We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit to your Saves list
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
GreenLeadersGold level
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just returned from the most incredible vacation. Just a short cab ride north of PVR airport, the Grand Velas was everything we were looking for. The hotel is definitely 5 Diamond! From the moment we arrived we were relaxed and so comfortable, like being in the home of family. From the Concierge, to the bellboys, the waiters(pool and restaurants,) the bartenders, room service, EVERYONE was excellent. The rooms, pool and grounds are beautiful. And the Spa! Wonderful! I was concerned about the resort being All Inclusive but it was worth every penny. All top shelf liquor and the food was incredible. If what you want is not on the menu, just ask, the Chef will make it for you! El Tigre golf course is very nice too.

Room Tip: Fourth floor or above, all rooms have outdoor seating and are ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you Brenda for your positive comments regarding your first stay at Grand Velas. All of the departments that you mention work together in order that you, and all our guests, experience a vacation that exceeds your expectations. From the service and product that you enjoyed, you were able to see and feel why we are a 5 Diamond resort. Thank you again for your review and we are extremely pleased that you felt that this was your most incredible vacation. We hope to see you return soon.

Please feel free to get in touch with our concierge services before your next arrival therefore we can make sure to have everything ready for you.

Best Regards!

Rodolfo González
Director General | Managing Director
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    196
    50
    26
    26
See reviews for
432
520
13
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my first time to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I was torn between Punta Cana and Rivera Nayarit. We settled on the Hotel Grand Velas and was 100% satisfied. Although to our surprise the place to travel for shopping, dining and taking in the local history and scene is in Puerto Vallarta Viejo (old). This is where the music and excellent dining occurs and at reasonable prices. The BEST restaurant we enjoyed was The Vista Grill. What a dining pleasure.
The Hotel Grand Velas has the best service and all their staff works to please all their guests.

Room Tip: The views are excellent from any of the rooms. Hotel is laid out in such a manner that all rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you Charles for selecting Riviera Nayarit and Grand Velas as your vacation destination. We are pleased that you were 100% satisfied with the resort, and that you felt very comfortable in experiencing for the first time, the local areas and its cuisine. Our goal is to provide a remarkable service to our guests, and indeed, from reading your review we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again Charles and we await your next visit at Grand Velas.


Best Regards!

Rodolfo González
Director General | Managing Director
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Transportation from the airport is so easy.
Food, lodging, service is first class. Breakfast room service is a delight and at no additional cost.
However, I have discovered that when I compare All my trip costs as a member with a package offered by Trip Advisor or Orbitz the savings is
less than 5% of the total Membership cost and I don't have to amortize $20,000 that I Paid to become a member. That being said I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my five visits to Grand Velas Which is a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chief C, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your delightful comments on your past experiences here at your home resort, Grand Velas. Your five visits so far have culminated in a genuine friendship between you and the resort. The fine points that you mention in your review are proof of that. There are of course times when On-Line Agencies have special packages due to seasonal or market influences. And it is important to note that your membership does entail certain benefits and discounts, as well as having you and your family prioritized in our system. I believe you will be returning for your sixth year in November, and I would certainly like the opportunity to meet you in person in order to give you the full VIP treatment. Thank you again for your loyalty to Grand Velas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

An all-inclusive resort with five star restaurants, premium liquor and the most incredible sunsets. Not to mention full-service to your cabana on the beach, room service 24 hours a day! We had two suites, two families and five children ranging in age from 14 to 24. It was by far the most fun we have ever had and the resort was just top notch all the way!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your satisfaction on your vacation at Grand Velas. Our goal is to provide impeccable service, top of the line products and fun and happiness for all. And in reading your review I believe that we reached that goal with your two families. Thank you again, and we would be more than happy to host you all for a second visit in the future.

Please get in touch with our concierge services before your next arrival therefore we can make sure to have everything ready for you.

Best Regards!

Rodolfo González
Director General | Managing Director
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Velas (for the 3rd time!) in late July, early August. We stayed with a group from my company, which took about a third of the rooms for our annual business meeting.

Once again, Grand Velas did not disappoint. We will start with the good points:

1.) Juan, Eriberto and Alfredo at the pool bar were awesome. They greeted us daily with a warm welcome, and we never had an empty glass. We decided to tip early and often, since these guys make such little salary- they survive on tips, and they earn them!! Especially amazing was Eriberto- this guy worked his butt off every single day in the blazing humid heat, with a huge smile on his face, humming all day long. Even when the pool bar was packed with kids ordering labor-intensive smoothies, he cheerfully provided top notch service to every one. Alfredo cracked jokes with us, and made sure our glasses were always full. And Juan- he was just a fun cool cat.

2.) The rooms are amazing! They are huge, elegant and very well-appointed. The sleeping room is partitioned off with slatted panels that could be opened to provide sunlight, or closed for sound sleeping. There are 2 large flat-screen tv's, a glass top table and chairs and tons of storage space. The bathroom shower was beautiful tile with a bench for shaving and setting toiletries. A long hallway from the door to the living room provides enough distance from the hotel corridors to ensure no outside sound disrupts in the room. The mini-bar is restocked every day, and is part of the all-inclusive package. Our balcony had 2 chairs and table, as well as a sofa to lounge and enjoy the afternoon sun.

3.) The restaurants are fantastic. We had dinner with friends at Piaf, and it was stellar. The tri-color soup was amazing, the filet mignon perfectly cooked and the chocolate dessert was decadent. House wine, which is included, was perfect - even wine snobs would agree it was top notch. We also ate dinner one night at Azul- and the steak and mushrooms were off the chart! Great attentive service by every staff member, all with smiles on their faces. We missed eating at Frida this time ... next time for sure!

4.) The spa ... awesome! From the moment you walk into the spa, you feel transported to a state of well-being. I had an 80-minute aromatherapy massage, which was divine. The facilities are well-equipped and state of the art. The entire feel of the spa is 5-star!

5.) Meeting rooms -- of course, I had to attend a meeting, and the room was spacious, well air-conditioned and top of the line.

Now for some not so great points...

1.) The pool bar... it's unfortunate that there is not a separate section for the kids to order their smoothies and non-alcoholic beverages. It would be really easy for the hotel to add another spot for the kids, since it was a bit of a nuisance to have kids splashing all around us while we were visiting at the pool bar. And the time it took to make these smoothies-- it was labor intensive for sure. It just didn't seem morally correct to have small children sitting alongside the adults, with beers and cocktails right there. And since some adults were also smoking, it was not a good scene with the kids. Grand Velas- please take note and maybe add a smoothie station ... maybe outside the Azul Restaurant, where you have the daily lunch bbq? Or perhaps by the activities booth, which seemed like a lot of space for just handing out towels. OR- have a smoothie cart, which would contain pre-made smoothies of various options ... it would be great for the kids, so they wouldn't have to wait, and it would be good for the adults. Just a thought.

2.) The food ... some of it was not very good. And we love this place! But the breakfast at Azul was sort of bland. Yes, there's an omelette station, but it takes a long time to get eggs. And the other options were sort of - well, blah. They were fine, but we remember the food last time being so much better. Not sure if it's because there were so many people at the resort, but the food at Azul didn't stand out as being that great.

3.) Saving chairs ... this was a frustrating experience every morning. Unless you woke up and saved a chair at 6am, you wouldn't find anything by the pool. Every day, every single lounge chair around the pool was taken at first dawn; and most of the time, no one ever used the chair. I'm not sure if the hotel can maybe inforce a time limit for lounges that have a towel and a book, but no person using it. It was just a little frustration in what was a normally awesome day at the pool.

All in all, we loved our third trip to GV. We will be back for sure. The small "bad points" certainly didn't make enough of a impact to make us reduce our review of this resort ... it's definitely 5-star all the way!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chief C, Chief Concierge at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Kelly for your well balanced comments and suggestions. My staff of servers both on the beach and in the pool area is certainly one of the hardest working. We are proud of the enthusiasm that these departments demonstrate, day in and day out and they really enjoy what they do. That is key to a great service. By the way Kelly, your suggestion concerning smoothie stations in summer is being analyzed along with a few other improvements. Thank you again for your continued loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our concierge was Ernesto and he made sure that every wish was granted. Best spa experience ever! Staff of this property were all there to serve. Gourmet dining night after night. Great ocean front suite. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chief C, Chief Concierge at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
In reading your review I can certainly say that your stay with us was a marvelous experience. It is our desire at Grand Velas that all facets of your vacation be truly memorable enough to create such energetic reviews. We will definitely strive for an even more resounding success to your holidays in the years to come. Thank you for sharing your happiness with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When you come back from a place that has service as exceptional as Grand Velas you don't want to wait too long before you write a review. We are returned from Grand Velas this evening. This place is just as nice as all other reviews will make you believe.

Its the right size place with just about 200+ rooms. this week there was perhaps 30-40% occupancy at MAX. that made for the service to be even extra special.

Make a wish and they will do their level best to make it come true. They just don't say NO.

we wanted a bigger suite and a ocean facing one - they hesitated only slightly but then put us on the 9th floor with a private terrace jacuzzi over looking the bay with spectacular views of the sunset. Beautiful

Room service - awesome - ask what u want and they will deliver with a smile on their face

Pool - there are multiple pools that are "connected" - Alfredo at the pool bar will serve you the drink of your choice (or his) with a big smile on his face. They want to make sure you're happy

The views from the hotel are awesome. we had no problem with getting poolside chairs but i could see if the hotel is 70%+ occupied, this could be an issue.

For us, the heroes of the trip were chef (more like magician) Claudio Hotter and our conceirge Gina.

We are vegetarians and we avoid "all inclusive" because of the limited choices. we had alerted Chef Claudio who is the executive chef ahead of time. And boy was he prepared. He had a 4 course lunch planned for us each day and a 6+ course dinner. Amazing food. Amazing service. The entire kitchen staff made us feel awesome. Perhaps the #1 reason why we will actually return to this place in the future (we never return to the same place again other than Yosemite but that might actually change).

Gina the concierge was very charming. Very proud of Mexico's culture and the various places to see. She wanted to help us wherever she could. Once the Activity center was not able to accomodate our request for a specific activity and Gina made that happen as well.

Overall, this place would make you feel special (just go at a time when its not too crowded). we met several repeat visitors there and everyone goes back because of hte food and service.

The rooms are decent sized. the decor of the rooms could have been a bit better but who cares about that when the view out the patio is so awesome.

O, the Kids activity club: our kid (6 yrs) loved it. Infact he wanted to go there till our taxi arrived for the ride to the airport.

We had fun kayaking, learning spanish, blackjack, water aerobics, jenga etc. etc. Boogey board..

All in all an amazing place.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: center of the floor. 740 was a great room, 932 was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much Sres. Patel on your delightful observations of your stay with us.
Just one of the many aspects that set Grand Velas apart from other all inclusives is the human factor. Our management has a face that is easily accessible, case in point, our Executive
Chef Claudio in taking the time and effort to cater to your specific family and your needs.
At Grand Velas our guests have names along with individual desires and expectations. We know that the personal touches are perhaps going to result in you and your family returning in the future, because after all, we recognize to the full extent that this is a hospitality business.
Thank you again for your preference and Chef Claudio and Gina send their greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.