We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented a private oceanfront 2 bedroom condo. We loved the space and the location. The pool, beach and kids club were great! The Bel Air staff is phenomenal, especially Jessica who runs a wonderful kids club and Trini, our favorite Bell Boy. Cesar and other wait staff were kind and professional. Bucerias is 20-25 min walk down the beach or 85 pesos by taxi. The Mega is 15-20 min walk or 60 pesos. The local bus was also easily accessible. We loved this property and hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: wifi was not very reliable. Choose an ocean front room!! Even the ocean view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    214
    121
    65
    51
See reviews for
316
331
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had read trip advisor before the trip so my expectations were not that high before getting there.

Positives:

Location, location location!. Amazingly close to the beach and cheap to get into town (under US$25). It is right on the beach and it is positioned in a great place.

The pool is a good size and "infinity pool" effect looks amazing and feel like you're in the ocean. The bar being connected to the pool makes life much better.

Value for money. Compared to the hotels around it is cheaper. You get what you pay for and I didn't have high expectations so was not disappointed overall.

Room - always clean. Small but has what you need.

Other than 1 issue the service wasn't bad.

Negatives:
Our a.c. broke down on day 4 of 6 but it did take them a long time to set us up another room (we informed them of the issue at about 3pm, they told us it was an issue at 6pm (we were out at this point so had no issues). When we went back to the hotel at 9:30pm they told us someone would follow to move our bags over and be there with a key. He never arrived, I had to go to the reception an hour later (while our room was boiling) to get a key for another room. No apology was offered for the delay here.

Choice of food - There were no local food options. All the food seemed to cater American tastes. If I wanted to eat Italian, Mexico would not be where I was going. Please add more local cuisine options!!! (Although the options were low, the quality of the food was good). Only ate there on our first night and a night we were really tired.

Wi-fi - You cannot access this unless you are by the reception. I was aware of this before I got there so not too much of a downer.

Bath water- We were in 2 rooms and both times once we let the tub fill half way you could see the water was yellow. Luckily it was too hot for a bath so just showered.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Varun:

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the time invested on writing it.

And for sharing your opinions with other travelers.

Be sure that we will share it with all our staff, and work even harder to attend all points mentioned , as we always do.
For example the internet connection, we are glad to say that we are already improving the service and the speed so it will work even better. We are planning to finish very soon.

I am glad you liked our food. Our Dolce Mexico Restaurant, actually its a fusion of Mexican-Italian food, I hope on your next visit you get the chance to try a few more of the options our chefs cook especially for our guests.

Location is great. Also very close to Bucerías town , only 10 min. away by taxi. And with lots of choices for dinner, all type of cuisines.

Your experience will be very important for future guests, so we thank you again and hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards

Angel Zavala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went from Mexico City, to a wedding close to Nuevo Vallarta, we were looking for a nice hotel, good service and romantic, we decided not stay at the wedding hotel, to enjoy ourselves, it was a terrible decision, we will neve go again to this hotel,has a terrible mantinence, service and very old. There are much better hotels close by, don't make a mistake with thus hotel

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Estimo viajero:

Gracias por su opinion .

En verdad nos gustaría que nos contactara para poder localizar el record de su reservación, y platicar a detalle de cualquier inconveniente que haya podido tener...

Incluso saber porque medio hizo su reservación, cuales fueron los servicios contratados...etc..

Espero que podamos seguir en contacto.

Quedadndo a sus ordenes.

Angel Zavala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

After a long and exhausting flight, we arrived to be embraced by an exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff. Check in was a bit delayed due to, well, technical difficulties but the implacably upbeat and assuring Pancho at the front desk took great care to make sure we were comfortable. The truly remarkable Trini quickly became our favorite and not just because he kept our champagne cocktail glasses full during the long check-in process, but more because his gracious friendliness and keen attention to our needs. Just a lovely man and in our estimation, a key asset to the staff. So much so, we may have gotten a bit misty-eyed on our goodbyes to him after our week stay had ended.

The room was spacious, clean and quite comfortable. Maribel took great care in maintaining it during our stay and we were quite amused by her attentiveness and creative in making the bed, hanging the towels in a different fashion after every cleaning in the most slyly artful ways. The pool was LOVELY! Watching the seamless transition of the infinity pool meld into the beach line was gorgeous. The service at poolside was fantastic both at the bar, the towel station and all around.

Tea Time from 5-6pm became our favorite respite. And we kicked ourselves for not enjoying the Sunset Champagne event every evening. Apparently hardly anyone did as we were the only ones to enjoy it on what was the most beautiful day of our stay.

The grounds of the property are beautifully maintained and very clean. The gym and spa area was fantastic!

With the exception of the bar food/beverage and the coffee (I marveled at the coffee!), the cuisine was very mediocre. We ended up only eating on the resort twice and was very underwhelmed. How can a Mexican staple of chilaquiles be poorly executed?

We found the neighboring Bucerias, just a 20-30 minute walk north up the beach, to be fertile with great dining (Go to Encore: Great food, great service, relaxing environment and also Rosa Mexicano: amazing food, tremendous service!). Also, Panchos Taco on Valle De Mexico about 8 minutes south on highway 200 is a must go!!!

If you desire to be close to the nightlife and activity of downtown Puerto Vallarta, be forewarned that Bel Aire is about a 40 minute drive.

The Wif-Fi can be a bit mercurial and unreliable.

The staff, again, I cannot laud appropriately enough. They were fantastic. Especially Trini.

Bel Aire is a truly lovely place to stay. However it is not a good place to dine.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Joel:
Thank you very much for your comments. We deeply appreciate the time invested on writing and sharing your experience with other travelers.

Be sure that your review will be shared with our staff. It will be glad for them to see the effort is recognized by our guests.

We will have special care in the quality of our restaurants, because they have many choices to offer. But still, for the customers who want to try something different there is Bucerias town indeed. Very secure , warm and unique people , and many choices for dinner and gifts.

We are already improving our internet connection. I am sure that you will notice immediately on your next visit.

For us will be a pleasure to see you and your family soon.

Best Regards

Angel Zavala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We booked a 2 bedroom condo directly through the owners on airbnb for 9 nights. There were 5 of us (4 adults and 1 teenager). We arrived late in the evening our first night and from the minute our taxi pulled up we had some greet us and take all of our luggage for us. Check in was easy and the staff behind the desk were very welcoming. Although we did not book with the resort they still gave us a welcome cocktail which was refreshing after such a long day. The condo itself was a decent size. It was 2 units that were adjoined. 2 large king Bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a full kitchen as well as a kitchenette and a living room with a pull out bed and 3 separate balconies with AMAZING views.

The condo could have been a little cleaner. We also didn't have proper bedding for the sofa bed and had to ask a couple of times before we got it and we were not left any dish cloths or garbage bags which would have been nice to have. But honestly, these were not huge issues to us.

The infinity pool is beautiful but the chairs go fast. People were up at the crack of dawn reserving chairs well before the pool even opened. It was a little annoying considering these chairs would remain empty most of the day with only a towel or book taking them up but again, get up early and it won't be an issue. I don't think there are any rules against reserving but even when we stayed at the Westin in PV they did have that rule and it still didn't stop people.

The grounds are so beautiful and very well taken care of. The staff were also very friendly and go above an beyond to take care of you.

There are a few restaurants. However, we only went to the Palm Terrace and the Pool Bar. We ate at the Palm Terrace almost every morning for breakfast. They offer a buffet breakfast which we had our first morning. It was not that great especially for the price but there are plenty of better options on the menu to choose from. Something for everyone! And if you don't see something just ask, chances are they will make it for you. They were so great in taking care of you.

The gym was awesome! It's located just above the spa. I used it many times. It was quiet and seemed to be kept pretty clean. They had a weight area, treadmills, bikes and then a yoga area (that room smelled like a sweaty gym bag). The entire gym basically has panoramic views of the resort so it was nice.

My husband and I went for a couple's massage. The price was quite reasonable. It was so serene and relaxing. I highly recommend!

Oh and there is a convenience store on the property which was so great as we had initially intended to go grocery shopping and cook most of our meals but we were just so busy enjoying our time out that we didn't get a chance. It was great to have a store on site to pick up bottled water or some cervezas.

Although, we spent most of our time off the resort we still enjoyed the time we had on it. There were a few minor things here and there but honestly that happens any where. Everyone was absolutely fantastic there, especially Angel at the Palm's Terrace. Super funny guy! We will definitely choose Bel Air for our next trip to PV. Absolutely loved it there!

Tip: They have coin operated laundry facilities on the property. I found this out after I paid for the laundry service.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, May 28, 2015
Dear miss. Melanie:

Thank you for choosing our resort as your Holiday destination. We really appreciate the time invested on writing your review.
For sharing your great experience with other travelers and of course we´ll be more than glad to have you back.
Also of course, we will work hard to attend those little details you mentioned, which are very important for us.

Be sure we will share your opinion with our staff, I´m sure they will remember you and will put a happy smile on their faces.

Please contact us before your next visit, we will make sure it will be better every year.

Best Regards

Anwar Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Where do I start, plates in dinning room where chipped, flatware was made of tin and would bend, The food was cold and mediocre at best, if you had towels they were stained, frayed and worn out, Had to wait until towels were washed and dried before receiving the stained, frayed towels at the pool, Pool water was so cloudy you couldn't see your feet or the dead crabs you were stepping on in the water, Got stuck in between floors in a hot elevator, They have weddings on the weekend with bands that play until 11 pm. An example of a band would be bass and snare drums with cymbals, trumpets, trombones, couple of clarinets and yes folks even a TUBA. The band was under our balcony. The weddings are on Friday and Saturday nights during our stay. The AC didn't work in our room, told it would be fixed and it wasn't finally got our room moved, AC worked somewhat better, could still hear the bands, and we had no towels. Tiles were missing in the pool area and other places, Generally poor maintenance throughout. The bath tubs were so slick it was extremely dangerous. Requested a rubber mat for tub and received cloth floor mats. Was told that the tubs were skid free. I fell in the tub and hurt my ankle. Still no rubber mats. Staff did bring me ice for my ankle. AC was turned off each night around 3 am and turned back on around 6 am. The room was so hot that we woke up around 3:30 and could not go back to sleep until the AC came back on and cooled the room. I was promised a 2 bedroom, 2 bath and received a 1 bedroom, 1 bath. If I was an owner at this resort I would question how the maintenance monies are spent. Was promised wifi or internet access and was told each day they had someone working on it. Was there for a week and it was never fixed. The positive was that the staff was friendly and tried. Would I return......??????NEVER!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The Good: The pool and grounds are beautiful. It is right on the beach and the views are spectacular.
The beds are super comfortable and the bathrooms have a tub (which is important to me). It is a nice walk up the beach to Bucerias for dining and shopping. The kitchenette was very handy as we prepared our own breakfast and lunches. It is a short $5.00 cab ride to the Mega Store where you can stock up on water and whatever groceries you may want/need. The Mega Store also sells liquor so if you want to get some wine/beer/rum etc., it’s easily available. Their bakery has amazing churros!

The Bad: When we arrived the first two rooms we were shown were so musty that I could not stay in them. They said they would upgrade us, which was nice but our priority was a room without the odor, our next room had great air circulation and no musty odor. For people with allergies, the musty odor can be overwhelming. We had supper at the resort that night and the meal was expensive and terrible. My daughters’ steak was tough and almost impossible to cut, my chicken was dry and barely warm when I got it. We talked to other guests and they also complained about the food. It didn’t look anything like the presentations on the web sites! We found the Mega Store and ate breakfast and lunch in our room and took a taxi or walked to Bucerias for supper. We found an amazing restaurant called Adauto’s. Even with the taxi fare it was cheaper than eating at the resort and the food was amazing!!
If you enjoy your drinks and beer - your tab could get very expensive very fast. Again, I bought some rum at the Mega Store and mixed my own before coming down to the pool. We did have a few drinks at the swim up bar but for the price - I’d rather make my own.
The web site says they provide purified water - it is in the refrigerator in your room. But you have to pay for it.
After reading the reviews and comments prior to going, I felt confident the Wi-Fi would be dependable as they were going to put in a new system. We got no Wi-Fi in our room - spotty on the balcony and it went down completely the last 3-4 days. When we called to check on it we were always told the next day it would be fixed. My daughter depended on the Wi-Fi to keep in contact with her little girls and to say the least we were disappointed. We did however have a very strong signal from the resort a block away.
Overall the resort is very beautiful; however the rooms could use a facelift and upgrading. The food we had at the restaurant was overpriced and poorly prepared.
They have a table where they put out coffee in the morning, iced tea in the afternoon and champagne at night (although we never made it down for that). This was a nice treat for us. However, one afternoon I saw the table being set up with coffee so I went up to pour myself a cup when a waiter from the restaurant came running out and said that it wasn’t for me - it was for people taking photographs (not sure what he meant by that). I had already poured my coffee, there was nothing anywhere saying the coffee was not for the guests, and he had me keep my coffee on the table and leave. Seriously??
This was my 8th trip to Puerto Vallarta and I doubt very much if I will ever return to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, May 21, 2015
Dear Traveler:

Thank you very much for the invested time to write your comments.
we really appreciate that you shared some of the benefits that surround the hotel and the proximity to the town of Bucerias and the department store, as well as they can cook inside the room
We will work even harder to exceed the expectations of our customers in our resturants.
And so people can fully meet all gastronomic experiences we have. From an International menu, a menu of Mexican-Italian specialties , and Sushi & Martini.
Of course we will continue working hard in the maintenence and improvements for our rooms.

We really hope that your ninth visit to Puerto Vallarta will be with us. Just name it , and we will cook it for you.

Thank you again.

Best Regards

Anwar Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
#16 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerías, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.