We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Nuevo Vallarta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great find in Nuevo Vallarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

About 20 minutes from the airport, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and warm towels when we first arrived- nice touch. Even though the check in was not until 4 pm, and we were there at 12pm, we were able to go to our room. Very attentive staff. this place has a nice resort feeling without the high price tag. As soon as you walk past the lobby, you are greeted by the infinity pool and the wonderful Pacific Ocean. the room is quite ample, even has a kitchenette with anything you may need to cook (yes, I mean pots and pans). However, the fridge can be noisy, so if you are not using it, you may want to turn it off (don't bother trying to find the plug). the place has a bit of a Club Med feel to it, but you can skip and mind your business. We decided to include breakfast with the room- do it. It was a pleasant surprise. Their prepared dishes are just ok, but it has a fruit/ yogurt bar and an omelette/ egg station, so you will be totally satisfied for hours as you tan on their beach chairs. If you decide to venture north on the beach, bring some cash, there are some eateries and restaurants with some good deals on beer and munchies- we didn't bring money so can't attest to the quality, but beer is beer. Check out is at 11am, but if you are not ready to leave (your flight is at 5pm) and want to hang out longer they welcome you to stay by the pool or beach, use their towels and then shower at their VIP lounge or their Spa. You will need to pay for internet, or use their business center free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We all are delighted to receive such a generous review on your recent stay at Bel Air.

We believe that attention to detail and personalized attentive service is what makes every vacation exceptional and memorable.

I am glad to know that our teams’ efforts made a difference for you and your every expectation has been met.

Thank you for giving your preference to Bel Air collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    147
    87
    41
    34
See reviews for
224
239
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth trip in a row to Bel Air and this place just keeps getting better. Everyone is just so nice and accommodating and we always feel like we're welcomed home by family. Special shout out to Pancho for going above and beyond and helping us out with our requests including opening an additional account at Shipwreck Kelley's the day we departed and as our flight was delayed. Also thank you to Edgar, Karla, Javier, and Jose for so personable and fun. Only complaint would be the air conditioner didn't seem to work all that well, but besides that we loved it and we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recognition of our effort, which is a great inspiration to us in our work.

I truly hope that memories of this vacation will bring you back to Bel Air collection resort & Spa Vallarta very soon.

We will waitting to serve you again and make you feel at home.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We own a timeshare at the Playa del Sol Grand. I'm not sure what happened to the original company - rumors abound - but it ended up as a Belair resort. Previously I had problems with availability, so I had more or less given up on the place. I was in Nuevo Vallarta in January and stopped in. They had availability for the following week, so I changed my flight. Strange how they can be fully booked a year in advance but have availability one week out. Anyway, we had a great room near the back of the complex - but still with an ocean view. They have a "free" afternoon coffee/tea get together where some of the guests are quite entertaining. The activities group were great at getting people involved in bingo, dice, pool volleyball, etc. A very relaxing time. There are some critters across the road from the resort that come out at breakfast time and eat anything vegetarian. I have no idea what they are, but they are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Please allow me to express my sincere gratefulness for sharing with us this generous comment about our work and our services; our goal is the continuous improvement, and this is possible thanks to the comments like yours.

There is nothing like knowing that our guests had wonderful and memorable time while staying with us.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went all inclusive- but this place is not really the all-inclusive resort, so you get a bill every time and need to sign to your room charge and every time you sign the " gratuity" is expected. It makes getting food and drink little harder. Room was tiny- housekeeping bad, never got the coffee maker cleaned up or coffee restocked, stains on sheets, hairs in the sink. Water pressure in the shower is horrible and changing constantly, so as water temperature- hot to cold. When you get out of the room- grounds kept nice and clean, pool and beach- nice. Not many food choices- one restaurant with 2 sets of menus and sushi bar. Plus poolside bar with american food selections- hot dogs, hamburgers, was hoping to have tacos and more authentic food. Staff is nice- if you tip, you get great service. Trying to push time share- but not accomodating, when complained about the room, they didn't change anything. It wasn't bad all together- but i would not return or reccommend to a friend, we stayed in way better rooms with more food choices for about the same price.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony looked better- bigger, but not sure water pressure would be better, maybe lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
First and foremost I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations.

I do understand that Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta does not suit your kind of life styles, but also glad to mention that Bel Air Collection have various fabulous hotels with different concepts.

We are always happy to know that our guests can find their own perfect resort within Bel Air Collection chain.

Best Regards,

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are currently finishing our stay at Bel Air Vallarta. I am not one that normally writes reviews and rarely do I complain about service. We are checking out of Bel Air two days early and I feel the need to give some feedback on our stay.

As mentioned in some other reviews, we arrived expecting our loft room with a view of the ocean as promised when we booked through the chat feature on the website. When we were taken to our room we had a view of the adjacent hotel's generator. We called the front desk and said that we had been guaranteed ocean or at the very least a poolside view. They said that they don't even have loft rooms with ocean views. I showed them my confirmation and they showed us another room which you could sorta see a piece of the ocean through the tree branches. The room was a lot smaller and we have a 10 month old so we took the first room and were told we'd be moved the next morning. The next morning they told us that the room they were going to move us to wasn't available until 1pm. We came back at 1 and they told us... no, now it is 4pm... we came back at 4pm and they said that the people actually aren't checking out. Finally they found us a room (we were waiting for ocean view). THis room was 2 floors up with the same 'garden' view. Then we asked if we could upgrade and pay more so the front desk told us yes we have a room with a king that is a one bedroom for $50 more a night. We went to look at it and it turns out to be two double beds. So we truck back to the front desk for what felt like the 10th time and said can we get the same room but with a king. Finally the concierge Trinidad stepped in and helped us. He knew the rooms inside out and was able to help the front desk look at the system and find us a room. We had to still forgo the view but at least it was the quieter side of the hotel and had a king size bed.

Food - the food is good; however, if you are planning to stay here for longer than 5 days you may get sick of eating the same food over and over. Breakfast buffet is the best meal of the day. The sushi bar is good, but if you don't like cream cheese you may find it difficult to order off the menu as every sushi roll has cream cheese in it. This was more than made up for by the excellent service from waiter Hector and the fantastic martinis!

Billing system - We chose the all inclusive option which we have done 4-5 times at other resorts. THis is the first place that i've ever been to that bills you each and every time you order drinks or food. You must sign for and there is ALWAYS the expectation that you will tip. We are good tippers and at past all inclusives we always leave a few dollars here and there after a meal and at the end of our stay provide our favorite staff with more substantial tips, etc. It seems ridiculous that we pay a rate for all inclusive but are expected to add gratuities on top of every meal or drink! I'm dreading to see what our bill is when we check out. One night we received terrible service at dinner and even though my husband didn't want to tip I told him to at least put the equivalent of a couple dollars on there in pesos. We got back to our room and received a call from the waiter who was questioning if we'd really meant to put such a low tip!! Are you kidding me - I should have listened to my husband and tipped nothing!

I'd say 50% of the staff are FANTASTIC! We often tipped them 20% or higher of our bills. It really felt like they cared and went above and beyond! Look for Javiar, Hector, & Trinidad.

Facility/Rooms - The grounds are beautiful and the pool is warmer than the average mexico pool. The resort is small and there is one pool so unfortunately you have to reserve your chairs before 8am or you'll be out of luck. I really find this annoying as you go to the pool and there are about 10 people actually laying on loungers but every single chair has a towel or personal item left on it. It is the same at the beach. This really isn't something that is specific to Bel Air, but more of a poor travel etiquette in general.

Our room was spacious, but the toilet was broken for the first two days. Also the pull out couch smelled really bad... we also borrowed a pack and play/crib for our daughter and it was FILTHY! I tried not to think about it too much.

Pros
the fish pond- We spent a lot of time here feeding the turtles and fish with our daughter.
Internet - if you spend $8 a day at the mini-mart you get a code for free internet for the day.
Staff - majority are great!
Facility/Beach - clean and beautiful

Cons
Front desk - unhelpful
Reservation guarantees appear to not mean anything when you arrive
We only received the little cake treats in our room once out of our 5 nights stay and there was not a treat in the room when we checked in which is promised in our all inclusive package (not really a big deal, but don't bother using this as a selling feature if you don't actually do it)
Tips are NOT included - and are expected
Annoying time share sales pitch as soon as you check in.
Spa - you get a better massage if you go along the beach to Bucerias and its 1/3 of the price and right on the beach.

Perhaps it was the horrible room situation that left a sour taste in our mouth at the very start of our check-in, but it just seemed like the service is REALLY inconsistent here. We were booked to stay 7 nights but are leaving after 5.

We will not stay here again or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite. Also, be aware that you cannot reserve an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
First and foremost I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Vallarta Collection Resort & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations. The information shared with us in each review of our guests, whether it is positive or suggesting improvements, is our greatest source of development, it gives us the most correct direction in which we should aim our efforts, in order to meet your every expectation.

Be sure we will work in the reservation area to give the correct information to our guests and about the F&B I will talk to Head Chef about your comments.

I am glad that you found services, and facilities at the resort satisfactory.

I hope you can give us the opportunity to host your future visits to Vallarta.

Best Regards,
Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from another visit to this resort. After two previous visits and a positive experience both times not only were we recommending this resort to others but now ready to take other family there. What a mistake. On arrival, after reserving and paying for our 2 BR suite weeks in advance, we were told that a 2BR unit was not available and likely not going to be available for a couple of days. We were placed in side by side studios after waiting at reception for an inordinate amount of time. Upon entering the units we were greeted by swarms of black flies. Suffice to say we were not happy, especially when it took hours to get anyone to come and spray. Photos are available!! It took three days and a couple of moves to finally have the 2 BR unit we had reserved. I only later found out that during these moves I lost my camera bag, SD cards and charger. The A/C unit in the new suites barely worked and cut out at night resulting in a lot of lost sleep for many of our party. This apparently is a longstanding problem which the management is fully aware of. The sofa bed was broken and unusable the first night being replaced the following day. The restaurant on site is very pricey and the food is mediocre(at least the a la carte) and most guests seem to prefer going elsewhere to eat which is what we did. Had the restaurant been an option we certainly would have preferred to stay on site.
The huge positive to this resort are the staff - the activity staff Lucio, Jessica and Karla are an absolute delight and work very hard to make your stay a pleasant and fun time.The bar staff including but not restricted to Rafael, Javier, Vicente, Jesus. The workers at the towel hut and around the bar Angel, Bernardo, Fernando, Ivan et al. The bellboys Isidro, Edgar, Trinidad. The reception Edna, Pancho, Oscar. The camaristas. All are exceptional, hard working, pleasant and friendly and really do work hard to make you comfortable. The resort is very attractive with a good location but there are many attractive resorts in this area where management appear more responsive to their guests. We heard many disgruntled visitors this trip and have to question the direction this resort is being taken in. We will likely not return to Bel Air and certainly will not be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
First and foremost I would like to thank you for visiting Bel Air Vallarta Collection Resort & Spa.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations. I do understand that Bel Air Vallarta Collection Resort & Spa does not suit your kind of life styles, I would also like to say that our goal is continuous improvement, and this is possible, thanks to comments like yours.

Once again please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay in Belair and I hope you can give us another opportunity tu assist you.

Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the end of January and had a great time... We were on an all inclusive package and the food was EXCELLENT !! I guess they are telling the owners of this time share property that is not being sold as an all inclusive but it is... The rooms were very nice and the infinity pool excellent great staff very friendly... Not a late nice place the bar closes at midnight and usually not crowded at all.. So if you want night life there is none at the resort but just down the road you can find places. Overall a very nice place. I would recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for all the kind words and especially for comparing our desire to make your vacation unforgettable to a family treatment.

It’s my sincere pleasure to learn from your review that our team filled your vacation with care and memories.

We all are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Bel Air Vallarta Resort & Spa

Best Regards,
Laura C. Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta is a recently opened resort in the dazzling beach of Playa Flamingos of Nuevo Vallarta, as part of the exclusively HIP Collection, Highly Individualized Properties in design and services of Bel Air Collection Resorts & Spas. With the details to make your stay a memorable one, Bel Air Delights. The signature amenities that make us so different, Bel Air Hallmarks. An the services and life experience that make up your holiday, Bel Air Experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.