We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy But Beware” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Enjoy But Beware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You could not want for a better place to spend a vacation. The Grand Mayan is certainly luxury and I cannot say enough about the staff. The room service, the waiters, the maids and especially the activity staff are all top notch. This location is probably one of their largest and there is something there for everyone. While they were fully booked you could always find a place in the shade to sit and there were so many chaise loungers on the beach there was never a problem. We love it there but one caveat. DO NOT accept a free breakfast and a 10% reduction in you bill for attending the presentation. You will loose a day of your vacation. The breakfast might end up costing you thousands. They are very skilled at pushing you toward upgrading your facility. You start out a a perfectly nice place and then find out there are certain amenities that are off limits to you. OK, so you trade up to the Grand Mayan but the trouble is they keep moving the goal line. There are always plenty of people who, for them, money is not object so they trade up and once more you feel like the poor relations. This is a sales tactic and don't let it fool you. It is perfectly alright to say, "No thank you" when asked if you would like to attend a presentation. They will offer day trips, a bill reduction, a spa treatment, etc. but we advise not to accept. Enjoy your vacation and the beautiful Grand Mayan and be satisfied with that. You don't need to hob nob with the money bags crowd, who by the way are not having the fun that is supplied by the Grand Mayan.

Room Tip: Naturally everyone wants to look out at the ocean but that is not possible. I do think if you are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    386
    172
    83
    72
See reviews for
620
366
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a two bedroom unit at the Grand Mayan. Amazing property with a hard sell approach. We booked into the time share presentation not just due to the pressure they put upon you at check in (which they did) but because we actually were interested in their program. Skipping ahead through the mandatory at length nicities and breakfast to get to business, we made an offer (this is the very condused version to this point) - they wouldn't accept the offer without my husbands drivers license and credit card. When the offer inevitably came back to the table, it came back without the identification. When we asked for it back instead we got another salesman with another pitch, which we weren't the least bit interested in. We asked again for the identification and basically played nice in the sandbox until we got the ID back. Our main timeshare guy actually said "we're cloning it as we speak".....not so funny. When we got the ID back, we asked to be escorted back to our resort (we were taken to the Grand Bliss next door)....instead we had some terse woman insist we sign a release that we were waiving our rights to some class action suit through RCI because they had made us a counter offer that we wouldn't accept (i know this sounds convulted indeed it was). I lost it at this point, and swiftly left the area indicating I wouldn't be signing ANYTHING. Our old, lets call him the breakfast salesman caught up with us and indicated he would take us now (finally) to where we would get the Rythms of the Night tickets we were promised. Instead he took us somewhere ELSE where we had an older gentlemen at another round table. We left again. Breakfast salesman catches up with us again and actually gives us hell for making him look bad. His words. SERIOUSLY ??? REALLY ??? OMG !!! This guy was from Pennsylvania, so no language or customs barriers there. Couldn't believe it. Called the credit card company and put them on alert. We now have to monitor my husbands credit profile through the credit bureau for any funny goings on for who knows how long. The staff back at the resort just hang their heads when you mention the "sales presentation".

Wow, that said, if you are booked to go, definitely GO.....definitely AVOID THE PRESENTATION AT ALL COSTS.

Too bad this review had to take up so much space with negativity, certainly the resort was a delight if I hadn't felt like I should be watching my back for the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view impossible without being an owner. Don't sweat it though most of the views are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nayarit
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Mayan properties are expansive and have everything you could want for your vacation if you are willing to travel in betwen properties. We went with a group of friends and had a great time. Although we all booked through the same website and paid the same price some in our group had an ocean front room.
The lazy river and the water slide were the highlight of our time there, the pool area can't be beat. The restaraunts are nice and with so many you can easiy find something for everyone.
The rooms are avaerage, but the ammenities are full size and the bath tubs are all jacuzzi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We have been owners for 7 years. We have upgraded to the Bliss two years ago.

In short haven't been able to get an ocean view for the last 3 years.

Timeshare is not worth the investment. You can get the same room at an owners cost just about anytime of year.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have always enjoyed staying a the Grand Mayan, but after this last trip for 16 nights, construction is everywhere. So many of the restuarants were not open, you can only get breakfast buffet on property, you are not allowed to order ala carte. Food was average, much better at the Grand Mayan in Playa del Carmen.
Check-out was a joke, three hours long! After finally getting on the phone with the reservations dept. did they finally agreed to pay us the promised monies regarding food and beverage credit. Too bad they are so interested in sales and not taking care of the present owners. the two couples that visited us will not purchase at this property because of experience with check out.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view 5 times and you may get it. Also ask to be away from construction zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I found the facility excellent. Would have enjoyed more activities at night on the beach or at the lounges. I would like to say the daytime activity group was excellent and the people who conducted the activities were excellent with the guests. I would recommend everyone to go to the activity hut each day and see what is going on. Ask for Robin or Ivan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After 23 years making the annual vacation trip to Puerto Vallarta, we tried Nuevo and the Grand Mayan Resort from 11/2-11/9/12. ORIGINALLY we were booked into the Grand Bliss, but RCI (watchful as ever) contacted us to alert us re. heavy construction. RCI offered to move us to the Grand Mayan and we're really glad we did! Although the Bliss and the Luxe are the newer facilities, they are already doing some major remodeling to those two hotels...By Far the Grand Mayan was the BETTER OPTION. Per usual in Mexico, after a quick scan of our nice two bedroom, two bath unit we found that the refrigerator smelled (and wouldn't get cold) and the coffee maker was broken. A few quick calls to the conceige corrected those problems.

Our room was lovely, but did smell a bit musty...but we find this is pretty typical in Mexico and probably due to the climate.
A Few Other Tricks of the Trade and Info...
1. When booked at the Grand Mayan, call the resort and get a confirmation for FREE shuttle to the resort. This is a one-way only perk, but worth it! You'll pay for that return cab ride.

2. Don't forget that all important DAILY tip to your maid (camarara/criada). Our rule of thumb is $2.00 per person per day. We leave that along with a note of any additional requirements we may have, i.e., toallitas (washcloths). ALTHOUGH there was a packard that stated washing dishes would result in an additional charge to our room, we avoided such charges by tipping our maids...they did a great job and were happy to wash up our few dishes (we were on vacation you know and dishes aren't a part of my vacation!).

3. Bring $50-$100 in ones for maid tips, bathroom attendants, and for beach purchases. They come in handy...we also bring some $5. American money goes over well. (AND PEOPLE, please get a grip...when bargaining with the beach vendors you REALLY need to cut what they are requesting in 1/2 and then reduce it alittle more...you NEVER pay more than 1/2 of the asking price...otherwise just buy it up town, it will probably be cheaper!
Another STRANGE plackard in the room stated that FREE lockbox (safe boxes) were available in the lobby, but that you would be charged if you used the ones in the rooms. Again, we used the room lock boxes and never ended up with a charge? (maybe the tips??).
We PUT ASIDE the two bottles of water we found in the refrigerator and did not use them. In checking our final bill we found we were charged for them, but the charge was quickly removed when we advised we'd not used them. (When we arrived we immediately cabbed to the local Walmart and stocked up on beverages, a case of water and a few large jugs of water for coffee making and bathroom use...the water MAY BE FINE in the hotel, but we've always adhered to this practice for the sake of safety! We also picked up a few lunch items.
Remember, hotel tax is now charged daily and collected at the end of your stay at final check out. This is IN ADDITION to what you paid for your room. At the Mayan the tax ran 15.50 peso/day.

4. The Asian Restaurant was super...we actually didn't order any entrees, but rather got 4 hor d's and some drinks...very filling and tasty...the Green Dragon drink a little syrupy, but the Gong was super!

Our COMPLIMENTS TO THE GRAND MAYAN...when we checked in they gave us a letter stating we would have $300 US in food/beverage credit at their restaurants. AND, true to their word, what we charged to our room was applied to this credit...BUT, TIPS ARE NOT...if you receive such a complimentary gift, it is for food or beverages only...not the tips you leave.
The Grounds at the Grand Mayan are lush and beautiful. However, it is a 5 min. walk to the BEST pool (Infinity) that is between the Grand Bliss and the Luxe. It's a GREAT POOL and we found it never to be crowded, and no hassle over getting a lounge poolside. There are two side by side pools, one for kids and one for adult, a REAL PLUS. Wandering through the property is the "Lazy River"...with lots of tubes. It was fun to float it...and there is SUPPOSE to be a wave machine that runs every so often which would have made it more fun, but tried as we may, we never seemed to connect with that feature.

The Grand Mayan also had a great little piano bar with a local entainer who could both play the piano and the trumpet. He could do everything and was quite fun to listen and dance.

We were PRETTY DISAPPOINTED in Brio. The Mayan Spa...a massage was $160 US...We're used to paying 20-35 US in PV so NO MASSAGES this year....this will probably drive us BACK to Puerto Vallata next year rather than to Nuevo. That and the internet is NOT worth the price either...they want around $95 for the week, etc. so we skipped that luxury too.

It should be noted that MOST of the clientele at these resorts are OLDER...If you're looking to party hardy and want a lot of night life and action, then maybe Nuevo won't be your cup of tea. (We did cab into PV's Old Town one night however, just to shake it up a little, and were happy to find that Graham was still playing at the Blue Shrimp.)

We did attend a Fiesta one evening for 702 pesos per person...(about $65.00) It was a first for us and we're glad we did, but not something we'll do again. Entertainment and food just so-so.

A short cab ride from the hotel we dined one night a Prime 159 Steakhouse. It was fabulous! Filet Mignon with sides of asparagus, sauteed mushrooms, and a potato dish. Shared the sides and also ordered two Caesars that they served up in three orders for us...we could have split just one...it was a lot!

A short cab ride to the Banco Norte yielded 12.5 pesos to the dollar (good rate), and that bank is kind enough to make a copy of your passport for you (a requirement to exchange money at Mexican banks now). There was another bank in the same shopping center, but Banco Norte seemed to be the favorite and did the best job and gave decent rates. (We always make and bring a couple copies of our passports with us to save time....some banks won't make you a copy so safest idea.)

Bucerias is NOT a short walk from the Grand Mayan. I'd read other reviews saying it was a short walk if you stay in Nuevo, but NOT from the Mayan. We did cab up one night tho and visited some nice restaurants.

AGAIN compliments to the Mayan chain. On our departure day we left around 9 a.m. (had paid our bill the day before) and cabbed to the Mayan Palace at the Puerto Vallarta Marina and checked our luggage with the bell captain (we'd confirmed this would be OK with the conceige before we left the Grand). That allowed us to cab to Old Town in PV to shop and have lunch at PiPi's then back to claim our luggage at the Palace and off to the airport to catch our 4:15 p.m. flight home. It was a perfect trip.

OF COURSE...THE FINAL CAUTION...AVOID THE TIME SHARE PRESENTATIONS!!! One lady we spoke with down at the pool was telling us she's already sunk around 100K into the Mayan...I mean, really??? We have an aftermarket 2 red weeks that we picked up state-side years ago for 5K...and don't even have to pay maintenance if we don't use the weeks...THEY'VE BEEN WELL WORTH the 5K...but 100K??? AM THINKING NOT! Believe me, you WON'T get any timeshare deals in Mexico....if you're looking, check TimeShare Only or similar company stateside.

Room Tip: FORGET IT...Just be NICE when checking in...IF YOU DON'T OWN at a Mayan, you WON'T BE GETTIN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list