We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in the Mayan Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epazote

Epazote
Grand Luxxe | Grupo Vidanta, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
3222264000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fairly new restaurant in the Grupo Mayan/VIDA complex. Excellent traditional Mexican specialties.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the Mayan Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We eat here on every trip to the Luxxe we take. This time we tried their cooking class on Wednesday at 1:00pm. The chef doesn't speak english, but on of the concierge's translated for us. The food is outstanding, authentic, flavorful. We especially like the Pibil pork, a unique flavor form the Yucatan peninsula. The class consisted of how to make guacamole properly, yes, properly. Who knew? It was the best I have ever had. They make it table side when dining in the restaurant. The main course was fresh snapper with a vera cruz sauce and dessert was fresh churros and mexican hot chocolate....what a surprise hit! Yummy!
The menu, I think is challenging for North Americans. Traditional names of regional foods are not familiar, thus the restaurant is rarely full, unlike the burger joint in the next building. I recommend breaking out and trying this fabulous restaurant next time when at the Mayan in NV.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“It gives the appearance, BUT...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nicely decorated- great service- the food is so disappointing.- not well prepared and surprisingly tasteless The onion buns were delicious- I would never go back. They make an attempt with head waiter, junior waiters, menu choices, music, decor- nice but I go for the food- and- never again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Literally the best margaritas and Mexican food ever.

On a one week trip, we visited Epazote twice, it was that good!

The margaritas were out of this world. The chips came with 3 different kinds of delicious salsa. Your choice of rolls with 3 different types of butter, orange chipotle, plain, and garlic Epazote was yummy. The chef prepared a moush moush each time that was delicious. Quesadillas for the kids. Outstanding table made guacamole made to your liking.

The first time I ordered their sampler of the favorites including Spicy Pork Burrito, Platain Dobladitas (my favorite), a spicy pork rind Gordita, and bean burrito. A little sample of each was fantastic. The second trip back I had the Shrimp Almond Mole Enchiladas, which were great, but I preferred the sampler. Another couple with us raved about the Tortilla Soup being the best ever. And the Picante Chocolate Fondant was a spicy melting chocolate cake was out of this world fantastic. I would gladly recommend Epazote to anyone in the Vallarta area wanting tasty Mexican food, great atmosphere, and outstanding service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

ONe of our best meals. The guacamole is custom made a the table. The margueritas are wonderful and tasty. Not cheap, but great value

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy place inside the Grande Luxxe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the poblano chili. It had shrimp and octopus inside. All the food at our table had wonderful presentation. It is a bit pricey, but it was quick and good. My kids were able to find fajitas and they enjoyed them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epazote also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Epazote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epazote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.