We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epazote

Epazote
Grand Luxxe | Grupo Vidanta, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
3222264000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fairly new restaurant in the Grupo Mayan/VIDA complex. Excellent traditional Mexican specialties.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Literally the best margaritas and Mexican food ever.

On a one week trip, we visited Epazote twice, it was that good!

The margaritas were out of this world. The chips came with 3 different kinds of delicious salsa. Your choice of rolls with 3 different types of butter, orange chipotle, plain, and garlic Epazote was yummy. The chef prepared a moush moush each time that was delicious. Quesadillas for the kids. Outstanding table made guacamole made to your liking.

The first time I ordered their sampler of the favorites including Spicy Pork Burrito, Platain Dobladitas (my favorite), a spicy pork rind Gordita, and bean burrito. A little sample of each was fantastic. The second trip back I had the Shrimp Almond Mole Enchiladas, which were great, but I preferred the sampler. Another couple with us raved about the Tortilla Soup being the best ever. And the Picante Chocolate Fondant was a spicy melting chocolate cake was out of this world fantastic. I would gladly recommend Epazote to anyone in the Vallarta area wanting tasty Mexican food, great atmosphere, and outstanding service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    22
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

ONe of our best meals. The guacamole is custom made a the table. The margueritas are wonderful and tasty. Not cheap, but great value

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy place inside the Grande Luxxe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the poblano chili. It had shrimp and octopus inside. All the food at our table had wonderful presentation. It is a bit pricey, but it was quick and good. My kids were able to find fajitas and they enjoyed them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Eleven of us went to this restaurant for Christmas dinner. For some (not Mexican food lovers)' it wasn't their top pick, but was where we could all get in with a late reservation.

But, my husband and I loved it. It is an upscale place, just off the main foyer of the hotel. It appeared they had an outdoor seating area, although we didn't see it. I ordered the red snapper, and it was scrumptious, with a sauce I mopped up with the fresh tortillas they'd brought for trying the various sauces. My husband had a mole, which he thoroughly enjoyed. When they forgot the chicken in our duaghter's quesadilla, they brought her out to entire grilled chicken breasts!

Service was on pointe. Sauces and dishes were well explained, including the heat level of various items. We would have liked to go back as just our smaller immediate family, but ran out of time. We'll return for a special night out on our next trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The cochinita pibil was the best I've had. The service was out standing. In short it was the perfect romantic dining experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epazote also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Epazote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epazote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.