We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations, with room for improvement, here and there...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Flamingos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations, with room for improvement, here and there...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The units were large, well equipped and immaculate and I really enjoyed having a washer/dryer in the unit. There is a very nice pool area with attentive bar staff most of the day, but as others have mentioned, the custom of guests going out to "save" their pool chairs is pretty annoying. I woke up one morning at 8:30 am for the sole purpose of getting two pool chairs and already, towels had "saved" all of the chairs, despite the fact that perhaps ten people were actually in the chairs at that hour. Occasionally, we were fortunate enough to find chairs later on in the afternoon, but much of that afternoon time was spent with loud music and numerous announcements being made over the sound system, which I found to be a detraction from the overall ambiance. Truly, there needs to be a better system in place so that more guests can utilize the pool seating. I also very much enjoyed the gym, which had a nice array of equipment, as well as a room for classes/mat exercises/yoga and an attendant every ready to provide a cold towel when needed.
We were told that their premier restaurant was the one with the Italian theme -- the poolside restaurant was upgraded during the evening for finer dining. However, neither my partner or I concluded that it was particularly memorable and were more content with the dining options in the main dining room.
On this occasion, we had opted to participate in the inclusive meal program at the resort; however, I think that next time, I would be tempted to take the fifteen minute walk down the beach to Bucerias to try some of the restaurants there, based on other's reviews -- I sense there could be quite a good variety of food there for less financial outlay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    255
    67
    52
    44
See reviews for
390
330
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful resort built upon a great location. Our one bedroom was very clean with spectacular views from the balcony. The staff were very friendly and attentive. A special recognition goes to Mr. Luis Guzman, Bell Captain and Mr. David, bellman, who both provided general information to where and what to do with added personal advise which made our touring and dining experiences unforgetable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Returned from a lovely two week stay at Villa del Palmer. The property is a marvel. Beautifully maintained. The staff very friendly. I was not too happy upon check out to realize $3.40 gratuity added for each day to the bill. The pool area so nice, however; the afternoon activities a bit annoying to the point I wanted to avoid the pool in the afternoon.

Room Tip: I seriously doubt the guests have any influence over the room they are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are owners at Villa del Palmar Flamingos and may be a bit prejudiced. The place is still beautiful. The rooms are large and beautiful (the washer and dryer come in handy).The staff is excellent. The vacation was wonderful.
Our only complaint is that all of the lounge chairs at the pool are taken by 9 AM. People run down and put their towels on chairs and don't use them until the afternoon. There needs to be some way for the staff to remove towels that are not being used. We were assured that the managemnet is working on a solution. A related issue was a lack of umbrellas for shade on the beach. We complained on Sunday and there were many more umbrellas on Monday.
While we were there they replaced our old TVs with new flat screens.
The only free wi-fi is in the lounge. It's a bit inconvenient but I refuse to pay $40 for what should be a free service.
More positives:The housekeeping staff was excellent and friendly.
We took the kitchen tour led by Isaia. We were the only Anglos on the tour and he made us feel welcome and translated for us. The scope of the kitchen operation makes you appreciate what it takes to run a resort like this. They even grow their own herbs!
One of the reasons we bought at VDP Flamingos is the proximity to Buscerias. The restaurants in Bucerias are fabulous and I recommend that you leave your resort a few times at least and check them out. It's a half hour walk or an 85 peso ($6.50) cab ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Such a perfect place to stay, you can do as much or as little as you want. Plenty of activities in the resort for those that want it, such as aqua aerobics volley ball, we had a paella cooking class, and the resort even brought a sea lion, to the pool for us all to see.
The staff are friendly and helpful, always smiling and having a joke with you.
The rooms and grounds are spotless and maintained to a very high standard.
Food choice was good, the setting for the restaurants overlooking the sea are idyllic, and plenty of choice too in the hotel deli for more casual dining.
It is an hours walk to bucerias (gentle walk) on the beach to fabulous sea food restaurants and a good mexican market. And an hour in the oppposite direction to a little bar we liked on the beach called etc beach club, where you can have a cold beer and snack until 7pm.
Puerto Vallarta is also well worth a visit along the Malecon, and romantic zone, very nice! It is a 30 mins taxi ride or you can take the bus if you want to save a bit of money.
Overall we had a fantastic time and plan to go back very soon....it is well worth the long flights to get there from the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a fantastic week at this resort. Spotless room, had a deluxe studio, great atmosphere, easy to relax, the best service by all staff and food was very good.
This is a time share property, but do not let that deter you from booking a stay here. With the option of purchasing the meal package, which we did, you can have a very relaxing and stress free stay. The concierge will greet you and want to sit down with you as they go thru your welcome package, it is filled with info and discounts. We prepaid thru UVC prior to arrival so we had no need for any of this and declined the time share presentation. Check in was efficient and fast, they offered us choices of view and floor we wanted to stay on, we chose the top floor, 8th, in building 3. This is on the North side of property and does not get direct sun in the afternoon, nice! Eduardo, bell boy, then loaded up our suitcases and took us to our room. He was very polite and made sure we were satisfied with our room.
The pool area is very large and has lots of chairs, they do monitor the one hour limit on reserving chairs, so be careful here. During our stay people would go out in early morning and reserve chairs and by 10 am all were reserved, yet no people were in most. This led to next day management removing the towels off vacant chairs, this cleaned up the early reserving, but i doubt it will last.
Service at the pool is a 10! Augustine, Alex and Victor made sure we had cool drinks and fast service. There is a defiant atmosphere there fellows worked as a team and we were well looked after, great job fellows. There is just enough pool activities offered during the day by the staff, Jonathan, Carla and two others keep things going. Music was good and not blaring.
Food selection at the pool was vast, they change the menu choices each day, so lots of variety. You can get salads, burgers, chicken skewers, ice cream and endless guacamole. The large indoor restaurant had a breakfast buffet with lots of choices. Fatima, the hostess, greeted us each morning with a beautiful smile and pleasant personality, she is a keeper. In the evening this location was the dining area, but the menu is all mexican dishes and does not change day to day. This we found a bit limiting, so we only ate here twice. The food is excellent, it is well prepared, presentation is eye appealing and flavorful, the service was top notch.
We used the gym each day and Pedro, was very helpful. The gym has lots of equipment, free weights, ellipticals, bikes, treadmills and stretching area. It is very clean and well maintained.
The lack of tennis was a disappointed, even though the adjoining property to the north, same owners, had a tennis court, we could not get access.
Check out was easy, do the express, it saves time. The Hospitality Suite was made available for our use as we had a late day flight but had to check out at 11. Eduardo, stored our luggage and provided fresh towels for shower use in the Hospitality Suite. This room is very comfortable and was a nice feature to allow us to enjoy our last day at the pool and have a clean and safe place to shower, change and wait for our taxi ride to airport.
This property will not disappoint, it is well run, service is outstanding and staff defiantly give you a
welcome feeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
325CristianC, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Flamingos, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear 2Travelersweare:

We highly appreciate you sharing your positive comments about your recent stay at Villa del Palmar Flamingos. This review has been shared with all our staff and specially with our Bellmen staff and they were very pleased to hear back from you.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We are UVC members and the first time to visit this resort. The rooms are immaculate, clean, and very comfortable. We had a one bedroom full kitchen, and washer/dryer. We had a great view of the pools with the ocean in the background. All staff members were warm and friendly always making sure our needs were being met. We have have been blessed to be able to travel to many places staying at many wonderful resorts. This resort ranks up there with the best. We give it five stars. Reading some of the comments, if you dislike being asked to attend the time share presentation, make it known upfront that you are not interested or don't book a vacation at a resort that is a time share. There are plenty of resorts that are just hotels. As far as we are concerned, we had a great vacation that exceeded our expectations. Thumbs up to the entire staff at the Villa Del Parmar. We will be back for another wonderful vacation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
325CristianC, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Flamingos, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Diane D:

On behalf of the entire Staff, we thank you for your kind comments.
Your positive feedback encourages us even more to improve our service beyond your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel
Hotel Del Palmar Flamingos
Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel
Address: Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Flamingos 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Flamingos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.