shower, steam room, shower, hot tub, cold tub, etc but you can do what you want. Complimentary ice tea and large Delicious apples with a sofa and flat screen await you in case you need to wait for your wife from the other side. I enjoyed the spa so much, mine had to wait for me.

The resort is not right on a bus route, but is a five minute walk away. We enjoyed running into town for groceries and to try some restaurants for supper. Tip: Get of the bus where the road to Ixtapa takes off. Really just a traffic circle on the highway. Cross the highway and walk down that road 3 or 4 minutes to Mauricio's. You'll take a number and wait, but free beer and soft tacos while you wait with about 75 to 100 mexicans, sitting on white plastic lawn chairs, to get in. Good opportunity to try that spanish you've been practicing, and they call the numbers in spanish so you should at least know your numbers.

I had always been pressuring my wife to try new places, but until the kids get older, the Grand Mayan is perfect for us. We'll be back each Christmas.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p.a
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

My family of five stayed at the Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta from July 9,2006 through the July 23 2006.The check in was promply ,but we did not get the ocean view that we were promised.When we arrived to our designated master room suite,the room had a terrible smell.The cushions were very dirty,and there were roaches in our room.we called for assistance and,they informed us that they were going to take care of it.Three days passed and we finally informed the General Manager, she was very nice and within two hours she had fixed the problems.Two days later we changed our room to an ocean view.


tips-
1.The pool and, wave pool are nice ,but in order to use the slide and enjoy the resort you have to rent tubes for three dollars a day,or bring your own.
2.At night ,teenagers who want to go out and underage to go into the Night Club, there is no place to gothe cover charge for the Night Club is $2 dollars for woman and $25 for men on Wednesday. Three years ago it was free.
3.At night while walking through the lobby all you see is people smoking,drinking and the smell of roach spray.
4.There is an Arcade in the Grand Mayan, but for a price.I wanted to play and the second I picked up the pool stick they asked me to either pay or leave.
5.Tansportation is horrible .The train was always breaking, and there are not enough carts going around to pick up the guests. The only solution left is to take a long long long walk.
6.If you have a child between the ages of 5-12 and need DayCare from 9:30-4:30 the cost is $15 dollars a day.(not including tips)
7.The spa in the Mayan Palace was amazing and, if you are a Grand Mayan owner it is free to use the facilities at the spa because, the Grand Mayan do not have a spa.


"I do not recommend this hotel for kids under the age of 18 because,there is not enough activities for them.And for those people who are not willing to spend alot of money."

  • Liked — The pool,wave pool and lazy river
  • Disliked — The rudness of the front desk,and no transoptation.
  • Tips/Secrets — read reviews before going
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

My husband & I had been married only 24 hours when we arrived at the Grand Mayan Palace in Nuevo Vallarta. My husbands parents let us use there timeshare to go on our honeymoon. We arrived at the Mayan Palace (right next door) and we were both blown away at how beautiful everything was. The entry way was incredible, the front desk was very accomodating when checking us in. We finally recieved our room and off we went. After entering our room we were so exhausted from our wedding and traveling that we both fell asleep. When we woke up there was a fertilizer type smell in our room. So we had asked to switch. Due to the popularity of the resort there were no other rooms we could switch into except next door at the New Grand Mayan Palace. The hotel was still under construction when we stayed there but we didn't mind at all. It was very interesting to see how they build such an immaculate place.

We were settled in our room at the Grand Mayan and because the pool, and lazy river was not complete we were able to go between the two hotels and use the pool and amentities at the Mayan Palace. They were working on the A/C the first night but we had such an incredible view of the golf course that we couldn't complain. At night we watched the city lights of Puerto Vallarta and fell asleep on our deck several times. We enjoyed the private pool on our balcony and the turn down service at night.

My husband and I enjoyed ourselves so much while at the Grand Mayan Palace that we can't wait to return to it and actually see how everything turned out. It was such an incredible stay when the hotel wasn't complete, we can't imagine what it will be like in the future.

A+++++++ Resort

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

Just returned from the grand mayan and had an excellent time. No complaints. Food was good, rooms were clean, and the kids played in the expansive amounts of pools from sun up to sun down. Do bring a tube, the big ones aren't necessary the cheap ones at the drug store work great. Do bring paper towels, baggies. I also bring a fold up cooler because we went to walmart and brought drinks down to the pool everyday and saved tons of money. The taco break is cheap, right outside the gate, service is slow but for the price and taste worth the wait. We did one adventure on the santa maria and can't say enough about how organized and professional they all were. the snorkeling is okay your not in the carribbean so... the only warning is the horseback ride or walk to the waterfalls is not a great path for to young or older people, we enjoyed it but it was a hike. Everyday there is an activity at 10:00 at the activity center which was fun and all day they have something going on. We have been to every Grand Mayan property and enjoyed this the best for children. If you want to go to town it will cost you and taking two buses in the dead of July is no fun. The town is great for shopping and you feel extremely safe. the people of vallarta are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 5*
Number of rooms: 795
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.