We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know what to expect, the Grand Mayan is very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Oakland, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“If you know what to expect, the Grand Mayan is very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I read many of the tripadvisor reviews for the Grand Mayan & had a good idea of what to expect before I booked my room. Some of the bad things written about the Hotel are true, but the good far outweigh the bad if you can deal with the few negatives. I am not a timeshare owner, but rented someone elses 2 bedroom suite for a week through grandmayan.net during the second week of January 2013.

When you arrive at the Grand Mayan, you will need to give your luggage to the bellboys, walk from the parking lot over to the Santuarium (an open nightclub resort area) & take a shuttle to the entrance of the Hotel. This seemed like a minor inconvenience, but wasnt bad once you got used to it. There was also the option of walking the distance of about one block from the Santuarium to the Hotel if you preferred. The overall size of the resort seems overwhelming at first, but was easy to get oriented once you walked around a bit.

The line to check in wasnt bad & the overall process took about 15 or 20 minutes total. The timeshare sale was my biggest fear, since I had read many reviews about how awful it was & I knew to expect it. Once you finish with check in, they require you to meet with a salesperson to get your wrist bracelet, which serves as your room key. When we met with the salesperson, we were informed that since we are not timeshare holders, the presentation was optional. We politely listened to a few minutes of the benefits being offered if we agreed to the presentation, quickly declined & requested to cut the meeting short so we could go to our room. The salesperson was courteous & polite, gave us our wristbands & let us go. When we asked if it was necessary to wear the wristbands the whole time, she informed us we could take them off but we needed to keep them with us for identification & room access, which was reasonable. The sales staff persisted by calling us the following morning at about 8:30 am & even though I requested them not to call back again, they continued to call the next day. Since a daily early morning wake up call became very annoying after 2 days, my solution was to disconnect all of the phones in the room.

We rented a 2 bedroom suite which was very nice, but one of the rooms did have a very musty odor almost like sewage gas when we walked in. This seemed to be due to either the air conditioner or a plumbing chaseway access door that was in one of the bathrooms. Either way, our solution was to turn off the A/C, open all of the windows to let the room air out & keep the bathroom doors closed. Leaving the A/C off did'nt bother us much since the temperature was in the low 80's, but would have been a major inconvenience during the hot summer months. The beds are definitely hard as a rock, but we slept fine.

The grounds are very beautiful, with a nice open nightclub atmosphere at the Santuarium, many different swimming pools with plenty of open lawnchairs & sunbeds, pretty walkways, attractive landscaping & a nice beach nearby. The lazy river is fantastic & the waterslides & kids play area are great! There are lots of activities for kids & adults, plenty of places to explore & we never had a problem with any of the resort facilities. The service is excellent & the staff are very friendly. The housecleaning does a great job, there is lots of security, the bellboys & valet parking were all very professional.

The ongoing construction is good & bad. The good is that many new things are being built, the bad is that they start jackhammering at 9 am in the morning each day for about 3 hours. I am not sure why this couldnt have been postponed until later in the day at a hotel where people are trying to sleep in, but there are a few poor management decisions that became noticeable with the small details. I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt that these things are temporary & that more improvements are on the way, although between the sales phone calls & early jackhammering a pair of earplugs would have came in handy.

Since I knew not to expect an ocean front room, our view of the backside of the hotel was actually quite nice. We were overlooking the golf course, Santuarium & estuary, which looks like it will be very pretty when the construction is completed. You could also enjoy the sunsets facing the beach from a viewing window they had in the elevator lobbies.

We found the food to be average at the few resort restaurants we tried, so we decided to buy breakfast items at Walmart & eat dinner in Puerto Vallarta, which saved money & gave us an opportunity to enjoy more local fare. We had great meals at Melissas's, Los Adelitas, Victor's Place & El Set restaurants.

Since check out time was at 10 am in the morning, I decided to check out the night before to save time. They had given us a notice that early check out could be done between the hours of 6-8pm, but when I went to the front desk at 10 pm, they gladly took care of my check out the night before with no lines & presented me with a clear, accurate bill of my expenses. It was very convenient & I was pleased with the overall simplicity of the check in & check out process.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Grand Mayan, made some great memories with my family & really had a great time. Knowing in advance of what negative things to expect from reading the tripadvisor reviews made my experience more relaxing. I would recommend the Grand Mayan to anyone who can tolerate the minor inconveniences that come along with the experience. We had a very nice vacation & I would gladly go back again in the future.

Room Tip: Disconnect your phone to avoid early morning wake up sales calls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    469
    210
    94
    85
See reviews for
727
423
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is nothing short of amazing how this resort has developed its natural resources into a spectacular landscaped garden with spectacular walkways and great views. The spaciousness of the suites and public areas contribute to providing a peaceful setting.
Service is impeccable - and the positive attitude by staff in all positions is genuine. The food atthe restaurants is well presented and very tasty, with prices that compare with high-end eateries in town. We particularly enjoyed the new Mexican restaurant that opened - Epazote.

The hotel has a great water park with lazy river and a wave pool and offers guests an opportunity to participate in the release of turtle hatchlings to the ocean in season. All great fun!

Suites either face the ocean or the golf course - ask for an ocean view, which also provides views of the sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. This is a timesahre resort - you will be approached to attend a presentation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love this hotel. It is expensive and there are some extra fees when you leave, but it is worth it. The lazy river is my favorite attraction. I could easily stay there all day long. The wave pool is cool, but the water is not warm. However, it creates an amazing beach experience for children. The beds and lounge chairs the are located all along the pools are super comfy. The snack bars and restaurants are inexpensive compared to other hotels. There is a free club for children where they can engage in fun activities and crafts. The pool activities are also entertaining. The rooms are very clean and with lots of space. There is a big bath tub in the room and its own small pool where children can without worrying. The hotel has an overall elegant vibe. Musicians play in the lobby bar at night, and you can enjoy the music without having to purchase drinks. Did I mention that you can access all the mayan palace hotels? Well, yes you can! You can simply take the golf cart shuttle at the main entrance and they will give you a ride,or you can walk by the beach. The employees are nice and respectful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent the week of New Years at the Grand Mayan for 2012-2013, overall the facilities are great as are the staff and amenities. However, I would avoid the holiday season as they seemed extremely under staffed. Sometimes the wait for our meals at the resort restaurants was way too long and the reason tendered every time was that they did not have enough help. Really? It's the Holiday...hello! Reservations did not help either and usually there was still a long wait even with reservations. The location is good and the pool area is very nice. Just avoid the holidays, that's my advice!

Room Tip: Oceanside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently spent our second visit at this resort in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. It was a complete success.

The rooms are very well appointed, spacious and completely equipped. We found the state of presentation consistent throughout the entire resort, always very clean and crisply decorated.

The water park in the Grand Mayan is a great place to spend the day. Two wave pools (always cold), a lazy river (always pleasant) and a variety of pools for kids and adults. Some warm, some cool, and some cold. Great choice.

The chairs and sun beds are normally quickly reserved by towels and belongings, so if you are looking for a choice spot, you need to take a walk and reserve your place by around 8:15 in the morning.

The food on the resort is of good quality and there is a nice variety available without having to go too far. It is a little on the pricey side, but it is a resort so...

The only downside is in the Check in / Check out process. Both are bizarre, seem to be terribly inefficient and take an awfully long time. For whatever reason, high, beach view rooms never seem to be available when you check in at the reception desk. Strangely, when you get your wrist bands from the Timeshare people, and agree to take part in the presentation, you magically get switched to a high floor, beach view room.

The timeshare presentations take a minimum of 3-4 hours, you do get a breakfast, and the sales people are the stereotypical pressure sales people. This resort is known for the sales folks being a little on the aggressive side too. They have now started offering a 2000 peso room credit and 10% off any restaurant/bar bills for folks who take the presentation also, so if you have 3/4 hours to spend at one of those events, it can be worthwhile.

Room Tip: Insist on a high, beach facing room at the front desk, or agree to take the timeshare presentation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am an owner at the Grand Mayan. For the last 5 visits, I have been unable to get an ocean- front room. I was just there for the first two weeks of December 2012...after Thanksgiving and before Christmas, which should theoretically be a good time to get an ocean-front room.

However, it appears that ocean-front rooms are given to the owners of the new buildings under construction. The rooms that these owners have purchased are not ready, so these owners are assigned rooms in the Grand Mayan, and because these owners have paid more for their timeshares than the people in the Grand Mayan, they get priority on the ocean front rooms.

I spoke to a man who had purchased a timeshare in the Bliss. Then the resort decided not to build the Bliss, so he is now being put up in the Grand Mayan until such time that he is convinced to upgrade to the Grand Bliss or he wears down the Grand Mayan and gets them to refund his money.

I used to love going to the Mayan. Now, it makes my stomach hurt, but we are stuck, and have to make the best of the situation.

Room Tip: You will have zero input. Don't even try....unless you WANT a "golf club" view (which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear caseycodymom :
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay. All our staff has a strict regimen of training and supervision in order to provide the highest level of service our guests expect from us. For that reason, rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate area since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

With all good wishes
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just spent a week in a suite that sleeps 8. The accommodations are clean and really spacious for a family of 5. The staff in the resort are super friendly and very helpful. We did not do the timeshare presentation, I made it clear we were not interested, that was a good move from what I have heard.
The resort was really full and it did become difficult to find seats at the pool or the beach. There is lots for kids to do and it is really geared towards a fun family experience.
On the negative side on the night of our arrival they misplaced our luggage till 2am, not so fun to travel all day, get in at 11pm and not have your luggage till 2am. The resort did sent 5 chocolates with an apology note, not nearly enough considering the inconvenience. The room was also very noisy if you face away from the beach, there is a really noisy piece of equipment on. The adjacent property that switches on and off 24/7. We were in the 3rd building, which is the closest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.