We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed four weeks in an excellent room facing the ocean on the seventh floor. We only had one complaint. With the wedding receptions on Saturday, the noise floated up to the seventh floor. The service at the resort is excellent. Anwar, Trinidad, Edgar and Carlos exemplify service. My husband and I had an excellent vacation. We can't wait to next year.

Room Tip: Building two and seven are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    147
    87
    41
    34
See reviews for
224
239
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I traveled march 10-17 2012 and are both 24 years old. We wanted a relaxing, non-college spring break where we could relax. We had a king economy room right on the beach, with sink, fridge, stove, microwave, 2 hdtvs (about 10 channels in english) a nice bathroom and a king size bed. Everything was fantastic except for 3 things:

Sheets were not soft at all.
Weddings on friday and saturday are loud and late.
Cleaning staff was hit or miss on time of service and/or service at all.

We did not do the all inclusive and the prices werent bad, ate in bucerias every night, cheap and delicious, shopped every day at the hundreds of local shops, learn how to haggle if you dont want to spend a lot.

Everyone was very nice and helpful especially when it was something they could not help with. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the nice comments that you express, we are taking measurements, in order to avoid that a weeding becomes in uncomfortable situations for other guests.
We are pleased to know that we achieved our goal by making your holiday days all that you expected.

Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We liked the room we were given after we fought for a better room than they showed us first. We loved the spa and our room, which was clean and comfortable. I didn't like the pool-side server asking us to pay him instead of the hotel for drinks. He spoke good english and told us he can't support his family with 3 kids on what he makes there. Our drink bill came to $25 US. He asked us to pay him the equivalent of $18 under the table into his pocket and he wouldn't run our bill through the hotel's billing system. He was stealing from his employer and wanted to make it worth our while to help him steal. We were really turned off.

Room Tip: They'll show you a lousy room first to see if you'll take it. Refuse, make a fuss and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments,
We specially appreciate the information that you provided, in fact it helps us to take measurements to fix this situation.
We have improved our controls, to avoid this situation to continue.


Sincerely,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a wonderful place to visit. The food, the grounds, the spa and gym, the service and beach are all lovely. But I do have some warnings for one to bear in mind that are in fact the reason I would not return.
My complaint is there is little so very little to do. I can only lie around and do nothing for so long. No beach toys, boogie boards, sail boats etc. No pool table, botchy ball games, no tennis, no shuffle board. One game of beach volleyball per day and the nets come down. One game in the pool and the nets come down. No entertainment at night and the bar is closed at 10:30 p.m. It may be why the resort is inexpensive.
Some of this can be overcome by renting toys nearby on the beach, but that get’s pricey and really need not be the case. The resort can certainly afford to provide these things one would expect at a 3 star.
The location is close by cab, but almost impossible to walk anywhere so have your day trips planned.
The next beef is they don’t care about your inconveniencing you. There is not enough furniture either around the pool or on the beach. Literally scrounging for chairs and a place for them is a pain. We managed to find some every day, but again such a hassle and so unnecessary. Get off your wallet and get some more furniture.
Finally, - the tab thing. They don’t issue wristbands; rather you sign a tab with name and room number for every drink, bottle of water or snack. Carry lots of small bills as the staff want a tip with every trip.

Room Tip: Get a suite. The regular rooms are like closets. The suites are lovely and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback,
We appreciate every one of them, we do have some night activities, but indeed we are not the typical All Inclusive hotel.
Our guests have to sign every check as they would do on a not all inclusive resort, since all our meal are a la carte, the only buffet we have is at the breakfast.
We have night activities, from movie night to salsa lessons on Saturday.
Im going to make sure that all this information is provided to our guests, in a proper manner

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hey to all you complainers. This place is totally awsome. There will not be a place EVER!! that is perfect. Although the ones who pick apart every little thing are still trying to find that PERFECT place,good luck!!. We had no problem with anything or anybody. We loved to watch those who came down to the beach after 1:00 to get a spot and complain that there were no spots,GET OUT OF BED!! We will return next year to this wonderful palce in paradice

Room Tip: They are all are OK from what We saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was a charming, clean and lovely resort. It had plenty to offer from the excellent food to the wonderful staff. My husband and I and another couple traveled from Feb 18th until Mar 3rd with another couple and enjoyed every minute. We booked through Nolitours and yes we had one of the rooms facing the RIU. We did not hear the noise of the air conditioners as we kept the window closed because we had the air conditioner on! We enjoyed many quiet, restful nights in the very comfortable king size beds. The bathroom was gorgeous, always had tons of water pressure and hot water, lots of counter space. Our bed was turned down every night with treats on the pillows it was awesome! Beartrice kept our room spotless and at no time were we interrupted.
We enjoyed every meal in the Palm Terrace. The 2 menus had plenty of variety and the staff was always willing to accommodate us ordering from both menus. I highly recommend the almond shrimp or the rib eye pizzarollo. Ask for Hector to make you a Spanish coffee and he will put on a great display. He made them for us no less than 10 times! We never had an issue tipping this great staff for their exceptional service. They work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and were always so pleasant. I forgot to mention the awesome breakfast buffet. Lots of fresh fruit, and pretty much anything you would want for breakfast. Who doesn’t like fresh omelette made with every ingredient you like. Ruben was always there to top up our coffee.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It is only a 20 minute walk by the beach or via a path just past the Flamingos to get to Bucerias. We ventured into Bucerias on many days (pizza and Jet’s games at Yo Yo Mos, yummy!) took the bus to La Cruz ( Philos Bar on Thursdays is a must) and even took the bus to Sayulita ( we want to take surfing lessons next year).
We are already talking about returning to Bel Air next year !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Bel Air Nuevo Vallarta property. We bought 2 three day Groupons for the stay, and were promised 'Deluxe' accomodations. We arrived very late at night due to our flight being delayed, and dumped our bags in the room and rushed to get a meal before the restaurant closed. Good meal, good service! When we returned to the room, we tried to sleep, but were unable to get to sleep due to the mechanical noise. We were in building # 3, and it faces another hotel. That property has a number of very loud air conditioning or refrigeration compressor units that run 24/7 and sound like a jet engine. A number of other guests that we met on the trip complained of the same problem with the noise. After insisting that we move to another room, after two attempts we were moved to the other side of the building and could finally get some rest. Due to the nature of the Groupon reservation, the front desk attempted to move us back to the noisy side of the hotel after the 3rd night. We again had to argue to be able to stay on the quiet side of the building. In all fairness, the room to which we were moved was an upgraded room, and that did help to even things out to a degree. Be aware, if you want a siesta, they clean the rooms from around 1 pm to 3:30, and if you don't put the 'do not disturb' sign out they will keep knocking and even call you to ask to clean the room. We attempted to say 'no molestar, por favor' which in our limited Spanish was an attempt to ask to be left alone. This didn't work on more than one day. We finally found the do not disturb sign on our final day. It was under the phone!
On the good side the staff are universally friendly and accomodating. They all work hard to make you feel welcome and are cheerful and helpful. This crosses all levels of the hotel staff, from the waiters and front desk right through the grounds keepers and security. While they claim that they have more than one restaurant, it is one room with an outdoor terrace with two menus. The food was univerally great, with Italian and Mexican Fusion themes that are both really excellent. I did find that after 5 or 6 days you start repeating main courses, and we ate in PV on two nights of the trip. Groupon promoted this property as a 4 star plus vacation. IMHO it is more like 3 star at best.
Last note, the shower was a challenge, with water pressure and temperature starting very weak and cool, and varying enormously along the way. You could be freezing one second under a trickle and then blasted with a scalding stream for 30 to 60 seconds. Never consistent or long lasting, but a challenge to get comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a 'deluxe' room starting with 3xxx. If it isn't a loft or ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta is a recently opened resort in the dazzling beach of Playa Flamingos of Nuevo Vallarta, as part of the exclusively HIP Collection, Highly Individualized Properties in design and services of Bel Air Collection Resorts & Spas. With the details to make your stay a memorable one, Bel Air Delights. The signature amenities that make us so different, Bel Air Hallmarks. An the services and life experience that make up your holiday, Bel Air Experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.