We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 Star Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Save Saved
You added Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 Star Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I vacationed at Grand Velas in mid-October of this year. Wow! What an amazing stay! This was our 2nd AI vacation- the first being at Excellence in Riviera Maya- and we wanted more of an upscale experience- something similar to a 5 star hotel but with the drinks and food included. We definitely found what we were looking for! The drinks and food were amazing - but topping that was the service. We were so amazed by what great service we received and how friendly everyone who worked there was. On our first day the pool bar manager, David, came by- asked us what we would like- my husband asked for a beer that the hotel did not carry- and 15 minutes later he returned with a case of the beer that he had purchased at the grocery store down the street! He put 1/2 of the case on ice at the bar for use during our visit, and personally delivered the other half to our room. We were impressed! The food in all the restaurants were great- we liked Piaf the best and returned there twice. Make sure you get the martini's made-to-order at your table. The pools were always clean and beautiful- and empty- I think we went during a very slow time of year, but regardless, we never had to worry about getting a chair at the pool and most times had a section of the pool to ourselves. Jackie at the pool was the best! Always was there with a smile on her face!
Nightlife at the resort is very minimal- they have the Lobby Bar which sometimes has music in the evenings- we had a great time with the bartenders- they even made a dance party for us one night. Oscar mixed great drinks!
We had two rooms during our stay- both were very nice, clean and well appointed. Management at the hotel moved us during the middle of our stay since there was a car show going on at the beach (right outside of our room) so they moved us to a Governor's Suite at no charge- which was well appreciated.
Great gym, great spa, great food and drink- what more can you ask for? We will definitely be back or try the other Grand Velas in Riviera Maya next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velas M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit. Comments like yours give us a fabulous opportunity to celebrate!!
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurants and the service, I will make sure to share your recognition to Jacky and David.

Please contact me if there is anything I can do to make your next stay more enjoyable,

Sincerely

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    160
    47
    24
    25
See reviews for
348
418
11
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to host our wedding in Puerto Vallarta as this is one of our favorite places to vacation. We had stayed at Grand Velas previously and were impressed by the service, food and staff. The absolute best part of this hotel is the staff. They go above and beyond to be helpful and service here is perfect. Having tried a few other hotels, we decided Grand Velas would be the best place for our guests. Although it was a bit more expensive than other places, we felt our guests would appreciate the extra service and beautiful hotel grounds.
Now, for the wedding.... We decided to only host 3 parties here and have our wedding off site due to restrictions on hours. The wedding has to end by midnight at the hotel, which was not an option for us. I thought that since the service was so good, hosting a beach party, spa party and farewell brunch should be quite easy. However, I was VERY MISTAKEN. I had 3 different wedding planners. After emailing the second one 6 times with no response (3 weeks went by), I decided to call and see why I couldn't get a response. When I called, I was told, "oh, she doesn't work here anymore"...SERIOUSLY... Was anyone going to tell me or email me or respond to my messages? I was told they would get the new coordinator to call me back. We arranged a time... No call. I emailed and was told they did try to call, but i didnt answer....? I called and set another time... No call. This time I emailed at that time and said that I was sitting by the phone waiting for a call and magically, the phone rang. Speaking to the new coordinator it was obvious she did not have all the details that the previous coordinator and I had decided on, and all our guests' reservations were mixed up. At this point I decided I would have to fly to puerto Vallarta to organize everything in person. When I did this, Geraldine,the new coordinator was extremely professional and organized and had everything detailed (with a few errors that were corrected easily) on paper. I felt much more at ease knowing she was involved. After this I did not worry about it until 2 weeks before the wedding. At this time I emailed again with no response, but eventually a few days before the wedding I was contacted. They assured everything was ready. Upon arrival, our guests were to receive a gift bag and bottle of wine from us that would be placed in their rooms. When we arrived we found out none of the guests had received the wine, a few didn't get their bag. When brought to their attention, they assured it would be fixed. They would "personally deliver" to rooms. It wasn't 2 hours after this conversation that 2 groups of guests arrived, were then taken to the wrong rooms, had to wait 1 hour to be accommodated in the correct rooms... And of course did not receive their bag or their wine upon arrival.
Overall,the end result and actual events turned out fantastic. The food was great and service was excellent. However, the organization and communication leaves a lot to be desired. It is the details that make the difference, and this is where they are lacking.
Grand Velas Is a great place to stay when visiting this area, but not the ideal place for a wedding. Although Geraldine is kind and amazingly patient (much to her credit she remained composed and tolerate my rants about disorganization with amazing grace), I think she would benefit from having a bit more help and improved communication with the staff.
We got there in the end, but unfortunately it required a significant amount of prompting, supervision and showing up early to ensure things were set up. I would have liked to be a bit more relaxed during my wedding week, but the events were amazing.
Thank you Geraldine and Grand Velas for an unforgettable week and for putting up with our need for perfection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Accommodations: This hotel has everything you could want. Everything was immaculate inside and out including the beach. The food was fresh and delicious. The drinks were top-shelf liquor. The servers were courteous and happy. They genuinely like their job and want to please.

I cannot say enough positive things about this resort. I will definitely be back.

If they want to improve, they could include free wi-fi..... At least the wi-fi that we paid for was quick and reliable.

Room Tip: I would have given 5 stars for sleep quality because the mattress and pillows were awesome, but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixchel M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, thank you for your preference and for the time you have taken to post your comments regarding your visit to our resort. Our staff will be satisfied to know your appreciation.
Please keep in touch with us for any further information or assistance.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is Amazing. From the moment we arrived we felt like royalty. The grounds and pools are amazing, the room was nice, clean and very large, the food was Incredible. I knew that other people had given the food good reviews, but I was blown away. All of the restaurants were Wonderful, room service was fantastic, and everything arrived hot and tasty. The staff of Grand Velas was Exceptional; Oscar at Frida was so cool, he made us real Mexican Coffee, best presentation we have ever seen. Carlos at the pool went above and beyond every day; he made sure we were taken care of all day long. I can't say enough about Carlos, his laugh is contagious so if you are lucky enough to be in his section you will have a wonderful time. Israel G. at the buffet was a spectacular waiter, every morning when we came into to eat their fabulous breakfast he remembered what we wanted asked if wanted anything else, he was great!

We can’t say enough about Grand Velas, they made our honeymoon incredible.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Ambassador Suite. It was worth it especially for couples who want private time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixchel M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, we thank you for taking the time to express your experience during your stay with us. It was an honor to be part of such a special celebration. It is very nice to know that you enjoyed every minute since you arrived to our marvelous hotel.

All of us are hopping to have the pleasure to host you again at this your home away from home.

Please keep in touch with our Concierge Services for any assistance on your next visit.
Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After a truly amazing and wonderful experience for New Year's 2011 at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, we thought we'd venture to Nuevo Vallara to celebrate New Year's 2012. Well it wasn't a venture, it was a horrible adventure. While the property and staff (especially Josue helping us at the beach and all of the concierges) were quite lovely, the "beach front" property location could not be any worse. Fighting for a lounge chair was bad enough, but having large local families, and their pets, camped out in front of the ropes (see pictures) for entire day picnics and hanging their laundry, wet towels and bathing suits made it feel more like a Coney Island public beach. Entrance to the "free public beaches" is right next to the property.

According to their website, "Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations." "Feast your eyes on beauty in every direction from the moment you arrive..." "We welcome you to our peaceful refuge, where your spirit will be refreshed by Five Diamond service and the best accommodations...". The property - yes. The rooms - yes. The staff - yes. New Year's Eve celebration - yes. The restaurants - yes. Unfortunately, the beach was terrible and took away from what could have been a very nice vacation. Feast your eyes on these pictures and decide for yourself. I couldn't recommend anyone to go to this property.... but would highly recommend the Grand Velas Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixchel M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your experience. I will make sure to share your nice comments to all the concierge and to Josue.
I really hope to have the honor to host you again and pamper you as you deserved.
Best Regards!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been here 2 times and each time I have been treated like a princess... every need is taken care of promplty by this wonderful attentive staff. The all iinclusive food is very high end and delicious! The pool is simple beatuiful and we (the girls) named the place where one can be partailly submerged while lying down THE LEDGE. All of the restaraunts were deliscious. I frefered the Italian one the best!! Their spa is a whole experience in itself!!!
Just go!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have views but the room that's the far left and closest to the ocean is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixchel M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit we thank you for your nice comments and for choosing us. It is great to know that you enjoyed every minute at our resort. Please rest assures that I will let everybody know about your recognition, it is always pleasant to hear we have accomplish one of our main goals.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards!
IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My 8 night stay in this amazingly beautiful hotel was the best birthday present i could have asked for! The staff was awesome. The knew our names the first day and didn't ever forget them, and they were always on the spot when our drinks were empty :) The activities center was really fun. They have something going on at the hotel all day long and the guys who run it are great! I thought the food was amazing and the restaurants had great atmosphere! The lobby bar has an awesome live band every night with great bar staff. The view from our room was amazing. Being in the bay surrounded by the Sierra Madre mountains was something i will never forget. I will go back to this hotel time and time again.

Room Tip: My room was great and i don't think you could get a bad room. Of course you get a better view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixchel M, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest.

We truly thank you for your preference, we are very glad to know that you had a fantastic time at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit. Once again thank you for making us part of your birthday. I hope to have the pleasure to see you again next year to celebrate with you such an important day!!
We appreciate your very kind comment; please keep in touch with us for any further information.

Sincerely!

IXCHEL MENDOZA SAMANO
Chief Concierge
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
T: +52 (322) 226 8007
imendoza@grandvelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.