We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Resort

Save Saved
You added Bahia del Sol Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia del Sol Resort
Paseo Cocteros & Retorno Cozumel, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My father has owned here for two decades, my first visit was this December when a family reunion was held. Though my wife and I stayed at another resort down the beach, once we first saw this place, I understood why my father loved it so very much.

As it was one of the very first resorts to be built along this stretch of beach, back then, the Hacienda style of architecture was of fashion as it still should be today. This property represents all that is good about staying in a Mexican style resort. This is not a hi-rise, nor was it designed to see how many hundreds of people can you cram onto a piece of property as has been done to every other property adjacent along this beach.

No, this is a cute, very quiet, low key and delightful little place to enjoy a break form whatever you are escaping from. The staff I met were very friendly and helpful, the outside restaurant (the only one) serves a nice mix of simply, good eats at fair prices.

Even at Christmas time, there were always lounges available around the pool, what a surprise. Again we did not stay here, only spent time with our family but I can say with no doubt that this will be where we stay next time around.

My only complaint and it has only to do with the property Owner, is the he built the most UGLY high-rise next door, inches away from the existing building and as close to the beach as his evident bribes would reach. It's very sad but a testament of how poorly Mexico protects it's precious beaches. But then again, when was the last time you visited, Miami Beach?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a very lovely place to stay; the restaurant is very good with a variety of meals to choose from; their salsas are great!!!! every meal is wonderful...we loved the whole atmosphere of Bahia del Sol...what a great place to unwind, relax and soak up the Mexican sunshine....will return soon for another holiday.....

Room Tip: they are all good; great views from every room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My first trip to Nuevo Vallarta. The resort is very quiet, save for the BBQ on Tuesday night. The place was packed and the music had everyone dancing. A great party. It was over by 11.

The best part of this resort is the beach. There was plenty of room and plenty of palapa chairs. I spent most of the week on the beach reading. Very different from PVR beaches. There are vendors- about 10% of the number on PVR breaches.

I did do the turtle release activity.There is no charge at the moment, but they ask for a donation. The preserve is about 75 yards down the beach, If they have a turtle release, it is at 6:30 PM. You can walk over the the preserve and they will have a sign saying release today. It is in Spanish. I learned that Hoy means Today.

The room was dated but very clean. I used the kitchen and was pleased with the utensils provided.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I needed to check something on the internet and they let me use the resort computer.

I thought the prices for restaurants and groceries were about 20% higher than in PVR. The grocery store is a 20 minute walk in Paradise Plaza.

Was a great week and I would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very quiet place, not a party spot. A beautiful beach that stretches for miles. Next door at a turtle preserve they were releasing baby turtles every night (we stayed in middle of November). Really neat! Great staff. Restaurant on site was excellent, waiters would accommadate you with changes to the menu,and reasonably priced. Good restaurants within walking distance. We felt very safe in the Nuevo Vallarta area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We spent the first two weeks of November 2011 at this facility. The main reason to keep coming back is the people. Everyone that stays here is friendly. There are only 69 units and 21 are full time owners from various locations in the states and Canade. That means there are only 48 units available to rent. That being said, you do not have to wade thru lounge chairs to get to the pool or feel crowded. The beach is almost private with residents the only ones that use the area directly in front of the hotel. There is a large vacant area to the north and the building to the south is whole ownership so very few people around. The food is good and reasonably priced.
The gentleman working at the reception desk is Gilberto and can be extremely helpful. He can make reservations for you, call a cab or just give you good information. We tip him when we depart for all he has done for us.

Room Tip: Prefer ground floor but do not mind using other floors. We typically stay in E building which has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We chose this resort because it's a small complex with palapas on the beach. Nothing fancy,rooms can be spartan but clean with great views from the balconies. The restaurant Seahorse is a added bonus. If after a hard day at the beach you don't feel like venturing out you you can dine there. They serve breakfast,lunch,snacks and drinks on the beach and dinner. Nice staff, especially Anidal and Margarita. The gardeners do a really nice job on the landscaping. Make sure you check out the baby turtle release program next door...fun to see them head out to sea for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We found this to be a comfortable small resort. Nice pool, large unit, the people working were friendly and helpful. The restaurant had wonderful food and the service was good . The waters could not do enough to take care of you. They even fix items that are not on the menu. The sunsets are gorgous.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and the buildings are four stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Resort

Address: Paseo Cocteros & Retorno Cozumel, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.