We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is really nice. Great design and layout and the room was very good as well. We got a free upgrade as for some reason the payment never went through. The hotel is situated in not such a great area as we preferred to be in Puerto Vallarta instead of Nuevo Vallarta. Also the beach and see are pretty painful to feet and body but that is common in the Vallarta area. Food in hotel was way too expensive and we preferred going to local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

We truly appreciate the time you took to send us your comments, we are glad that you found our resort beautiful, this is due to the fact that we have a great location, nice vegetation, and beautiful ocean, which you can see it from your room, relaxing in your terrace.
We apologize that you found our prices in restaurant expensive, we suggest that in your next visit you try our all gourmet meal plan, which include all a la carte food and beverages, or ask about our other meal packages,

Once again we thank you,

Kind regards
Roberto Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    197
    110
    54
    45
See reviews for
287
308
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pros
-Beautiful property with amazing views from the rooms.
-quick service, great service from really good and interesting people
-was not over crowded
-never long lines for anything
-We had an amazing room, after our first room had a broken A/C, leaky fridge and smelly couch.
-Our romantic dinner on the beach was Amazing!! Good food and an incredible view of the sunset.

Cons
-The beach was dirty after the storms and while the other resorts had people seemingly cleaning before the morning beach rush, the Bel Air didn't.
-The grounds crew mowed the lawn, by the pool, at 10am....ON A SATURDAY!!
-8AM at the pool, they had no towels. Like they didn't get washed the night before or something.
-The drinks were horrible and severely watered down. Lots of them were premade. And for a resort to have significantly less traffic than some of the larger places, you would think they could afford the time to actually make the drinks.
-The daytime entertainment music was provided via CD player, no biggie except 90% of her CD's were scratched so there was tons of skipping and when you are trying to dance this is a huge nuisance.
-It was all inclusive but you could only eat until 1030pm
-You had to sign for everything. They really should switch to a bracelet system, because waiting for the check sometimes was inconvenient and a waste of time.

We had a great time, and are so grateful for having had this opportunity. We felt as though we got our moneys worth, but I don't think I would recommend this hotel to a friend and I definitely would not stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor face the ocean is amazing. Look for Arturo in the Palm Terrace Restaurant, he was very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all, we appreciate your comment you provided to us, we are glad to know that you found your room and your stay beautiful and pleasant, and that you enjoyed good and rapid service, which is our primary goal,
We have a program that takes place and a specific time where we have our beach clean every morning, perhaps our hotel neighbors starting earlier,
Normally are crew starts the mowing the lawn at 9 am, only this time it was decided to start at 10 am, the reason is there was an early rain,
I would like to comment that the hours of towels service starts at 9 am,
On the other hand, all our dinks are premium quality, perhaps the thawing of ice due to the heat made it this taste,
Thank you so much, for the music comment, we have already improve and fixed the system player,
The lack of bracelet usage, Bel Air has no distinction among it’s guests, this is the reason we ask for the signature in every check because we trust the power of your signing
We hope that you change your mind and visit us again in the future, it will be an honor to assist you,

Kind Regards
Roberto Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bel Air Collection Resort from the 17th - 24th under the all-inclusive package. The hotel for one has absolutely jaw dropping views and the rooms are nice and cozy. Now, the hotel definitely caters more towards family vacation then it does younger adults, considering that the pool bar closes at 7pm and their Bar Nautico although open till 12pm, looks more like a banquet room then an actual bar. The activity's that they hold in the bar range from salsa lessons to poker nights and end around 10pm. This leaves little time for any actual dancing or partying to occur. Now my room in particular suffered from lack of AC, bad lighting, and leaking from the bathroom ceiling. Front desk was quick in responding to the AC, and Leaking but just completely forgot about the lighting and the leak that started the day after they had supposedly fixed it. FYI... Don't run the ac all day at this hotel ... your room will leak!
The hotel's staff were very accommodating however and I never felt pressured for tips or anything like previous reviewers described. They even offer a daycare service during the day to occupy the children with activities! That was cool.. Jessica is awesome. Water Polo, beach volleyball, and other games are ran through out the day to inspire mingling between the guests. I absolutely loved it and was very appreciative for it because I was able to meet so many new people. The Spa was down right amazing! Gorgeous location and extremely relaxing nothing bad to say here amazing job guys.
One thing I found that just did not make sense was the bathing suit rule. I understand it for the restaurant, but for the sushi area ... it makes 0 sense. Now the sushi restaurant is under construction right now and I am not sure when its due to open, but as of right now it is located directly in front of the Jacuzzi tubs. There are waiters just standing around "waiting" to take your order and if you try and do so you cannot because your not dressed properly. If you try and sit they will ask you to leave because your wet. If you get out of the tub it will wet the area anyway ... it didn't make sense because this area is outdoor right next to the beach. Bad Move Bel Air.
The other thing that is poorly done is the all-inclusive ... just give us wristbands. It took us; a party of 8 nearly two hours to eat every time we ordered using the menus. Having to sign for everything gets annoying as well because you often find yourself waiting an extraordinary amount of time waiting for the check. On the mornings and nights (mainly weekends) when they served the buffet we were in and out in 30 minutes flat, plus the food was much better... oddly enough. Also, please send your bartenders through some type of training, most of the drinks were flat out nasty (im talking basic drinks). Do you have some type of contract with corona and pacifico? Because more beer variety would be nice. Lastly, we are in Mexico so we would prefer Mexican food its odd that you travel so far to eat the same food I have here in Los Angeles. I was really gearing up for authentic Mexican Cuisine.
All in all we very much enjoyed the vacation! The hotel's beauty makes up for a lot of the minor details. Besides vacations are often memorable by the people you go with and experiences shared with them. Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely! Would I go back to this hotel? Probably not, but mainly because there are to many other places I want to visit in this world ....thanks guys!

Eric Siberio

Room Tip: Ask For Ocean View, anything else either faces adjacent hotel or empty hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all, I would like to appreciate, the time taken to type these comments, which is very important to us, as it allows us to improve,
In respect to the Sushi and Martini Bar, we are sorry for inconvenient, this was only temporarily, as of now the sushi bar is reopen in the new Palapa, with all it’s services and accommodation that our guests to serve,
On the other hand, I comment that at the beginning of July, we provided training sessions to all our waiters about the preparation of drinks and services. I am sure upon you return you will experience this improvement and will be satisfied.
This fall, we will be presenting our new menus in all our restaurants, with a huge gamma of meals, from streaks and seafood to oriental food and a special combination of Mexican-italian cuisine.

Once again, thank you for choosing Bel Air Vallarta for your vacations and also thanks for recommending us.

Kind regards
Roberto Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel facilities are nice, the room very good, but for an "all inclusive hotel" they have no idea what that concept means. The service was very poor, the snack-bar at the pool closes at 7 pm (the sun sets around 8:30) and tehn you need to go to the main restaurant for food or drink, but you need to get dressed, as you cannot enter in your swimsuit. You don't wear a bracelet inside the hotel, but you need to sign for EVERY SINGLE thing you order, even if you're inside the pool! this makes the service slower and a lot more annoying than wearing a bracelet... In general, the service is not what expected, eventhough the hotel (not much to it) is nice enough...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest:

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taking to let us know of your comments.
Regarding your recent stay at Bel Air Vallarta first of all, I would like to let you know that we are glad that you found our facilities and rooms great, and on the other hand I would like to address the following comments that you provided to us: the hours of operation of our pool bar is from 11 am to 7 pm, after this time, we welcome you at Bar Nautico from 3 pm to 12 midnight, in our restaurants there are certain rules and regulations that need to be followed for safety and health reasons of our guests, this is the reason why it’s not permitted to access with wet clothing or swimwear , in regards to the lack of bracelet usage, Bel Air has no distinction among it’s guests, this is the reason we ask for the signature in every check because we trust the power of your signature.
I do apologize that you have consider the above as poor service when in reality these resort rules are for your safety and wellbeing,
Bel Air welcomes you to visit us soon and this way you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week, the service was superb from front desk to bell boy to the awesome staff at the restaurant and pool bar. The meals were mostly ala carte and except for couple nights..Restaurant Manager who was there everynight Elario was very knowledgable on the menu and specifc dishes, and his recommendations for meals were excellant. Our bell boy Victor with smiling attitude, our maid Irma with sweet delights left on our pillow, to the hard working pool waiters Jesus and Ivan and our thanks to Heriberto for making our stay wonderful.

The only thing I would change is the coffee .... pretty weak:((

Room Tip: We were in a quite room downstairs at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank so much for sharing this comment, we truly appreciate it, I will forward your feeling regarding our service to all our staff, whom will be very glad to know.
I would like to let you know, that we have already changed our coffee provider to satisfy all our guests and they can enjoy it,

We hope you return soon,

Kind regards
Roberto Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room we had was absolute luxury with a mouth dropping view. The location is absolute paradise. The food and service was top notch. I can hardly wait to make a return trip. This resort was not onlt beautiful with great service everything about it is a 10.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest:
We really appreciate the time you took to write us this great comment, we hope that your return is soon to your home away from home.

Please feel free by contacting me via email, it will be a great pleasure to see you again,

Kind regards
Roberto Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel had an excellent location on the beach in Nuevo Vallarta.
The rooms were excellent with a beautiful ocean view, 3 balconies, a full kitchen, a second smaller kitchen and 3 baths for 5 of us.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side next to the Riu Palace are quieter. We were also on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta is a recently opened resort in the dazzling beach of Playa Flamingos of Nuevo Vallarta, as part of the exclusively HIP Collection, Highly Individualized Properties in design and services of Bel Air Collection Resorts & Spas. With the details to make your stay a memorable one, Bel Air Delights. The signature amenities that make us so different, Bel Air Hallmarks. An the services and life experience that make up your holiday, Bel Air Experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.