We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay “Beautiful location and staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay “Beautiful location and staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been going to this resort (it was the Playa del Sol Grand) for over 15 years (not every year) and have always enjoyed the sense of family and comfort the staff provide, with even new staff joining the comraderie. We have also stayed in quite a few other Vallarta resorts, including the massive Riu property next door, and have a very good basis to compare experiences. Recently the Playa property was bought by the Bel Air group and we wondered what would happen. We need not have worried because the same warm atmosphere prevailed and the staff was even more welcoming and helpful in every aspect of our vacation. Whether we needed food, drink, information or entertainment, the staff was cheerfully on the case. On front desk, Pancho is fabulous and has worked there so long - we might rename the place in his honour. Danny kept the pool and general entertainment lively. Elizabeth and Caroline a Gabriela shone as customer service reps, and all waiters were attentive even when you took your own food to the beach (less likely to order). No one went "looking for tips" and some, including the Bellmen, even refused the cash stating "I am doing this to make your stay more comfortable". To be clear, most workers in Mexico do not earn much regardless of the industry - so if you don't offer small tips daily, a parting offer for great service, will be appreciated. The rooms are comfortable, if not flashy. We appreciated to oven in the main part of our unit as we prefer to shop locally and cook for ourselves, and the maid service was very good. The property itself is beautiful and well maintained, with few minor exceptions - ie game court behind the "corner store" near the entrance, and a few "unraked" spots on the beach. The beach has beautiful sand which continues well into the water, unlike the stones, pebbles and rocks common on other parts of the bay, and the water warm in season. The infinity pool is the gem of the resort with a wide front overlooking the ocean and a swim-up bar and grill with great offerings. We were there when much of the tourist and local excitement had died down and, therefore,didn't have problems with deck chairs or dirty pools, but I hope the renovations and changes being started will address those concerns. The one power failure came during a large storm, which did take power from most resorts on the bay (one or two must own back-up generators - seriously expensive) and it was back in less than 1 hour. Our biggest praise, however, must be reserved for the incredible support offered by everyone WHEN WE WERE NO LONGER STAYING WITH THEM , but had shifted to the Riu for an all-inclusive finish to our holidays. One of our party had her passport disappear (in town we think - you need it to change money - so the hotel provided safe was not an option that day). While the fancy hotel was good when there was no problem, they went into denial mode when trouble hit - not writing the police-required form until the third request, and not even passing on a message from the Consulate. By contrast, Bel Air staff bent over backwards to help, especially important when we had to leave her behind owing to job and school obligations. MUCHAS, MUCHAS GRACIAS.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, not all rooms have a great view, but unless that is a concern, all rooms are com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    151
    87
    41
    34
See reviews for
231
241
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed with my family at Bel Air for a week with my family of 6. The arrangement of the rooms for two families is very efficient with three bathrooms. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and inviting to stay day and night. The whole place is maintained clean all the time and well serviced.
The size of the whole area is so manageable from room to pool to beach, the vegetation and garden give an idea of an oasis and the infinity pool looking towards the ocean gives an illusion of continuation to the sea, gorgeous! The showers are very well located and have privacy.
The Gen. Manager, Mr. Carlos Dominguez and Staff of Bel Air went out of their way to help me when I had to stay in the hotel extra days because of an unfortunate inconvenience I experienced at Riu Pacific Hotel, next door.
My thanks to Mr. Carlos Dominguez, the General Manager, to Elizabeth Acosta, to Priscilla Organista Agosto, and others who helped me efficiently and courteously when I most needed. Even the jewerly seller who is allowed to sell in front of the hotel beach, Don Marvel Valentin Morales gave me help and comfort when I had to stay by myself at Bel Air. Thanks to Daniel, too, with his program of water and yoga excercises. I love my memories on this resort and love the ocean!

Room Tip: The higher rooms provide a wonderful look to the ocean and especially to the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third vacation at this property, previously Playa del Sol Grande. The staff provides excellent and very professional service. Special mention for Brando and Eduardo (bellhops) and Daniel (activities), as well as everyone at the concierge desk. The infinity pool is awesome, and we always travel during off-season to avoid the crowds. We rode the local bus into Old Town almost every day to visit the typical tourist spots, then escaped at night back to the quiet, peaceful sanctuary at Bel Air. Only complaint would be the limited menu at their restaurant. We prefer authentic Mexican dishes, but current "fusion"menu was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two weeks in August. It was so hot, I truly thought I would pass out before we checked in. I think the only thing that saved me was the mimosa we received as we waited.
Because it was August we shared the resort with very few Tourists. From what I understand the schools were about to start again and the resort had deals for the locals.
The rooms were amazing. We were there using a family members timeshare. We had two bedrooms and a common area. The rooms were very clean and the 3 bathrooms were perfect.
Without exception every single employee we had an interaction with was friendly and spoke at least some English.
We wanted to make use of the Spa services but they seemed expensive and decided to nix the idea until the second to the last day. We received a flyer about specials at the spa. Our daughter had a massage and her toes & nails painted for about $40. She said it was the best money we spent all week.
Due to the heat we spent most of our time around the pool. We enjoyed the music and the games, it was a party atmosphere. The swim up bar was wonderful! We spent most days in the pool, at the bar and on the deck chairs. You really do have to get out there early to put your towel on a chair or you are out of luck. My husband was out there every day before 8am and always got the last few chairs available. Daniel was great as the water aerobics instructor and kept us laughing. You can order food and have it delivered to you by the pool. The service can be slow and because we did not go AI we waited for our bill but since we were on vacation it was no big deal. We had the dinner buffet once and the breakfast buffet once. The dinner was about $70USD for 3 of us but it was not worth it. The breakfast was about $14USD per person and it was much better.
Because I read a lot on this site I knew I would need to sign for everything, which was fine. Each night I kept a tally of what we signed for and when we checked out the final bill was just a few dollars off. We tipped the bell boys and maids in pesos. I think the only thing that could have made this resort better was a coffee pot in our kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The infinity pool within the resort created a wonderful illusion looking out towards the sea, which at times was tranquil but could be extremely rough and great for surfing. Particular thanks to Daniel for the excellent poolside and hotel entertainment..."oh si, oh yeah grrrr!"
Overall Mexican people are very friendly and couldn't have done anymore to please us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed here for a few times and it is pretty good. The food is ok and the service can be slow, but a few of the employees make up for the deficiencies. The rooms are clean, and views are hit and miss depending on your luck. Pools are pretty good, sometimes a little dirty. The beach is great - lots of room and walking distance to Bucerias (a great little city full of Canadians).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked our week through Interval because it was going to expire by the end of the year and this was the only time we could use it. We usually stay at the Maui Marriott. We did not expect this to be the same experience. Some parts were better and some were shockingly worse. I read before we went that the food service was not that good. Our experience was that it was really the only thing that was good. The buffet was hit or miss but the ala carte items on the menu were excellent! Eduardo and Carlos in the restaurant were great!
Interval only allowed us to book two months prior to our stay so the room we got was only a studio. This was no problem. It was, however, a little annoying that the only view we could see from our balcony was a huge palm tree. We asked for a room change but there was nothing available. This wasn't a big deal. The big deal came on the day of checkout when our electricity went out at 6:15 in the morning and was still not back on when we checked out closer to noon. I spoke with the same guy at the front desk twice and a maintenance man once about this. The front desk guy said the whole building lost power and they were working on it. The second time I spoke with him he acted like he wasn't aware there was an issue. I know the whole building didn't lose power because the restaurant was in that building and food service carried on.
The infinity pool and the swim up bar are pretty nice. The pool is cloudy, though, and jam packed with people. The place was filled with families. The hotel has no chair usage rules whatsoever. People reserve rows of chairs at 7 AM for their entire family and most of the chairs are not sat in all day long. This can become really lame when you have to lay your towels out on the pool deck because there are zero available chairs. They also often run out of towels. The good part about the pool is the bar and the grill. They make pretty good drinks and pretty good food. Vicente was our man for the week. He was fabulous! Christian was also very good! Tip them right and they will bend over backward for you. One other complaint about the pool: there was a buildup of filth near one of the filters that just kept floating. They said it was sunscreen and what not but it looked like a kid puked or someone spilled a blended drink. People, including myself, were asking staff about it and they just acted like it was no big deal. It must have floated there for 6 hours when all it would have taken was a swipe or two with a skimmer and it would have been gone.
The behavior of the kids at this hotel was a little appalling. Parents let them run crazy even in the restaurant. I saw several instances where they almost tripped waiters or flat out pushed them out of the way. I get the impression the winter months are when there are more couples there and the summer months are when the families are there. We chatted with the new GM and he said they were trying to change the place to bring in a different crowd, the kind that does not bring ski boat tubes and rubber boats to a resort swimming pool.
Unless we hear things have changed dramatically we will not be returning. There are much better options even in the Nuevo Vallarta area.

Room Tip: If you must go here book as far in advance as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta is a recently opened resort in the dazzling beach of Playa Flamingos of Nuevo Vallarta, as part of the exclusively HIP Collection, Highly Individualized Properties in design and services of Bel Air Collection Resorts & Spas. With the details to make your stay a memorable one, Bel Air Delights. The signature amenities that make us so different, Bel Air Hallmarks. An the services and life experience that make up your holiday, Bel Air Experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.