We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolutely Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
North Bellmore, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An Absolutely Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the resort from March 9th through the 13th. Here is our feedback...

Arrival:
For starters, the bell boys are extremely pleasant and offered a glass of wine as they took your luggage out of the cab. Upon checking-in I did not like the room I was assigned to. It overlooked the meters and trash compactor of next door resort (Riu). Also since we arrived a little early, our room was not entirely ready and there was work being performed in the bathroom. Not sure what was the issue but we immediately went to the front desk and asked if we can upgrade to an ocean view room. After a few minutes we were assigned to another room, a studio, overlooking the pool in bldg 2...for FREE. This was great.

Staff:
In addition, even though we were asked to schedule time to discuss time share, the agent (Jose) really sold us. He was friendly as expected, but what did it was his personality. We didn't end up purchasing but he presented it in a way that you couldn't say no. Even after he continued being one of the friendly members of the resort that we encountered.

Victor is another person who went about and beyond to assist us. Even though he is a bell boy, he pointed us in the right direction and gave us advice such as for good restaurants in pv and nightlife. I appreciated being about to speak to those guys are another person or on a friendly level. Not just someone who is there to serve and accommodate us.

The Resort:
The pool and the entire surroundings was so beautiful and cozy. The is the key here...cozy. We went to the next door resort, Riu, because he had to use the atm (Bel Air's was out of order). The Riu was so big and the pool was huge. To some people that's great and all but not for me. I like being known by name and not a room number. There was just so many people around at the RIU even though they have the space for it, you couldn't really feel like you have privacy. That is was I loved about Bel Air. They remembered you by name...surprisingly; and that it is just the right size.

Area of Improvement:
Food. The food's taste was not that great. It was just okay but not great. We had an all inclusive stay so the drinks were great. Food not so great. That's my only knock on the hotel.

Overall - I would DEFINITELY stay here again mainly because of the staff, cleanliness and cozy need. Oh and its just an absolutely beautiful resort. I'm glad we found it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Allow me to express my sincere gratitude to such a beatiful feedback thank you for prefer Bel Air Vallarta Resort & Spa and to see the difference between each kind of service. for us, comments as yours give us the opportunity to continue growing and be better each day.

I will work directly with the chef to improve the food and in the future, please you.

I hope we can see you soon.

Best Regards

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    152
    87
    41
    34
See reviews for
235
242
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our 5th visit staying this time as guests of owners.Nothing but problems with other guests disturbing our sleep and quiet time in the evening. Reported several times to the front desk and management with no real concern or empathy, seems this is the way things are now.
The priority is selling or upgrading their Time Share program and no doubt if you are not going along with this you will not be treated well or get a decent room. We also found the packaged food now being served at poolside to be very poor quality as well as the drinks.
In all fairness they have improved the Restaurant food and service in the mornings,
The Bel Air has always been a favorite of ours but unfortunately not anymore.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

allow me to express my sicere apologize for all the inconviniences in your last stay, it is sad to know that you did not received the kind of treatment you deserved.

Let me explain you that for us all of our guests are important and we are trying to improve every detail to be better in our quality and service.

I hope you can give us the opportunity to change your mind.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have traveled more than a million miles with american all over the world and this has been my worst experience. We booked this hotel as part of the aavacations airline and hotel package. I am ashamed and sad to see that american airlines vacations will book us in such a terrible hotel. Called many time before arrival to understand what was included in the package and it was our understanding many times that it was "all-inclusive.
The checkin was terrible with a wait of more than one hour with no one paying attention and a drunk crowd around the front desks. We interrupted after the long wait and then they just gave us the keys.
Yes we got into the room with the terrible smell of mold and mildew and tiny. it was suffocating!!!! it was also next to the AC fans of the neighboring hotel.
Then when we went to dinner we found out that it was not all inclusive...! the room was horrible, the front desk and people are terrible and now it was not all inclusive in a remote area close to Puerto Vallarta (NOT LOCATED IN PUERTO VALLARTA).
Called aa vacations and paid for a week to stay at the lovely Marriott Casa Manga in Puerto Vallarta. As always the best place :)... Big mistake with AA vacations and Bel Air in NUEVO VALARTA not PUERTO VALLARTA. When we checked out the next day...they did not even ask why....
BTW...sure they made more money by renting out the crappy room which we had pre-paid for.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
First and foremost I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Resort & Spa Vallarta; Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations I know that for the last weekend we had some problems that made you feel unconfortable but allow me to tell you that we are working so hard to improve every detail and be better for you.

Although Bel Air Vallarta did not pleased you I would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future and change your mind.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been coming to the Bel Air, formerly the Playa del Sol Grand for years and it has been
enjoyable year after year. Much credit is deserved by the hotel staff. This flows through all the way from the Hotel GM, the amazing front desk staff, the maintenance and security people, the hardworking friendly and kind housekeeping and bell man staff go above and beyond expectations. The restaurants have delicious food, and wait until you see and enjoy the infinity pool, and the tropical gardens, pools, and well-kept grounds. You will feel like you are in botanical gardens and they are very relaxing! Hope you get a chance to come to this smaller boutique-type hotel.

Room Tip: Depends of how near to the pool, restaurants, Bay water view, etc. Rooms further back on are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks to share this beautiful comment about Bel Air Resort & Spa Vallarta, for us is so rewarding having this kind of comments and I hope you continue visiting us as each year bringing the opportunity to share more times with you.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with 'owners' of Playa del Sol. They were told when they checked in that it was under new owners. The hotel insisted that they meet the next morning with a representative from the new company 'Bel Air'. First thing they were told was that they are no longer an owner of anything on the property. Quite a rude person.... Bruce. Then received a high pressure sales pitch to reinvest in order to maintain their ownership.
The main restaurant is very nice, food was very good and reasonably priced. There is a lovely outdoor patio dining area next to the beach. There is another 'Japanese' restaurant... we should have known better than to try a Japanese restaurant in Mexico. Asked for hot tea and got a tall glass of sugared ice tea. Maki (they spell it Maky) was very good and fresh,. Tempura was overcooked and not panko covered. Pretty expensive for what you get.
Not our favorite place to stay in Nuevo Vallarta

Room Tip: Can't choose a room, they are assigned
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for share your comments, for us, this kind of feedback give us the opportunity to be better each day, I´m glad to see that you found our restaurant nice and I will talk to the executive Chef about our Japanese restaurante.

we will work with the people in timeshare to be more polite with our guests

I hope you can give us another chance to serve you.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

About 20 minutes from the airport, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and warm towels when we first arrived- nice touch. Even though the check in was not until 4 pm, and we were there at 12pm, we were able to go to our room. Very attentive staff. this place has a nice resort feeling without the high price tag. As soon as you walk past the lobby, you are greeted by the infinity pool and the wonderful Pacific Ocean. the room is quite ample, even has a kitchenette with anything you may need to cook (yes, I mean pots and pans). However, the fridge can be noisy, so if you are not using it, you may want to turn it off (don't bother trying to find the plug). the place has a bit of a Club Med feel to it, but you can skip and mind your business. We decided to include breakfast with the room- do it. It was a pleasant surprise. Their prepared dishes are just ok, but it has a fruit/ yogurt bar and an omelette/ egg station, so you will be totally satisfied for hours as you tan on their beach chairs. If you decide to venture north on the beach, bring some cash, there are some eateries and restaurants with some good deals on beer and munchies- we didn't bring money so can't attest to the quality, but beer is beer. Check out is at 11am, but if you are not ready to leave (your flight is at 5pm) and want to hang out longer they welcome you to stay by the pool or beach, use their towels and then shower at their VIP lounge or their Spa. You will need to pay for internet, or use their business center free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We all are delighted to receive such a generous review on your recent stay at Bel Air.

We believe that attention to detail and personalized attentive service is what makes every vacation exceptional and memorable.

I am glad to know that our teams’ efforts made a difference for you and your every expectation has been met.

Thank you for giving your preference to Bel Air collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth trip in a row to Bel Air and this place just keeps getting better. Everyone is just so nice and accommodating and we always feel like we're welcomed home by family. Special shout out to Pancho for going above and beyond and helping us out with our requests including opening an additional account at Shipwreck Kelley's the day we departed and as our flight was delayed. Also thank you to Edgar, Karla, Javier, and Jose for so personable and fun. Only complaint would be the air conditioner didn't seem to work all that well, but besides that we loved it and we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recognition of our effort, which is a great inspiration to us in our work.

I truly hope that memories of this vacation will bring you back to Bel Air collection resort & Spa Vallarta very soon.

We will waitting to serve you again and make you feel at home.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta is a recently opened resort in the dazzling beach of Playa Flamingos of Nuevo Vallarta, as part of the exclusively HIP Collection, Highly Individualized Properties in design and services of Bel Air Collection Resorts & Spas. With the details to make your stay a memorable one, Bel Air Delights. The signature amenities that make us so different, Bel Air Hallmarks. An the services and life experience that make up your holiday, Bel Air Experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.