We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy Room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Temple, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moldy Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from 7 days at The Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta. This was my second time at this resort. We went entered our room the mold/mildew odor was overwhelming. We complained and went to two other rooms which were just as bad. Chose the last room because it seemed to be slightly better that the other's. We were told just to air it out and it will be fine. It was not fine and caused misery for me. We had a 2 year old who it caused problems also. The rooms need to be updated. Furniture and kitchen utensils need to be replaced. The staff were good, the grounds were beautiful and food was good. I will not go again until something is done about the mold/mildew problems.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room that smells of mold and mildew it will not go away. It is horrible to smell thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    494
    222
    96
    94
See reviews for
762
451
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had reservations at Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta from 10/8 - 10/13. We had made arrangements to get free transportation to the property which we thoroughly enjoyed. Check in could have been a bit quicker but it wasn't horrible. We had asked for a room away from the construction since my husband is a light sleeper. We are not owners and didn't expect to get a room of the pool/ocean - and that was okay since we were pretty much in the room to sleep and have breakfast and enjoy the plunge pool after a day of sun. They graciously accommodated us. We only went into Puerto Vallarta once during the week - we took public transportation that day and it wasn't bad at all and saved $$. We walked all over to get our exercise in, did have a massage mid-week that was delightful. Food and beverage service was very good - everyone was very courteous and attentive to us. We checked out the nite before to save time and we were able to walk right up to front desk and do it. Concierge printed out our boarding passes. We loved the idea of having wristbands as our room keys! Pretty amazing! Thank you - we will be back.

Room Tip: When checking in, let the front desk know what kind of room you prefer (away from elevator, quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at the GM the first week of October. Weather was great. Had just missed two days of rain. The resort is beautiful and pools well maintained. We were lucky and after some negotiations were were changed from a suite facing the parking lot to one facing the golf course which was great. There is a smell of mildew as you enter the room but we were prepared for it from reading posted reviews. At home I bought odor eater drops that I placed on dishes in the room and it helped in neutralizing the smell. I also left the windows open
to get fresh air in.

The GM is not close to PV but not that far by taxi and it was fun taking the buses. Felt very safe. Bucerias was also great. It has a nice market for buying turist trinkets.

Room Tip: A higher floor will get you a better view even if you cna't get an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back last night. Spent 7 nights at the Grand Mayan with my gf, her daughter and son-in-law and their 2 kids (2 and 4), and i think a great time was had by all! The Grand Mayan has something for everyone: wading pools with slides for the kids, wave pools, the meandering lazy river through the property where you float along in an inner tube with handles, the "party" pool (my name) with an in-pool volleyball net and a "stage area" where they have scheduled activities like dancing and balloon tossing, plus the main pool, which is located right in front of building 2 and has a swim-up bar at the southern end We didn't go down to building 1 (it's a big property), so i can't vouch for that. The resort also has a segment of beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas and bar service. The beach is nice, the water is warm and the kids liked building a sand castle (ok, their father and i did most of the work), but they really enjoyed it. there are vendors on the beach, but a simple "no, gracias" is all you need.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in building 3 facing the mountains. The 2 rooms had a king sized bed in one and 2 queens in the other. I know some of the Mexican resorts have harder beds than most Americans are used to, but the kiing sized bed was very comfortable, and i personally slept well. The rooms were connected by the living room/kitchen/dining room with 2 sofas with futons. We also had a large deck outside with lounge chairs and tiny soaking pool, big enough for perhaps 3 or 4 adults (the kids loved it!). The kitchen was small but more than adequate. No oven, but there was a stove, microwave and perhaps a 3/4 refrigerator, plus more than enough plates and silverware. We spent a couple hundred on groceries at Walmart, which has everything you'll want or need (60 peso cab to, 70 pesos coming back). We ate breakfast in the room 5 of the 7 days, lunch 3-4 times and dinner 4 or five nights. All was mmgood!

The house keeping was very good, well above average. I'd read stories about getting bothered by the timeshare salespeople at the Grand Mayan, but we were never hassled even once by the timeshare people onsite

There are also a number of restaurants on site . We had lunch at the Ola Mulata (between the kid's pool and the beach) a couple times ( just ok and a little pricey) and also had drinks from Samba by the main pool during happy hour. We hoped the fruit drinks were fresh, but they were not. We didn.t try the other restaurants, so i can't vouch for them. There is also a tobacco shop on site and a jeweler. Plus there's Sun Market less than 100 yards from the main entrance, a little convenience store with coke, cerveza. wine, cheese and pretty much what you'd expect to find at a 7-11 store.

The bus stop to Puerto Vallarta is perhaps a quarter mile outside the front gate, and cost 26 pesos each. the 1st bus cost 13 pesos and the driver gave us a transfer and told us to transfer to the blue line at PV Walmart, which we did, but the 2nd bus driver didn't accept the transfer, and we paid an additional 13 pesos each, which is still cheap enough, considering a cab ride to downtown PV is 180-200 pesos.

Free shuttle buses carry you to the other properties on site, the Mayan Palace, the Grand Luxxe and the Grand Bliss.. All have their own special touches.

Another wonderful experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room in building 3. a couple we met from building 2 said their room was moldy and musty. o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We have spent many years staying at different locations in Cabo San Lucas and San Jose Del Cabo and I must say that Puerto Vallarta and the Grand Mayan were much more enjoyable overall. Even people staying at the other hotels on the property would come to the Mayan to use the facilities. Many pools to choose from; two with swim up bars, the lazy river that you can float on around the other pools on inner tubes, two areas that have man made waves and a kids area. We were never able to use the beaches in Cabo, so I was really taken with the beach. Access was easy and the water was great. The rooms are very nice, restaurants had good food and the service from staff was terrific. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent the first week of October at the Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta. We are owners and have been at Mayan resorts over a dozen times. Another great mexican vacation! Weather was hot, room was clean, service was great and the pool/lazy river and slide were fun. We had the breakfast buffet for the owners/sales presentation and the food/selection was very good. The rest of the vacation we ate outside the resort. Eddies place, which is very close by, was very good. We ate there a few years ago prior to the Grand Mayan being complete. Eddies other restaurant Por Que No, right around the corner in the marina, was a bit pricey and we did not go in. Another great place just outside the Mayan grounds on the way to the highway was Claudios Place. Excellent food and excellent service from Armondo. We went there to watch Monday Night Football (Go Bears!) and had the TV to ourselves with english audio. We actually went back two more times because the food/service was so good. $3.50 taxi from the Mayan resorts gets you there, very authentic decor and food. Daily specials and excellent margaritas. We tried taco Break by the golf course, it was a little above average for food. Mostly tacos, buritos,quesadillas, etc. Of course, we cannot go to PV area and not go to Barracuda. I still think they have the best shrimp in PV and dining on the beach at sunset drinking a cold Pacifico, does it get any better? For shopping we took a $6 taxi ride to Chedraui. I think it may have previously been a mega? Good food selection and pricing, very clean and organized store. There is a lot of construction going on at the south end of the grounds for the luxxe units, but it did not interfere with our enjoyment. The pools and grounds were beautifully maintained. For kids, they have the kid pools/playground and a kids club with activities.We have been owners for many years and have been to PV, NV, Cabo and Riviera Maya. Always a great time, no complaints. Never had a problem with mayan sales. We always feel safe at the resort, outside the resort and anytime we go into town.

Room Tip: Building three ocean side has perfect view of grounds, ocean and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am going to get to the MOLD issue in a minute....This review is meant only for the discerning traveler, the traveler who not only wants, but requires a clean, mold-free satisfying experience on his/her travels! We booked our week way back in April 2012. At some point over the 5 months you would think that SOMEONE could have told us that Mayan Palace has been demolished and that Grand Mayan has HEAVY construction going on right now as well! Right? It is amazing that there is no thought given to the amount of money it takes the average travler to save for these trips. Do these resorts think that our money grows on trees? That we have to take time off work, pay our airfare, invite our friends to join us from other States and then arrive embarrased because we were totally unaware of the contruction. We are owners of 3 weeks per year in a Master suite at Mayan Palace, which is a 2 bedroom unit with 2 baths and a kitchen, sleeps 8 people. We checked into our room #3506 and our friends stayed in 3507. I noticed a strong odor the minute I walked in. We opened all the sliding doors and amped up the AC thinking it was just a little stale. I could not sleep due to the odor the 1st and 2nd nights Sadly, my husband said he barely smelled it, while our friends 7 month pregnant wife said she also lost sleep due to the mildew odor. I told my husband he needed to ask to change rooms or I would fly home. I am 55, I need my sleep. We were almost sold on another room on the 5th floor, but the minute I walked in I smelled the same odor. I noticed black mold under #3506's bathroom sink, all over the wall and corners of baseboard (will download photos). Finding the cause of the odor was one thing, but demanding we be moved to a different BUILDING was quite another ordeal. For 2 hours we went back and forth with staff, and they refused to do anything. So, we did what any tax paying American would do. We threatened to call our Lawyer. Suddenly, "Caesar" , the Grand Mayan Manager appeared and apologized to our group of 6, moved us to a new building,rooms #3989,3987,3889. FYI: Mold should not be inhaled. Not while on vacation, not at anytime! These timeshares are a joke. Once they have your money, they could care less about MOLD, customer service or doing the right thing for travelers. I would caution anyone NOT to buy into these VIDA, Grand Mayan locations. We paid over $25,000 and to this date do not know how to trade our weeks. There is no website that you can log onto, I mean, WHO has the time to physically CALL someone on the phone for answers? Friends who own RCI are able to log-on and deposit weeks, etc.

Room Tip: Until someone can prove to us that NO MOLD issues remain with these Grand Mayan and Mayan Palace loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 5*
Number of rooms: 795
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.