We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Resort

Save Saved
You added Bahia del Sol Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia del Sol Resort
Paseo Cocteros & Retorno Cozumel, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very quiet place, not a party spot. A beautiful beach that stretches for miles. Next door at a turtle preserve they were releasing baby turtles every night (we stayed in middle of November). Really neat! Great staff. Restaurant on site was excellent, waiters would accommadate you with changes to the menu,and reasonably priced. Good restaurants within walking distance. We felt very safe in the Nuevo Vallarta area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We spent the first two weeks of November 2011 at this facility. The main reason to keep coming back is the people. Everyone that stays here is friendly. There are only 69 units and 21 are full time owners from various locations in the states and Canade. That means there are only 48 units available to rent. That being said, you do not have to wade thru lounge chairs to get to the pool or feel crowded. The beach is almost private with residents the only ones that use the area directly in front of the hotel. There is a large vacant area to the north and the building to the south is whole ownership so very few people around. The food is good and reasonably priced.
The gentleman working at the reception desk is Gilberto and can be extremely helpful. He can make reservations for you, call a cab or just give you good information. We tip him when we depart for all he has done for us.

Room Tip: Prefer ground floor but do not mind using other floors. We typically stay in E building which has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We chose this resort because it's a small complex with palapas on the beach. Nothing fancy,rooms can be spartan but clean with great views from the balconies. The restaurant Seahorse is a added bonus. If after a hard day at the beach you don't feel like venturing out you you can dine there. They serve breakfast,lunch,snacks and drinks on the beach and dinner. Nice staff, especially Anidal and Margarita. The gardeners do a really nice job on the landscaping. Make sure you check out the baby turtle release program next door...fun to see them head out to sea for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We found this to be a comfortable small resort. Nice pool, large unit, the people working were friendly and helpful. The restaurant had wonderful food and the service was good . The waters could not do enough to take care of you. They even fix items that are not on the menu. The sunsets are gorgous.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and the buildings are four stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I will preface this by saying that we have a 20 month old and therefore the reason this place received a low rating was due to the noise and frustration of dealing with this.

Pros- great location on the bay, right next to the small turtle sanctuary. Walk to Paradise Plaza is about 10 minutes where there is a small grocery store and various other shops (Subway, McD's...if you want that sort of thing). Can catch the local bus to downtown PV for 13 pesos one way, Wal-Mart-11 pesos. Place and area was VERY safe. Beach was great to walk along and goes on forever. Taxis are readily available and there is a nice little taco stand across the street. Staff is very helpful and accomadating and they have a small restaurant on-site. We had a 2 bdrm (1 bdrm + loft) which was very spacious. They did have a 2 burner stove in the room, microwave, no oven. WiFi available for $5 for the week. Safe in room avail as well for $5 for the week.

Cons: the better days for the decor/maintenance are behind it. They are in need of updating and they are aware of this (which they will tell you if you take their short 20 minute tour). Beds are hard but have heard you might be able to ask for some sort of mattress.
We were put in the C Building which is in the same location as the front desk. Could hear the phone ringing all the time, plus the owner has 2 beagles/hounds which liked to make themselves known (barking) around lunch and dinner time. They were also working on a unit below us which brought some hammering ... Again, due to our toddler, this became a source of frustration. We switched over to an A bldg unit. Great views. Downside of this one is that upstairs bathroom smelled like their was a sewer back up. Had to keep windows open for some fresh air and froze my parents (no heaters).

All in all, I loved the location, the small feel to the place (versus the huge all inclusive places), staff was great. Normally, being a budget traveller, the dated part does not bother me whatsoever. But the noise issues as it related to our toddler was a source of frustration (especially the dogs as I saw no reason to have baying dogs at a hotel). If it were just me & my wife, the place would have been just fine although it would have been nice for just a tad more comfortable beds.

But if we came back again with our small one, since there are so many other places in the PV/NV area, I would probably give another one a try.

If you are looking for value, quiet spot (although ask to not be in the C bldg), beautiful location, and are a retired couple...this place just might be the spot.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

This place is an undiscovered treasure. The location is great for relaxing and unwinding.
I had rented a car and found I may not have needed one. Bucerias is 4 miles north.
There is a FREE tourist bus available at their front entrance.The rooms are spacious and kept spotless. One small problem was fixed immeadiately. The staff is fantastic and friendly to a fault. Anything we requested was provided or explained to us.Their was beach and pool service-even room service if necessary.
The other quests are very sociable.
The only problem was that I couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardmore oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Our yearly 2 weeks stay at Bahia Del Sol was once again very enjoyable. The resturant is now open and the food is delicious. It is the place to be at sunset. Most of the rooms have completed the remodeling. The beds are very firm, but we find them to be very comfortable and have no problem sleeping. The room air conditioners tend to keep all outside noise away and lull you to sleep.
Altho it is always very quiet after sundown. Bahia now has inroom internet service also.
The staff is always friendly 24/7. If we have a problem, it is immediately corrected.
We love the view from the balcony. All units have balconies and table & chairs overlooking the pool and the beautiful Banderos Bay. We are returning in May/June taking our 13 & 17 year old grandsons. If you are looking for night life or shopping, take the bus to Puerta Vallarta. Nuevo is a quiet, relaxing beautiful area with a wonderful beach and friendly vacationers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Resort

Address: Paseo Cocteros & Retorno Cozumel, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.