We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Mayan - Grand Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand Mayan - Grand Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was with great anticipation that we traveled to Nuevo Vallarta, MX, to check in at the new Grand Mayan.

Our first hint of “paradise lost” came when we checked in and were directed to the desk where we were pressured to sign up to attend a breakfast/tour sometime during our stay. Knowing that this translates to a timeshare presentation, we declined. The next day we received a call in our room informing us that we must attend the presentation to obtain an ocean view room in the future. We declined.

Next, we discovered that earplugs were needed as we encountered 24/7 construction and maintenance noise from our room on a daily basis ranging from roof work and power washing around the pool area beginning at 1 AM to major building construction beginning a 8 AM. The property is a huge maze of various lodging facilities, many under heavy construction to include a major waterway being reconfigured by earth moving equipment. To hear the ocean one needs to sit next to the ocean.

Our ocean view studio room was new with a nice balcony and two queen beds. Finish work in the room was not good; the wall paint was streaky, there was paint over spray on the TV and dresser. It was evident that the room had not been inspected before receiving occupants.

There are many restaurants and poolside eateries. Prices are high for average food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear world2seenow:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your ocean view accommodation.

However, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate areas. Our resorts are constantly being refurbished and we aim to ensure that our facilities are in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.

We hope you allow us to make your next stay an unforgettable one.

With all good wishes!
The Grand Mayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    436
    194
    92
    80
See reviews for
690
395
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just got back from our stay in Nuevo Vallarta's Grand Mayan. OMG. It was so amazing. The resort is absolutely beautiful. We were allowed to go to any of the resort restaurants and bars: Mayan Palace, Grand Mayan, Grand Bliss and Luxxe. We loved the lazy river at the Grand Mayan. The lobby bar at the Luxxe was chill and they had all the top shelf liquor we love. Twice we went to the Santuario. The Santuario was breathtakingly beautiful at night. They have entertainment nightly. Get there by 7pm and you'll get a nice seat in the middle of the water.

The rooms were so nice. Apparently our room was one that hasn't been refurnished but we couldn't tell because it was beautiful. Granite counter tops and travertine tile throughout. The dipping pool was an added surprise. We loved the daily maid service and nightly bed turndown service. We felt so pampered!

It seemed like the staff of all the resorts were obsessed with cleanliness. All the resorts were impeccably clean. The style of all the resorts was modern and sleek.

There are only two negatives:
1. The Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta turned out to be the "family" resort which meant there were a lot of kids. Our group was three single women, but we still ended up having a good time. I mean come on, there is a kids water park and a wave pool, of course there would be kids.
2. The timeshare presentation. It took about three hours for the timeshare presentation. We went because we wanted to get free tickets to the Mexican Fiesta on the beach. Turns out we also got 10% off all food, beverage and spa services. BUT, they are pushy. Try not to get ticked off. Don't let it ruin your vacation. After it's done they won't bug you again.

I still am happy to give the Grand Mayan a five star review because we were that impressed by the resort, surrounding resorts, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.

Here are a couple of tips:
1. Try not to check in on a Saturday or Sunday. There were a TON of people checking in on those days. We arrived on a Tuesday and there was nobody there.
2. You may want to pass on the Mexican Fiesta at the resort. The food was pretty good, but overall the show was just ok.
3. Go straight to your room after you check-in. They initially asked us to go to the concierge to walk us to our room. We passed and went directly to our room. Turns out we would have had to sit and talk to the concierge about setting up a presentation and go over some other items. If you go to your room they'll just call you on the phone. You're tired from your flight, last thing you want to do is listen to a sales pitch straight up.
4. HAVE FUN!!!!!!

We will definitely be back to the Grand Mayan! Once you go you'll want to go back again and again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This resort is huge, with lush grounds, several good restaurants, many pools, good beach area, great service, excellent views of the town and the mountains beyond, romantic sunsets, and a nice room - almost paradise. We enjoyed our week very much, so i don't want my complaints to seem too harsh, but here they are: (1) All the water and lush landscape over this expanse translates to mosquitoes - so bring repellent! We had a great meal with a beautiful sunset outside at the seafood restaurant, but the mosquitoes had their feast as well. I had several bites but my wife's legs are full of bites (over 40) and she can't stop the itching. (2) They have a great system for tracking meals and costs, so I can't figure out why check-in and check-out take as long as they do. We had no problem but it seems many others did because the people in front of us in the lines took a long time. (3) they could make the beds more comfortable - we slept okay but the beds are hard and not as comfortable as other resorts in this class.
This is a kid's paradise, so those of you travelling with kids should love it - there's a pool with all kinds of slides and things to climb on, a kid's play house, a wave pool, a lazy river where you can float with tubes, a trampoline on the beach, etc. We are just an older couple so the amount of families with lots of kids were almost too much for us; however, the resort is so large that its big enough for everyone.
We dine out entirely and we thought all the restaurants were very good. Our favorites were Epazote (the Mexican restaurant), Punta Arena de Pescados (the seafood restaurant), Gong (the Asian restaurant), and the Custom Burger place (but much more than good burgers!). We ate at the Italian restaurant twice (only one we did twice) and the first time was excellent - some of the best calamari we've had - but the second time the calamari was the worst we've had! The Samba restaurant is great for breakfast and the Ola Mulato Snack Bar has excellent fish tacos. There were other restaurants at the resort in which we didn't dine. Nuevo Vallarta is closer to town than I realized but we did not go into town because we've been there many times before and the food and service were so good at the resort.
The room was spacious with a great balcony with soaking pool and excellent views of the grounds, ocean, mountains and downtown. Caution here: we are Grand Mayan owners so i am not sure all views are this good, but we don't think there are any bad views. We like the separate living room with a second entrance to the bathroom and multiple sinks. Also, there were two closets, with plenty of hangars for us. The bedroom has a separate seating area as well. The ceiling fans were appreciated.
I enjoyed the golf course on the property and was glad caddies are required - I would have been wrong on a lot of yardage and green reads.
We enjoyed outstanding service everywhere. The place is on the expensive side, but no worse than most all-inclusive resorts of this caliber. There are carts that take you to the various hotels and facilities on the property. Just bring your Off with your sun tan lotion and a touch of patience, then lay back and relax!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Coming from the airport:
It's easy to get there by taxi at a reasonable price ($150 pesos - roughly $14 USD) . I only had a carry-on bag with me and a back-pack, so I did the following:
As I got out from the airport crossing the glass doors, I turned left and saw a highway. Walked towards it to find a pedestrian bridge. Crossed the bridge and found a taxi rank. Just tell the taxi driver to take you to the Grand Mayan but ask him how much will the price be. It should not be more than $150 pesos, and the trip will take about 10 to 15 minutes towards Nuevo Vallarta.

Arrival:
Taxi will drop you off at a central drop off point for all guests at the complex. That's where personnel take your bags and deliver them later to your room, and where you wait for the shuttle service to take you to the Grand Mayan lobby. Personally, I decided to take my bags with me and walk all the way to the lobby. It's not a short walk, but not that long (takes less than 10 minutes). It's actually enjoyable to walk around because of the lush surroundings, so I never took the shuttle and cannot comment on it.

Check-in:
I had no trouble checking in (arrived at 2pm) and it took about 15 minutes. When they hand you the wristbands (which work as room keys) they will ask you to go to another desk. Say yes, but do not do it. Walk straight to your room and you will have no trouble.

Room:
Stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was spacious and clean.The room was facing the parking lot but it wasn't an ugly view. We stayed on the first floor, which was sometimes noisy because you could hear music coming from the lobby area, where a sax player performed before midnight. No complaints really but one: BEDS ARE ROCK-HARD. My partner and I half slept on our week long stay because we kept waking up every night. The last two days I decided to take the cushions from the sofa and placed them on top of the bed to add some comfort. It wasn't that great but at least our backs got a bit of rest. Can't believe the resort has not invested in good matresses.
Received a phone call on our first morning there at 9am. A lady was insistent we should go to a presentation. I said no three times and she said she would ask her manager to call me back. I just politely said "sure", we terminated the call and immediately unplugged the phone. Plugged it in only when I needed it to call room service. Blissful mornings from that moment on.

Food
In my opinion, room service meals were much tastier (and cheaper) than eating at the restaurants. Had dinner at Samba and it was just ok. Had lunch at Ola Mulata and food was nice and the setting is better (near the beach). Fun to scare away the black birds (zanates) trying to steal food from leftovers on plates. If you don't want to spend too much just order pizza, it's tasty and can feed more people for less. But buy your drinks at the local minimarket (Sun Market). They're cheaper here.
One important thing to know is that restaurants/room service/minimarket DO TAKE CASH. Just tell them you want to pay in cash and you should not have a problem.


Facilities/Landscaping/Activities
Loads of nice pools and chairs! We went there a week after Easter/spring break so there were not many guests, making it a pleasure to hang around the entire complex any time of the day. The property is kept in great condition, it's a bit like a maze but after a day or two you get a sense of direction.
The lazy river is really relaxing. My partner took a ride on the water-slide from the pyramid but said it was a bit of a bumpy so he didn't ride it again. We paid $50 pesos for an hour of pool(snooker) which is pretty cheap.
Personnel are amazing! Everyone was helpful and was always amicable. We made sure to provide them with a good tip, they do deserve it and they never ask for it.

Transportation
If you are fit to walk, I encourage you to do so. The place is big but you can go anywhere (inside the complex) by foot.
From the lobby to the entrance of the resort, you will probably walk from 10 to 15 minutes. There's a bus stop right there where you can catch an ATM bus that can take you to Puerto Vallarta, the fare costs $14 pesos and the trip takes about 30 minutes. You can get off at the Walmart stop and then get another bus that costs $7 pesos and will take you right into the romantic zone and the Malecon, probably another 10 minutes. If you prefer to take a taxi into Puerto Vallarta, you can get one at the hotel.
If you decide to go the Nuevo Vallarta Marina, you can take a 10 minute walk from the beach towards it. There are some restaurants there that look nice.
OR, you can take a "turibus". The stop is just a few steps away from Taco Break, outside the complex. It's a free bus ride to Nuevo Vallarta that takes about 20 minutes. You can get off at the Paradise Village plaza where there are more places to eat and a grocery store. Or you can get a taxi that can cost up to $50 pesos.
There's pretty much nothing outside the complex, just the Taco Break restaurant and the bus stop. But if you walk for about 15 to 20 minutes past the bus stop, you will find a sports bar that opens at noon and an Oxxo grocery store.

Check-out.
Do try to check out the night before your departure. It will save you loads of time on the morning. Remember you are able to use cash to pay for your dinner.
When it's time to check out, you can leave your bags with the bellboys if you need to.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a kitchen to save on food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The property is beautiful. Checking in is a nightmare. Although we arrived at the check in desk at 11:30am - we did not get into our room until 5:30pm. Excuses, excuses, excuses and hard sell - "take a no obligation tour of our property" - no thanks! The restaurants are expensive. Find the walkway, behind the buildings, to "escape" the property and experience some of the surrounding restaurants. Take the free tourist bus that circles around Nuevo Vallarta to other restaurants. The rooms are very spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view - but good luck in getting it - unless you attend their sales presentation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Own at Grand Bliss but stayed at GM with two grandsons and their parents over Spring Break. Place was crowded but only at the GM pool areas. Pools at GB and GL were almost empty. Did Not check out the Punta pools. There were Big waves in the ocean which was fun! The walkways are now all wooden bridges because there is a shuttle service all over the resort. The new Santurio bar/entertainment area is very nice. Several new restaurants at GB and GL. Lago is now Only for breakfast buffet but it is spectacular. We went to Samba (at the Sea Garden) for great dinner buffets- Mexican,Fajitas,Italian, and barbecued meats. The side street from GM to the Sea Garden, offsite restaurants and marina is open again so I guess all those conspiracy theorists were wrong. Try thr Taco Break. We had some wonderful dishes there.

Room Tip: GM is quiet as the construction is now on the other end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This complex is composed of 5 different resorts and venues, but all tied in together. The one bedroom was very large, including living room, kitchen, bedroom, and bath. there are several pools to enjoy different experiences, from serene to daily entertainment. The beach and ocean is very nice with seating and umbrellas. There is a wonderful lazy river which circles the pools, and is a lot of fun and very relaxing. There is happy hour at the pools from 11-1pm. daily (2 for 0ne) and 4-5pm. in the lobby bars. Otherwise drinks are as you might expect, a little pricey. You cannot use cash and have to charge to the room. Overall the huge facility is great , with much security and safety in the resorts and pools and beach area.
THERE ARE ALSO A FEW NEGATIVES. Check-in and check-out is very tedious. The grounds are so spread out that it can be confusing and some of the signs are confusing. There are large golf shuttle carts to get you around, which you catch in front of the hotels. Most of the other hotels offer free wi-fi, but the Grand Mayan sees fit to charge $17 per day or $95 per week. Although a majority of guests are English speaking, most of the Cable TV channels are in Spanish. Very disappointing to watch the Masters in Spanish! Also the kitchen comes with coffee only for the first day, with a sign you can buy more in the shops. Every cheap motel/hotel I have ever stayed in includes coffee in the room. There is also a sign that says you must clean your own dishes or be charged extra. Shouldn't maid service cover this? The golf course is Jack Nicklaus, and they had just aerofied the greens and fairways, but still wanted to charge me $160 + caddie. I guess some of the vacation packages might have had a golf package, and the time-share owners got some sort of reduced price.
Overall this is a great resort area and with a few minor touch-ups could get my 5 star rating.
Oh, by the way, the sales presentations are just as high pressure and 4 hours long you have come to expect if you have gone on one of them before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.