We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enrique Garcia Goes the Extra Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Epazote

Epazote
Grand Luxxe | Grupo Vidanta, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
3222264000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fairly new restaurant in the Grupo Mayan/VIDA complex. Excellent traditional Mexican specialties.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Enrique Garcia Goes the Extra Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Yes, I am biased, as a Grand Luxxe member, but for many reasons this is my favorite restaurant in Nuevo Vallarta. The service is impeccable, especially from Socrates our dedicated waiter. As diners, we present a challlenge, as I am lactose and gluten intolerant and I sometimes travel with friends or family who have life-threatening food allergies, but chef Enrique and his staff always takes special care with our meals. The menu is a great introduction to Mexican regional cuisine, we enjoy the Mexican treat festival antojito, a great way to try four different small bites. The sea bass, and snapper Veracruz are excellent, as are the braised short ribs and lamb mixiote. Hoping they put the flourless chocolate caked with a hint of chile on the regular menu, but the postre selection is great. The sorbets especially the jaimaica made from hibiscus flowers is very tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“High end Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in food selections and the food more than delivered in taste and presentation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I realized in Mexico that is really difficult to find a place where you can eat mexican food. Most of the time, you would get a lot of tacos, quesadillas, etc.
Here I discovered things like the Huauzontles, squashblossom sauce, Tampiqueña with nopales, Xnipek sauce, etc (I prefer not to clarify what they are because I´m expecting for you to give it a try) The greatest thing of eating that kind of food is that waiters demonstrated me that every chosen dish has a history related with mexican culture.
I totally recommend the guacamole because they prepare it in front of you (it taste better).

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Regional Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Quite surprised this fine restaurant is not rated higher but it is somewhat difficult to get to if you are not staying on the Mayan properties. The restaurant is nestled in part of the Grande Luxxe tower one in a very comfortable setting. Indoor and patio seating available. We ate there two nights this week and were very impressed with the food and service. The second night was a prix fixe tasting menu accompanied by wines from Mexico, the experience was world class. As an aside, some very nice wine is made in northern Mexico and it was a pleasant experience to see the cuisines matched with these wines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Epazote: Fine Mexican Gormet Food Served in a Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience and food at Epazote! We each had a 3-course meal. For appetizers we shared seafood chile rellanos and Mole tacos. Loved the rellanos but would try something other than the Mole tacos next time. For dinner, wife had a scrumptious, perfectly cooked, seabass with grilled vegtables. She loved it. Our desserts were really cool! I had the 3-corn special: corn ice cream, carmelized pop-corn, and corn flan. Yes, it was a bit strange, but ..... heh it is fun to try new things. I enjoyed it. Wife had a flan with sorbet. She liked it too. All in all we had a great experience. The ambience is fantastic!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epazote also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Epazote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epazote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.