We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place, not much atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Al Sur

Sonora Al Sur
Enfrente de Universidad Technical | Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta, No. 64, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 101 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Napa, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great local place, not much atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If your Spanish is limited, it might be intimidating the first time you order. But, great steaks, great beans, good service. Hand made torillas, better than most. Possible downside is lack of mixed drinks. Enjoyed my t-bone; husband had a filet. Skip the papas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    72
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not much "atmosphere" but great steaks The sides are unmatched anywhere! A local restaurant that has expanded due to tourism. Partly my fault due to my many recommendations. Now have wine and beer available unlike previous years but you can still bring your own wine if you prefer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delicious steak. Very different ordering and paying system. The waiters out front are super friendly and helpful, but the ladies in the butcher shop where you get your meat have very little English and are not helpful. The beans are fabulous. I would go back. No mixed drinks are available.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak - highly recommend this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant on January 5, 2013 and was not disappointed. The steak was cooked to perfection, the accompanying baked potato was delicious and the coronas were cold (just the way corona should be served). This steakhouse had a great atmosphere, it was busy and the staff were bilingual and very friendly and helpful.

If you are in Nuevo Vallarta, make it a point to go to this Steakhouse - we will be going back for the great steak!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lots of meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I wanted to try this place because every time I drove by the place was busy, when I finally went there I was not disappointed, it's a very good restaurant, I recommend it if you are craving meats!! They have a good selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonora Al Sur also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sonora Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Al Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.