We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk, walk, walk everywhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walk, walk, walk everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Mayan Palace property is nice, but it is way too big. You must walk so far from your room to everything. Yes, they have shuttles running, but it isn't my idea of a vacation to be waiting for a shuttle. To get to the beach you must go down these maze of tree covered paths which take half your vacation to find your way. Its like a corn maze. The resort is expanding (like its not big enough), so there is construction going on.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    436
    193
    92
    80
See reviews for
690
394
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
discovery bay, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our second time back. Much better experience at the check in. We found that if we were nice and pleasant to them, they will do the same. Everywhere you look, people are always cleaning. We found it to be spotless in our room and on the grounds. This is a very large resort and you do not feel that there are a ton of people around.

We had a 2 bedroom and it was perfect for 3 couples. Loved the lazy river and water slide! Food was very good at every place. Views from the Grand Bliss and The Luxe were amazing.

Last time we were here was 2 years ago and we can't believe how much has been added. They will be building an entertainment center where there will be a water park and theater where there will be Cirque de Sole performances in the future. In talking to the employees, many have been there at least 10 years or more. This will be a yearly vacation destination for us!!!

The spa is a must!!! We are exchange through RCI. Our home base is in Cabo. If you attended the time share presentation, you will get half off activities including the Vallarta Adventures and the massage. On top of that you get 10% off your bill.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the ocean will have large balconies with the wade pool. Higher level and away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got a good deal on a room at this resort through a promotion. We ended up with a top floor with ocean view. It was listed as a hotel room but was more than enough space for the two of us. Bath included a whirlpool tub and separate shower. Nice beach and pool area with a river ride on tubes. There was a small store on site we used for some food or beverage purchases. We didn't use their internet, it was expensive, we walked to a nearby restaurant for breakfast and free internet. I think it was called Eddy's. We went to the presentation, we wanted a tour of the grounds and their high end Lux units. We wouldn't do that again. 90 minutes turned out be a 7 hour ordeal that took our whole day. A lot of time wasted for a free city tour and discount massage.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back - Great week!

Traveled with and 2 kids (7 & 9) awesome vacation - will be back!!!

Quick recap - straight to the point...

Pools - Excellent, wave pools, water slide were great for the kids. You can spend a day at a different pool each day of the week.

Restaurants - Great food (did not do steak house) and yes pricey but they are nice restaurants (no McDonalds on site). Prices are same as nice restaurant prices in the US. I think the mistake people make is thinking that prices will be low because you’re in Mexico. Room service prices are comparable to a nice Marriot Resort in the US. Breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had...delish...

Timeshare - Did it for the Ocean view, 40% of tours, 10% off bill. Well worth it for me. Saved me about $400 and the ocean view was incredible. Took less than 3 1/2 hours including breakfast and I think I frustrated them more that they aggravated me. A simple "I am not at all interested and only did this for the ocean view but go on for as long as you feel necessary" will go a long way in speeding this process up.

Check in / Out - No issues, yes you walk a little but you should know this coming in. It is a big resort and requires walking, don’t come here if you don’t like to walk. We enjoyed the scenic walks and most of the time skipped the shuttles that were readily available.

Tours - DO Caletas - amazing day

Beds - It is good to be home and back on my bed...

Great vacation, Grand Mayan has not let us down yet.

Room Tip: Take the presentation for the ocean view, well worth it.. Just say no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had stayed at the Grand Maya Playa del Carmen before (earlier reviews below), but enjoyed staying here more.
This Grand Mayan is more compact and easier to get around in than the one in Playa del Carmen. The Nuevo Vallarta has the same restaurants (Gong, etc) and spas, etc but this trip felt more relaxed. Perhaps it was there were less salespeople hustling you to buy.
The hotel is located south of Puerto Vallarta and cab rides to town or Walmart are easy to get and reasonably priced
This definitely worth a second visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just got back from 1 week at the Grand Mayan. The GM is just 1 of 3 properties at this location; there is also the Grand Bliss and Grand Luxx. This makes for a huge shared property. There is major construction going on between the Bliss and Luxx. Lots of noise but not noticeable from our room at the GM. The grounds are beautiful and our room at the GM was very nice. Previous reviews mentioned a mildew odor. Yup, it's there. I didn't find it over powering but it was definitely noticeable whenever we would first walk in. Also, other reviewers complained about the beds being too hard. Yes, they are firm but we were comfortable.

In most other hotels/resorts I've ever been to, the in-room safe is free of charge. Not here. They charge 300 pesos (almost 30 dollars) to use the safe for 1 week. Having said that, they do offer a free safety deposit box at the front desk; however, we felt that was a bit of a pain to go downstairs whenever we wanted something. Wifi is available for the week at almost 95 dollars. The TV in the room has some English channels beginning at about channel 32.

Upon arrival at the PV airport, there will be a lot of people talking to you about helping you with transportation. Ignore them. They are there to get you into a time share presentation. Don't answer their questions; don't stop and engage them in anyway. Keep your feet moving. It will not hurt their feelings; promise. You can take a yellow taxi sitting outside and they will take you directly to the resort with no time share hassles.

Taxis. The rates are pretty consistent; however, they do not use meters. Make sure you agree to the fare before you get in.

If you can get a good deal at home, get some pesos before you arrive. The exchange rate at the airport was about 10 pesos to the US dollar. The hotel rate was about 11 to the dollar. The bank rate was about 12 to the dollar.

When you arrive at the resort, you'll be dropped off at a central location for all three resorts. From there, you'll be shown where to go. Your bags will be taken. When you check in, you call the appropriate number and let them know what room you're in. Our bags were there about 10 minutes later.

During check in, you'll be asked to stop at a desk to get your wristband key trimmed. This is where the resorts' time share people live. At first, they will give you some helpful information regarding the area and services; it's a good idea to listen to this part. Then, they will start talking about attending a breakfast. They will promise that it will last only 90 minutes. It will last about 4 hours. They will offer you things like discounts on tours and a 1,000 peso credit to your room for charges incurred during your stay. Go if you like. Lots of people do. However, less than 100 US dollars for an entire morning of my vacation did not sound like a good deal for me. If you refuse, they will call you in your room several times during your stay. They do not take a polite "no thank you" for an answer. I managed this by unplugging the phones in our room.

The resort is not within reasonable walking distance to anything of note. Going downtown will cost you about 200 pesos each way. There is a bus stop just outside the main entrance but it is a walk and I did not want to make it in that sun and heat. The resort does not offer any shuttle service downtown. Their concept is simple. They want to keep you on their property as much as possible so you will spend your money there.

The food and service at the resort restaurants was all very good; however. it is expensive. When eating or drinking on site, it is encouraged to simply charge it to your room. This is convenient but it's also very easy to build a significant bill during the course of a week.

The pools are great. Be advised, the water is fairly cool in the morning. In the afternoon, the water gets really warm. Really warm.

The resort does have a system of shuttles that will take you all over the resort; this can be very nice when its hot.

Near where you will be dropped off upon arrival is the Sanctuary. This is a pretty cool place to hang out during the day; however, it really comes to life in the evenings. They have a stage system that is submerged under water during the day and is dry during the evenings when they put on their shows. One night, we went down and got very good seats on the stage area. There was a very good American singer, an acrobat, a suspended saxophone player, and 2 Russian ballroom dancers. I was surprised by the caliber of entertainment. To reserve a table, you must purchase a bottle of something spendy in advance. If arrive early enough, you can get a good table without a reservation.

Overall, we thought this was a beautiful place and you can easily spend a week here without ever leaving the resort. But that's not how we like to travel. We like to experience the local culture by walking around backstreets on our own. I would go back to PV but next time we'll stay where we can get off the resort a little easier/cheaper.

Room Tip: You will not likely get an ocean view room. Ask for a room on the 5th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my 3rd year back to this resort. My parents own at the Grand Bliss but we can never seem to secure a spot there. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, two bath room. Room was ok. Year over year rooms seem to be getting worn looking. When we arrived the room smelled like sewage. I notified the front desk the next morning, by afternoon the smell was gone. THEN ON THE THIRD DAY THE DRILLING STARTED! We were on 9th floor which is the top and they were working on the roof. The banging and drilling was so loud it sounded like someone was going to come through the walls. They started at about 9:00 so we couldn't sleep in and continued all day so you could not go back to your room to relax. When I asked about it they said it would last two more days and offered to move us. Seeing we had 9 people in the room we didn't want the hassle of moving. By the 3rd day the construction became worse, they told us it would now be going on for two more weeks and offered us a free breakfast!!!! I just don't see how a free breakfast was going to compensate for this horrible disruption, especially for my parents who enjoy relaxing in the room during the day. In the end we got $150 off our bill which was ridiculous. As well we had the parking lot view with construction going on outside with bulldozers, etc.

BEWARE do not leave items unattended - they will be gone. Happened to us in the men's spa area at 7:00 am with only staff in the shower area. The front desk sent strawberries to our room to compensate?!!

BEWARE check your bill very carefully before checkout. I would suggest going through the charges the night before checkout to ensure accuracy. If there are any problems with your bill during checkout it takes them a long time to figure it out. It took us over 45 minutes to checkout.

Walk from the drop off to the hotel is too long now and there are to many people involved and handling your stuff, especially groceries. As well to many people to tip to get your stuff to your room.

Room was fair this year but I did find it a bit worn out. Towels were ragged ( I guess all the good stuff is going to the Grand Bliss and Grand Luxe!)

I use the gym daily and 3 out of 7 treadmills were normally broken as were the ellipticals I used the spa this year and did not enjoy the massage - woman was fiddling around with stuff in the room wasting so much time, not very good massage. The 80 minute massage I paid for ended up being only 60 minutes.

The new entertainment area Sancturario is beautiful and the acts are good but they should switch them up. For 8 days we saw the same acts each night!


As usual the grounds are beautiful and clean, staff are friendly, food and drinks are good but expensive. Lunch at the pool and the 2 for one drinks are great. The entertainment at the party pool is great. The staff really try hard! The activities for the kids are also excellent.

Overall the resort is great, but I do feel that the Grand Bliss and Luxe may be getting all the attention now! Rooms at Grand Mayan need a definite facelift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.