We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed staying in this non high-rise, seaside hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed staying in this non high-rise, seaside hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

When we weren't on the beach or in the pool, we spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony overlooking the beach and pool, and the abundant palm trees. We made use of the kitchenette and ate all our breakfasts and most lunches sitting on the balcony. Even though the weather was hot, there was always a nice breeze at this hotel--coming in off the water. They also have air-conditioning to use, as needed.

The housekeeping staff was very good.

I can't give it a five star rating, because the rooms themselves are showing wear and tear. We had to call maintenance to open the sliding doors. The utensils in the kitchen were old. They replaced a non-working coffee maker for us. I didn't bother to call them back to replace the non-working toaster.

Still, I would be tempted to come back again, because we liked the general ambiance of this hotel--the combination of its small, non-bombastic size, its palapa covered beach, the pool, and the fact that there were a lot of Mexican guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    214
    121
    63
    51
See reviews for
315
330
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Took a chance on booking somewhere new, for a getaway to recover from a brutal winter, in more ways than one. We were looking for a small establishment, with a personal touch. Not a fan of the large all inclusive. This was an Interval International Booking.
We were met right away by Trinadad! Such a lovely man, who never forgets your name. The lobby is inviting, as are the staff. My hope was for an ocean view and we were not disappointed. The one bedroom suit, drops three steps down, into a kitchen/living room with a large wrap around deck. The view, breathtaking.
It was at this point, my husband opened his suitcase to discover someone else's things. Tony, the resort manager, was there to save the day and drove my husband back to the airport. This is the kind of service we received through out the week.
The staff at Shipwreck Island snack bar were always attentive. Vincent is extremely hard working. Always serving, and cleaning. The pool staff, the same, even despite the odd rude costumer.
Can't say enough about the service in the restaurant. Our waiter, Gama, was always there to see to our needs, and make sure we are happy. We tried several things on the menu, and found it quite diverse.
Our room was always cleaned beautifully with special touches.The bed was very comfortable, which is very important to me. A maid always delivered goodies to our room at tea time. This was all despite the fact, that we didn't tip her until the end of the week.
We are now here for our second week and looking forward to more of the same.
Thank you, Bel Air Nuevo Vallarta!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Booked this through groupon. Asked for an ocean view room, but ended up getting an upgraded room with a garden view so i couldn't complain. There aren't very many strictly ocean view rooms to begin with. The check in process was nice, as we were greeted with mimosa's and friendly staff. The all inclusive food was pretty bland, and the alcoholic drinks were weak, but these are both expected at most all inclusives. They will try to get you to go to a seminar type thing where you can get some freebies, but in reality it is trying to get you to buy a timeshare. So anytime they ask you just ask where it is and say you will be there, but don't show up. Unless of course you want a timeshare. They usually have pool and beach activities everyday which are fun. The beach volleyball rocks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

First of... I own a vacation membership, so I get to visit the bel air hotels a lot... That being said, this property gets better every year... Besides getting to see the same faces every year, which makes the place like your house, the service is a bit better every time...

If only, I had a burger for room service and it was burned... Not tasty at all... Other than that... The service is fast and the food very good...

What can I say... Already planning to go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is our 5th visit to this resort, 2nd since it changed over from Playa del Sol to BelAir. Since changing over to new management (owners), this has become an amazing, stress-free, utterly AWESOME place to spend our vacation. This time it was my husband & I plus our 2 kids, their spouses and their kids. All of us are already looking forward to our next visit!!!!
Our kids shared a 2 bdrm unit ( actually a one bdrm and a studio with a connecting door ) So for 4 adults & 2 kids, there were 3 bathrooms, a bedroom with a king sized bed, a bedroom with 2 double beds, a full kitchen, a kitchenette, living room, dining area, a large deck with priceless ocean view plus 2 tiny decks... Bldg 2, top floor.
My husband & I stayed in an oceanfront room in Bldg 7, top floor, with step up bedroom, king bed, small-ish kitchen (no oven), living room, dining area, and deck overlooking the water that included a small hot tub.
Both accommodations were clean, had super comfy beds & pillows, beautiful marble bathrooms, included basic kitchenware, blow dryers, irons & a safe.
Our maid Silvia kept the room my husband & I stayed in looking like it was our Honeymoon, with everything spotless, amazing towel art, and fresh flowers sprinkled throughout.
The grounds are kept spotless, maintained and beautiful. Love the turtles!
Although we cooked several of our own meals ( thanks to the Mega Store being so close ~ just a 60 pesos, 5 min cab ride away ), we had a very good dinner and Sunday Brunch at the Palm Terrace, several snacks by the pool at Shipwreck Kellys, and our son & his family had an excellent sushi dinner at the Sushi/Martini place. (There is also an excellent breakfast buffet next door at the Villa Del Palmar Flamingos)
The pool is the centerpiece of the BelAir as far as our family is concerned. The infinity pool overlooks the beach & ocean, has an abundance of seating/lounging areas, and has a first class staff to organize activities & to keep the drinks in-hand at all times. Shout out to our favorite server, Christian who always made sure we had drinks & food ~ and Antonio who always seemed to have one of us involved in one of the many activities.... both always had a smile & a sense of humor.
There is a free Kids Club on the property for 4-11 year olds. Our 5 yr old grandson loved the arts & crafts, the turtle feeding and swim time lead by the amazing Jessica. This is such a nice, safe amenity to give vacationing parents a tiny break.
The spa at the BelAir must not be missed. Our whole family had massages during our stay that were just out of this world.
The staff at the BelAir is awesome.... from the minute you arrive, you are greeted with a drink & a smile. Shout out to our man Trinidad, a special bellman. Also to front desk folks, Erik, Jorge and Reeva.
If you are a timeshare owner, Carolina, in Member Services, is the most special, helpful person of them all. She always seems to be able to go that extra mile to make sure you have the best experience, and most wonderful vacation possible. No timeshare sharks here!!!
GOOD TO KNOW ~ Puerto Vallarta is about 30-45 mins away. The bus is super cheap to the Malecon. I recommend taking a taxi back to Nuevo though. Bucerias is just a 5-10 min cab ride to the north. Great little flea market and some awesome places to eat. Want to eat with your feet in the sand? Fat Boys or Claudio's Meson Bay!!! La Cruz is just north of Bucerias and has a fantastic restaurant with amazing bay view ~ Xocolatl Roberto's ( sounds like "shaw-koe-lot ) has to-die-for seafood. Roberto takes real good care of you. A fun 1/2 or full day outing is cabbing it about 40 mins north of BelAir to the little surfing/hippie village of Sayulita. Call Carlos Romero ~ He is the man to take you up there. I'm sure if you talk to Emilio (concierge) or one of the Bellmen at the BelAir, they can get in touch with Carlos for you. He's awesome!!!!
I will address a couple things previous reviewers complained about......
Uncomfortable sofabeds ~ yes, they are terrible, but I understand comfy new ones are on the way!!!!
Bugs ~ our kids kitchen had a few teeny tiny ones on the counter. We wiped it down a few times with Clorox wipes & it was fine. A little gecko got into our bathroom, but we left our deck door open. I guess he was curious :-) No biggie.
Drunks around the pool ~ Never once saw any unruly people.
Dirty pool ~ Looked beautiful to me. I saw it being cleaned every morning.
NO COMPLAINTS from me about this little GEM. BelAir is not a mega resort, and that's part of its charm. The staff gets to know you right away.... and you get to know them as well. I highly recommend this beautiful piece of Mexico. Unbelievable sunsets! Great for families!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Quite a disappointing experience. The food was poor and the rooms were filthy. The employees were friendly enough but what made the experience the worst was the calibre of local guests, stumbling around the pool area full of booze. If you don't mind drunk Mexicans and techno at the pool, sub standard food and an ordinary beach, then perhaps you'd be happy here but those issues were more than enough to prevent us from ever returning.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Overall, I think it was a great vacation choice! I’m the type of person that needs to do intense research everywhere I stay as I work in the hospitality industry. The reviews were on the fence, but for some reason I thought my boyfriend and I would take a chance this time and boy were we ever happy with it!

We got to our hotel in the morning before the usual check in time. It didn’t seem that busy at that time so we inquired if there were any possible upgraded rooms available from the regular standard room we originally booked. Luckily, the front desk agent/supervisor negotiated a great rate for us and we got to stay in a studio for not that much more a night. Totally worth it!! The resort had great décor, lovely landscaping, smaller in size than most resorts but gave it that extra charm having everything we wanted and more. The room was cleaned well every day. No bugs. However, we noticed the more tip you left, the better your room was cleaned, just an FYI!
The mornings and nights were cooler and there was much more wind during the day due to being so close to the Pacific Ocean, but it was quite refreshing! The infinity pool was beautiful with the swim up hut bar and overlooking the beach! Great for sunsets. The activities were fun, especially the beach volleyball. The grounds were very clean and constantly being cleaned as best as they could due to the many birds around. Overall, it was a well maintained property. Really enjoyed how we were able to walk straight onto the beach. The beach chairs could use some updating, but the little huts gave a nice tropical touch. The sand was really nice and soft. The only downside was the constant vendors on the beach trying to sell you things while we were trying to relax and tan but can’t do much about that. However, I would recommend taking advantage of the vendors that supply water activities on the beach (para-sailing, kayaking, etc).

The food was good. The casual “Shipwreck Kelly’s” had good food but menu became limited after a few days but great when you’re on the beach. The sushi restaurant wasn’t the greatest but you should try it at least once. Dining in the ‘Palm Terrace’ was great for all meals and theme nights. Service was great when it wasn’t very busy, but we noticed that once it got busier, the longer you had to wait for service and food (as if they couldn’t handle large crowds). As mentioned by previous resort guests, the constant check signing, the constant pressure to leave a tip even though it should be based on service, and the constant pressure to fill out a survey on the service at the end of our meal. It definitely put a damper on the service. However, we’d like to give out special thanks to our servers, Vince and Gama and the front desk supervisor Panacho (I think that’s how it’s spelt) for the exceptional service that they have provided to us! One of the reasons why we’ll be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
#16 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerías, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.