We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still wonderful on the second visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Flamingos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Still wonderful on the second visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Villa del Palmar Flamingos is a beautiful, well-run resort. Go for your first visit and you, too, will want a second visit! The resort is designed with angled rooms so every room has an ocean view. Request building 1 or 6 if you want to be closer to the ocean.

The staff is wonderful! They are obviously well-trained, focus on customer service, go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Just a few favorites: Jorge if ordering lunch while at the pool, Jazmine at the spa, Eduardo at the bell boy/taxi stand, and all the wait staff at the restaurants.

Be sure to visit the town of Bucerias, a short walk north of the resort. There is a market with stalls selling all types of merchandise - jewelry, pottery, art, beach cover-ups, tee shirts, shoes, hats, and on and on. Remember to dicker on price and be ready to say no a lot!

NOTE TO FIRST TIME VISITORS - The airport is extremely intimidating! Salesmen will tell you that you must talk to them first. Not true. Either book transportation in advance (at a reasonable price) through the resort OR just keep walking until you are outside THEN get a taxi. The current cost of a taxi from the airport to Flamingos is 180 peso, about $14.25 US dollars.

Then relax and enjoy this beautiful place!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean, but building 1 and 6 are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    274
    73
    54
    46
See reviews for
432
353
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two week stay at the Flamingos. This was our fourth time at this location in the past 8 years. Three days prior to departure my wife fell and broke her arm. We were apprehensive about going but decided what a better place to be with a cast. We were very familiar with the property and its great amenities that never disappoint. The large rooms and short walks to the pool or beach. What surprised us was the great service from the staff. They went out of their way to assist my wife and make her stay comfortable and relaxing. Reynaldo made sure she never went without a beverage around the pool or on the beach. He moved the umbrella whenever she needed to keep the sun off or on her as needed. He was funny and delightful in conversation to pass the time. She did not want to go home knowing that type of service was not going to be available from me upon our return. Antonio the Bellman was our go to guy for offsite dinning. He recommended several great spots to dine at in the local area, some we had never been to before and they were all fantastic. He occasionally called on us to make sure things were going well for my wife.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north receive morning sun, room son the south see a colorfull sunset. All rooms have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had another wonderful trip to the Villa del Palmar Flamingos, from Jan 14 - Jan 25, 2013. Four (of our group of six) were in a two bedroom suite (2802 A/B), which was spacious, light, and very clean, with an amazing ocean view.

While we do many activities and often dine off-site, we found all services that we used at the VDPF to be excellent. The bell staff (Eduarto, Antonio, Joel and others) were so much help to us. The housekeeping staff was efficient and professional. Poolside bar service and the poolside restaurant staff was great (thanks, Tico, and others), and our breakfast servers were most gracious. I didn't personally use the spa this time, but some in our group did, and were very pleased.

The grounds are beautiful. If there is a downside, it is that people are still reserving/hogging multiple poolside chairs without using them. My husband and I have been through this before, and have just politely folded and removed towels when we know that they have been there unattended for X amount of time. The staff is working on this, and they now place warning cards on spots that have been unattended for awhile. Also, when my husband and I were unable to find two empty chairs, an attendent arrived at our side right away (without us asking) to bring us chairs/offer assistance. This was our 10th day there, and the first time we'd had that much trouble. We appreciated his efforts.

Villa del Palmar Flamingos is a very lovely, safe, clean, comfortable resort. I feel badly because I haven't mentioned everyone who went "above and beyond" for us, but I can tell you that the VDPF staff genuinely cares, and it shows. We will be back, and will continue to recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: 2802 A is a room in the main (lobby) building. It is on the top floor, with a cupola, and is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Villa del Palmar Flamigos is located at the north end of the resorts that make up the Nuevo Vallarta resort area. The walk to the beach community of Bucerias is about 30 minutes by gorgeous golden beach or resort owned walkway. This area is very safe day and night. There is a security station located on the walkway that can give directions or help if needed. Getting to this resort from the airport is easy by rental car, taxi, shuttle or bus.

Once you get to this resort the staff takes care of you. Antonio was the first person we met who helped us gather our luggage and took care of our car. He made us feel very welcome. The next person we met was Emma who was very helpful in getting our room for this two week stay. Thanks for the great room Emma.

Our first week was a one bedroom unit with two bathrooms. The kitchen was equipped with every thing needed for a comfortable stay. Full size fridge, glass stove top with 4 burners and microwave, dishwasher, blender, toaster and many plates bowls, pots, pans and utinsels. Next to the kitchen is a closet with a stacked washer and dryer. There is also an ironing board and iron in this closet. The water at this resort is purified so there is no need for bottled water.

The bathrooms are fully stocked with everything. Soap, shampoo hairdryer and a jetted tub in the master bathroom. Dining areas include the table with six chairs in the dining area and a table with four chairs on the balcony. The living room has a comfortable couch, chair, coffee table, end tables, entertainment center with 36 inch flat screen tv and murphy bed. The wireless internet cost $50 per week and can be used to stream movies from netflix. The master bedroom has a very nice king size bed, 32 inch flat screen tv, night stands, lamps and alarm clock. The master bath room has two sinks, make up mirror, shower, private shower, private toilet and a jetted tub. There is daily maid service and our maid, Marta was great. She folded our towels into different shapes and kept our room really nice. Most rooms have ocean views and all have patios or balconies with two lounge chairs , lounge table and table with four chairs.

Our second week was a two bedroom lock off with the lock off studio having two queen size beds, flat screen tv, fridge, stove, microwave , bathroom and private balcony with two chairs and a table.

The pools are the center piece of the resort with many lounge chairs and tables. The hot tub is huge and has a gas fire pit on the ocean view. Then there is beautiful Banderas Bay and the fantastic sunsets. The resort has many beach and pool lounge chairs, tables and umbrellas. The beach activities include vollyball and kayaks. There is beach service for beverages and food. The resort also has a separate spa and very nice gym.

There are three restaurants on site and a mini market with all kinds of items. Here is a link to the timeshare owners website. http://www.myuvc.com/default.aspx?p=DynamicModule&pageid=254709&ssid=114086&vnf=1

All in all I really like this resort and location. I rate it a 9+.

Room Tip: All rooms besides the first floor have ocean view. The higher you go the more you see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiser, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our second stay at VDF Flamingos and it was just as enjoyable as the first. All of the staff is very courteous and helpful, especially the Bellboys. Our favorite was Eduardo. His restaurant recommendations were spot on. He was great making sure the cabbies got us to our destination at a fair price. Lily in Vallarta Adventures was also very helpful. Favorite waiter was Ismael, Best pool server was Tico.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our second time staying at this resort and I would recommend it to everyone. Very clean resort. Antonio (bellboy) was excellent with recommendations of resturants, places to see and knowledge of all questions asked. The service, the mannerism was outstanding. You are close enough you can walk to Bucerias and only 15 minutes from airport. Couldn't of asked for better service. Will be back again...

Room Tip: if you like the sun shining in the morning be on the north or in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Once you get past the condo sales people, everyone else there is extremely nice and will go out of there way to make sure you are happy and taken care of. The food was very good as an all inclusive, better than I had expected. The Bellboys Joel and Antonio are extremely great at their jobs, wish we had them in Chicago, and will take care of anything you need!!!! The first night of dinner we had Jesus as our waiter and I made sure no matter which restaurant we ate at that he took care of us the rest of the week. Even got him assigned to our area for New Years Eve. He made the evenings for dinner a real pleasure. We had two adjoining suites since we had the kids with us and the rooms were very nice. Taxi's are very clean and Joel at the door will tell you how much it will cost you and how long a trip it is for everything you do. However I would book private transportation to and from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Address: Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Flamingos 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Flamingos
Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Flamingos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.