We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic resort"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Flamingos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Fantastic resort"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful resort built upon a great location. Our one bedroom was very clean with spectacular views from the balcony. The staff were very friendly and attentive. A special recognition goes to Mr. Luis Guzman, Bell Captain and Mr. David, bellman, who both provided general information to where and what to do with added personal advise which made our touring and dining experiences unforgetable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    285
    77
    54
    47
See reviews for
457
363
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Returned from a lovely two week stay at Villa del Palmer. The property is a marvel. Beautifully maintained. The staff very friendly. I was not too happy upon check out to realize $3.40 gratuity added for each day to the bill. The pool area so nice, however; the afternoon activities a bit annoying to the point I wanted to avoid the pool in the afternoon.

Room Tip: I seriously doubt the guests have any influence over the room they are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are owners at Villa del Palmar Flamingos and may be a bit prejudiced. The place is still beautiful. The rooms are large and beautiful (the washer and dryer come in handy).The staff is excellent. The vacation was wonderful.
Our only complaint is that all of the lounge chairs at the pool are taken by 9 AM. People run down and put their towels on chairs and don't use them until the afternoon. There needs to be some way for the staff to remove towels that are not being used. We were assured that the managemnet is working on a solution. A related issue was a lack of umbrellas for shade on the beach. We complained on Sunday and there were many more umbrellas on Monday.
While we were there they replaced our old TVs with new flat screens.
The only free wi-fi is in the lounge. It's a bit inconvenient but I refuse to pay $40 for what should be a free service.
More positives:The housekeeping staff was excellent and friendly.
We took the kitchen tour led by Isaia. We were the only Anglos on the tour and he made us feel welcome and translated for us. The scope of the kitchen operation makes you appreciate what it takes to run a resort like this. They even grow their own herbs!
One of the reasons we bought at VDP Flamingos is the proximity to Buscerias. The restaurants in Bucerias are fabulous and I recommend that you leave your resort a few times at least and check them out. It's a half hour walk or an 85 peso ($6.50) cab ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Such a perfect place to stay, you can do as much or as little as you want. Plenty of activities in the resort for those that want it, such as aqua aerobics volley ball, we had a paella cooking class, and the resort even brought a sea lion, to the pool for us all to see.
The staff are friendly and helpful, always smiling and having a joke with you.
The rooms and grounds are spotless and maintained to a very high standard.
Food choice was good, the setting for the restaurants overlooking the sea are idyllic, and plenty of choice too in the hotel deli for more casual dining.
It is an hours walk to bucerias (gentle walk) on the beach to fabulous sea food restaurants and a good mexican market. And an hour in the oppposite direction to a little bar we liked on the beach called etc beach club, where you can have a cold beer and snack until 7pm.
Puerto Vallarta is also well worth a visit along the Malecon, and romantic zone, very nice! It is a 30 mins taxi ride or you can take the bus if you want to save a bit of money.
Overall we had a fantastic time and plan to go back very soon....it is well worth the long flights to get there from the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a fantastic week at this resort. Spotless room, had a deluxe studio, great atmosphere, easy to relax, the best service by all staff and food was very good.
This is a time share property, but do not let that deter you from booking a stay here. With the option of purchasing the meal package, which we did, you can have a very relaxing and stress free stay. The concierge will greet you and want to sit down with you as they go thru your welcome package, it is filled with info and discounts. We prepaid thru UVC prior to arrival so we had no need for any of this and declined the time share presentation. Check in was efficient and fast, they offered us choices of view and floor we wanted to stay on, we chose the top floor, 8th, in building 3. This is on the North side of property and does not get direct sun in the afternoon, nice! Eduardo, bell boy, then loaded up our suitcases and took us to our room. He was very polite and made sure we were satisfied with our room.
The pool area is very large and has lots of chairs, they do monitor the one hour limit on reserving chairs, so be careful here. During our stay people would go out in early morning and reserve chairs and by 10 am all were reserved, yet no people were in most. This led to next day management removing the towels off vacant chairs, this cleaned up the early reserving, but i doubt it will last.
Service at the pool is a 10! Augustine, Alex and Victor made sure we had cool drinks and fast service. There is a defiant atmosphere there fellows worked as a team and we were well looked after, great job fellows. There is just enough pool activities offered during the day by the staff, Jonathan, Carla and two others keep things going. Music was good and not blaring.
Food selection at the pool was vast, they change the menu choices each day, so lots of variety. You can get salads, burgers, chicken skewers, ice cream and endless guacamole. The large indoor restaurant had a breakfast buffet with lots of choices. Fatima, the hostess, greeted us each morning with a beautiful smile and pleasant personality, she is a keeper. In the evening this location was the dining area, but the menu is all mexican dishes and does not change day to day. This we found a bit limiting, so we only ate here twice. The food is excellent, it is well prepared, presentation is eye appealing and flavorful, the service was top notch.
We used the gym each day and Pedro, was very helpful. The gym has lots of equipment, free weights, ellipticals, bikes, treadmills and stretching area. It is very clean and well maintained.
The lack of tennis was a disappointed, even though the adjoining property to the north, same owners, had a tennis court, we could not get access.
Check out was easy, do the express, it saves time. The Hospitality Suite was made available for our use as we had a late day flight but had to check out at 11. Eduardo, stored our luggage and provided fresh towels for shower use in the Hospitality Suite. This room is very comfortable and was a nice feature to allow us to enjoy our last day at the pool and have a clean and safe place to shower, change and wait for our taxi ride to airport.
This property will not disappoint, it is well run, service is outstanding and staff defiantly give you a
welcome feeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
325CristianC, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Flamingos, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear 2Travelersweare:

We highly appreciate you sharing your positive comments about your recent stay at Villa del Palmar Flamingos. This review has been shared with all our staff and specially with our Bellmen staff and they were very pleased to hear back from you.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We are UVC members and the first time to visit this resort. The rooms are immaculate, clean, and very comfortable. We had a one bedroom full kitchen, and washer/dryer. We had a great view of the pools with the ocean in the background. All staff members were warm and friendly always making sure our needs were being met. We have have been blessed to be able to travel to many places staying at many wonderful resorts. This resort ranks up there with the best. We give it five stars. Reading some of the comments, if you dislike being asked to attend the time share presentation, make it known upfront that you are not interested or don't book a vacation at a resort that is a time share. There are plenty of resorts that are just hotels. As far as we are concerned, we had a great vacation that exceeded our expectations. Thumbs up to the entire staff at the Villa Del Parmar. We will be back for another wonderful vacation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
325CristianC, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Flamingos, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Diane D:

On behalf of the entire Staff, we thank you for your kind comments.
Your positive feedback encourages us even more to improve our service beyond your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would give Flamingos 4.5 starts, but since there are no half stars, I will give it the benefit of the doubt and round up to 5 because we had such a nice time. I’ll do my best to summarize and keep it brief but also cover topics others have discussed or remarked about.

We stayed 5 days/4 nights with an all-inclusive package. Keep in mind that, according to them, only 5-10% of the visitors there are not time-share owners. And make no mistake about it, they are proud of their property and do their best to sell their property. This means that you will see time-share salespeople leading couples around every morning. It’s a 1.5 hour presentation/tour/breakfast they give you and requires both you and your spouse to attend. We were heavily encouraged to sign up for a time upon checking in and required to give a $20 deposit that was refundable once attending the presentation. We signed up and did not attend because we wanted to spend time at the beach with our young son. They never contacted us again about the presentation and we conceded our $20. It’s not the first thing you want to deal with on vacation, and it was the low point of our stay, but everything else was very enjoyable. One upside to have tours given every day is that the grounds are immaculate as they are always selling it.

You are required to wear bracelets if you are on the all-inclusive package. Not a big deal to us. Others, it is.

Getting there: we booked a VIP ride with Puerto Vallarta Tours. They gave us excellent directions and were greeted with someone holding a sign with my name on it. We were promptly given a drink and driven to a supermarket where we procured groceries for our stay. After getting the gringo victimization on the way back to the airport, I appreciate paying upfront with a reputable company like Puerto Vallarta Tours. Unfortunately, I do not believe companies in the are allowed to book roundtrip transfers.

Rooms: We booked a 2 bedroom suite that really does sleep 8. They were adjoining rooms… full kitchen, washer/dryer, dishwasher… large balconies with ocean view.. well appointed… spacious. We were really happy with the rooms. It was a lifesaver to have a full kitchen with our son.

Pool: Great for kids and adults alike. There are shallow areas for kids and deeper areas for adults. The bottom is a sandy colored surface so the pool does not have the sparkling blue that you might be used to, but it’s still a very nice pool. Someone mentioned that the pool was too warm. It felt like any other pool in the tropics and definitely wasn’t too warm in my opinion. There is a large hot tub near the beach that is great for watching sunsets. It is kept at a warm temperature as you might expect, and as appealing as it was, I just wasn’t in the mood for warm water in the tropics…. But very nice place to dip in if you happen to get chilled. Chairs were definitely at a premium as most chose to sit next to the pool instead of on the beach. The towel game was in effect and on at least one day there was an “enforcer” that was gathering towels off chairs of those that were not actively using them. Since we were up early with the kiddo, we didn’t encounter any issues. Later in the afternoon it fills up quickly.

Beach: Beach sand is well kept and swept every morning. Chairs are plentiful and hardly anyone used the beach chairs. The sand is a salt/pepper mix and the water is murky. Once in the water you’ll find stones and pebbles in the sand and it can be a bit tough on the feet. It’s not the most swimmable beach but plenty of people enjoyed the calm waters out past the breaking waves. Kayaks were available for rent at no charge. Parasailers also set up camp there everyday for those that wanted to partake.

Food: We really enjoyed the food. Plenty of options at the buffet and a nice menu selection at the restaurants. We also took advantage of the “snacks” poolside… and that was more or less a full on menu. We were very pleased with the food.

Staff: The service and staff were excellent. There were many, many staff members that were friendly and helpful. I worry about anyone that consistently has bad service here. Maybe it’s not the staff, but something else…? We never really had to wait very long for food or drinks and they were always willing to most anything to make your stay enjoyable. We are tippers, and we’re all coin operated, so think about tipping those that go above and beyond. Special thanks to Jorge.

Drinks: some have mentioned that they are too weak. Perhaps they are. If you think that, just order a double or ask them to make it strong…. Or walk up to the bar and watch them make it. It can be corrected if you are really concerned. My trip was about relaxing and not getting drunk so it wasn’t an issue for me.

Gym: the gym is fantastic. Very clean, very spacious and everything you could want in a gym and it wasn’t very busy in there.

Bucerias: we walked down to Bucerias for dinner one evening. The walk is about 30 minutes and can be very dark on the beach after dinner. We ate at Karen’s Place, one of the first nice restaurants you encounter on your walk in. Karen greeted us at the table… was fun to hear the British accent in Mexico. The meal was great and the setting was beautiful. We asked for a cab ride home and it was waiting for us when we finished and it was an $8usd ride home.

Summary: we had a great time at a great resort and thought it was a very good value for what we spent.

Pictures coming soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
325CristianC, Gerente at Villa del Palmar Flamingos, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Chadblessing:

Thank you very much for all your kind and positive comments. We will certainly pass them on to all mentioned departments, including our Sales activity Department. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Flamingos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Flamingos

Address: Circuito Paseo Costero Y Playa Lote | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 92108, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Palmar Flamingos 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Flamingos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Flamingos
Del Palmar Flamingos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Flamingos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.