We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Flamingos to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just returned from a week at VDPF. We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids (10 and 7)). We stayed in a 2 bed suite. There was ALOT of space, including balcony space. In fact, we probably would have been fine with a one bed suite. Hotel and rooms very clean and well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful. As others have mentioned, there's quite a bit of timeshare talk but we found that if you are firm with your negative response they back off. Having said that, there seemed to be many people who have timeshares there and return year after year. I can see why, as it's a great place, especially for families and people who prefer quieter resorts. It's not somewhere you'd come for partying.

Hotel is situated very close to the airport so a quick ride in a cab once you get there. Don't pay for a transfer unless there's a lot of you. We paid about $30 for our cab to the hotel and $20 ish on the way back (it's different prices for some reason). Anyhoo, when I checked out transfers they wanted about $100. Just walk straight out the airport and grab a cab from outside.

Before we booked this place, we almost booked Paradise Village. While we were there we checked out this hotel and are so glad we picked VDPF as Paradise Village was absolutely packed to the brim and was quite the party place, at least during the day.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was very convenient and had no probs with security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    310
    81
    59
    50
See reviews for
486
388
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For Spring Break this year we decided to do Spring Break at Villa Del Palmar Flamingos. We are so happy we did. Excellent Customer service, wonderful location. Truly relaxing family vacation. Loved it

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a really nice resort, but it is not worth what you pay. Restaurant selection is so, so. Stayed here for two nights was promised a room with a king size bed, sorry we only have studios with two doubles. Was told to have a view looking out at the ocean, got a view looking out at the main lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very clean friendly staff! Grounds and pool were amazing! Water is not clear like the Caribbean but is warm and fun to boggie board! If you walk out to beach and take a right, walk 1.5-2 miles you get to better beaches and water as well as no resorts! Only private houses and rentals down that far!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Mn Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our 1st time staying here as owners. Our daughter & son inlaw married here on the beach 3/10/2014. Everything was perfect. Esmond ( Flamingos wedding coordinater) did a wonderful job. The wedding party had dinner afterward next to El Patron privately. If you're thinking of having your wedding here, I recommend it. Her pictures & video were beautiful. Flamingos is a top notch hotel . We sat on the beach under a palapa all week. The rooms are immaculate. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay, this is it. . Bucerios is a short cab run away. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bedroom. It had a very comfortable K bed, and a Murphy bed in the LR. Also, we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in March 2014. We got a great price on booking.com, and were very pleased with the experience.

Firstly Nuevo Vallarta is a very nice area. A calm strip of beach with a line of hotels, condominiums etc - but it doesn't feel too busy or crowded. We went for a walk along the beach into the local village of Bucerias, which was even quieter, and had a nice pizza at a restaurant.

The hotel is very pleasant - not too large at all, but with plenty of space for our children to run around. The pool itself is great - a few different zones, plenty of shallow areas for children, a fair bit of shade, and heated so it stayed nice and warm throughout the day.

We had a comfortable modern room with a view over the pool. We had some good meals at the restaurants, and the staff were always pretty friendly.

Two factors however stop me from giving five stars:

- too much loud music by the pool during the day. When it is quiet it is lovely - the sound of the sea, birds singing, the wind blowing through the palm trees. Then it is spoilt because some teenage member of staff decides we all want to listen to Swedish House Mafia at full volume. Trust me - we are there to relax, we don't want to listen to Swedish House Mafia...!

- the pushy concierges. Others have mentioned how they have a very hard sell membership presentation. Well, we weren't interested in that, but when we tried to get a map to see where we could go for a walk locally, it took 10 mins of dealing with very pushy questioning. 'Do we want the discount card, in return for attending a presentation on the resort?' 'Do we want to book some tours with the hotel?' ' Were we aware of the benefits of membership?'. For goodness sake, we only wanted a map..... That is a real negative aspect of the hotel, and I think the management should take note of all the comments of this nature and tone down the heavy handed selling.

Otherwise though we had a great weekend, and would go back.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty nice. Maybe a higher floor, to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have been members of the Villa Group for 10 years, and have stayed at Flamingos, nine of those years. It truely does feel like we are coming home each time we visit. We enjoyed our most recent stay, Feb. 25 - March 11. The staff works very hard to create that welcome, comfortable feeling. David, Alonso and Luis were all very helpful with dinner suggestions, answers to our questions, taking our picture, always a big smile when we returned from an outing. Lots of resorts have well trained staff, but the staff at Flamingos is very genuine, and go beyond their job expectations to take care of their guests. When we checked in this year, the resort was very full and the type of room we requested, was not what we were assigned. When we discovered this, Abigain at the front desk, very diligently, and despite some techinical difficulties, searched thru room inventory until she found what we had requested. This was done with a smile. Yes, even as members we got the hard sell to upgrade our membership. Made a note to self, to say "NO", not take the bait, for free "gifts' And go on about enjoying our vacation! Flamingos is a great place to enjoy the sun and sand and the diversity Mexico has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Address: Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Flamingos 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Flamingos
Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Flamingos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.