We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samba Vallarta All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Samba Vallarta All Inclusive to your Saves list
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. costera y la playa s/n., Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Samba Vallarta by Pueblo Bonito)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from an adult family holiday at the Samba and will definitely consider returning. None of us had ever been to the West Coast of Mexico (we have always loved the other side with the Caribbean waters and the great snorkelling), but decided on the Puerto Vallarta area because it was the only destination that we could get non-stop flights from Comox on Vancouver Island. Did the search on Trip Advisor looking for a SMALL, basic (we weren't looking for luxurious amenities or a spa) all-inclusive resort on a great part of the beach, away from the City and this is what we found. This is an older hotel, but it is very well-maintained and clean. All the reviews highlighting the incredible staff are true - very friendly and helpful. The beds were incredibly comfortable! We were a bit worried about the food because of some of the negative reviews, but loved it - great selection, with a different theme each night, and always lots of Mexican choices in the mix. Didn't even get around to trying the Italian or Mexican restaurant. Resort guests were a nice mix of young families, friends, and couples, many of which were Mexican which added to the whole experience.

We booked this hotel through WestJet Vacations which I would also highly recommend - we were looked after everystep of the way and the whole trip was worry-free.

The beach...
We all prefer the beach over the pool so were happy to easily find chairs on the beach each day with the choice of sun or shade. (Note: The pool/poolside area was beautiful if that is your preference) The ocean waters were clean, warm and there was great surf for body surfing or boogie boarding. There are some vendors selling their goods on the beach, but all were very friendly and respectful. The beach is great to walk on, especially at low tide and you can walk for miles in either direction. I would highly recommend a walk into Bucerias (about a 45 minute walk) to explore the streets and market. Taxis are easily found for a return trip to the resort if you are not up to the walk home.

The only two negatives that affected some of our family members, was the noise of the air-conditioning and of the nightly entertainment. The air-conditioning didn't personally bother me as I cooled the room down before going to bed, turned it off at night and left the patio door open so the surf could be heard. If you are not a fan of the nightly entertainment, request an even numbered room - they overlook the grounds of the neighbouring Riu Resort and are a bit quieter (although the Riu has nightly entertainment as well - just a bit farther in the distance) than the Samba pool view rooms (odd numbers).

Be sure to take lots of small denomination money (pesos, cdn$ or us$) for the resort staff - Mexican wages are ghastly, and the service at the Samba is exceptional. Tips are all well-deserved and appreciated.

All in all a fabulous trip! Thank you to all the staff and management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    377
    159
    109
    51
See reviews for
351
270
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

For our first family holiday to Mexico we decided to book an all-inclusive resort. We didn't really think that it would be our style but we liked the comfort of having everything included should we need to fall back on it. We ended up taking a lot of day trips out of the resort on our own but did enjoy ourselves while we were there. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and in our eyes that really makes or breaks a business.

Elijio was our favourite waiter in the buffet restaurant. He was very friendly, very attentive and even has a brother in our home town who we were able to bring photos for after our holiday.

The housekeeping staff left towel art on the beds and the kids loved coming back to animals made of cotton terry. The room was very clean.

The beach was not over-crowded and I don't imagine that it would be in the busy season either. Many of the other resorts that we saw on walks down the beach had row upon row of beach chairs. I can't imagine the crowd of people when these are all full. Samba had a few nice rows and enough beach space for everyone to have their own zone. Anna braided my hair on the beach and did a great job. She was very quick and very friendly too.

The bell staff were all very helpful for us. They were quick with the taxis and always had information on the best routes to take to get to our destination.

I wish that the Mexican a la carte restaurant had been available more nights. We went one night and the food was absolutely amazing. Really, really superb. We booked in again for the a la carte on our last night but unfortunately there was an outdoor barbeque theme that night and it was quite disappointing. If you have the chance to go for the Mexican a la carte though, absolutely take advantage of that!
The snack bar by the beach/pool was one other thing that could use some improvement in the way of selection. The food there seemed like cafeteria food that we would see back home. Rubbery pizza, wings, chicken nuggets, french fries...not the wonderful food that we came to Mexico for. Mexico is host to some amazing cuisine and we would have loved to see it displayed more prominently. (Even if just fresh local fruit and vegetables, tortillas, fresh cheese, etc. That beats chicken nuggets and fries any day!)

One of the things that I stressed over before our vacation was the kids club. I wanted to make sure that something was available for the kids to do. Well we never ended up finding the club when we were there. We didn't look very hard though. The kids were so busy swimming, boogie boarding, playing in the sand that they didn't want to do anything else. The boogie boards were available for loan by the pool deck and we brought our own life jacket from home for the little guy. I'm not sure if they have those available at the resort or not? Sand toys, snorkels and fins I would suggest bringing from home or stopping by somewhere like the Mega to buy them. The beach shack sells these but they are very expensive and likely not something that you will bring home with you to warrant the cost.

We didn't spend much time at the pool at all. It was under construction and there was very loud dance music pumping at all times. Not my scene. When not being worked on, it seemed like it would be nice and very clean though.

We were easily able to do day trips to Puerto Vallarta, Bucerias, Punta Mita and Sayulita from the resort. Bucerias is walking distance on the beach. The others require a taxi or rickety and story-inspiring bus ride.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My friend and I spent some considerable time selecting the Samba. It was her first trip to Mexico, and my 5th, but first trip on this side ( been on the Carribean side before) we did NOT want night clubs and raucous night life, and although the evening entertainment is somewhat limiting, our stay was amazing.

This resort is exactly what it promises to be, small, exclusive, extremely friendly and clean. The food was extensive, well displayed and even when the hotel was at full capacity, the food kept coming. Pool side drinks service was constant, and the staff were a pleasure.

If there was one criticism, it is DO NOT book a room on the back side of the Hotel overlooking the next resort tennis courts.....they leaf blow the courts at 06.30 every morning!

I would recommend this hotel to anybody! BRAVO Samba Vallarta!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side view, the next door Hotel is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just recently returned from our all inclusive holiday from the Samba! What a great place! We have stayed at many 5 star resorts and never had the great service as we did here. The staff is great, the hotel is clean though a bit older some of the rooms are a bit musty smelling but I think in the humidt climites that is what to expect. The food was great even thought the buffet was not large it had all one could wish for. Great mix of american and Mexican foods. The drink selection is great and they can mix you anything your heart desires (and they are not weak drinks) The resort is smaller leaving you choice of beach or pool side chairs! Never did we not have a pick of chairs, we were a party of 8 and this was great! Not alot of acitivity around the pool so this keep the noise to a minimum, no swim up bar but awsome pool side and beach service! The beach is great for long walks and its very safe.
This great little spot is to be admired and enjoyed! Cozy and comfortable
If you are looking for a small resport with great service this one beats any of the larger resorts I have stayed at

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If your looking for small and quiet this resort will work. We were not looking for a resort with hundreds of rooms and thousands of people where you have to get up at 6 am to hold a lounge chair. What we found was a small resort that was very clean with friendly staff who made sure that you are happy. The buffet was great for breakfest , the snack bar for chips and dips and bugers for lunch , make your reservations early for the Ala carts itailian and mexican they were amazing .

The hotel is not a 4 star but a very nice 3 star at a great price. The rooms could use a bit of updating but overall very clean. pay the extra for a balcony and get a room on the 2 nd 3 rd or 4 th floor odd number overlooking the pools.

This resort has a great spot on the beach you can walk for hrs in either direction and its safe.

Not a party hotel !!! that what makes this place nice. Couples and families along with local mexicains families and that what makes this resort so special you really feel like you are in Mexico

Room Tip: odd number over looking the pool , pay the extra for a balcony !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After returning for the 4th time to this All-Inclusive hotel, services and things just keep getting better!, The food, the people, falicities and amenities are as always awesome. Did I mention the spectacular beach and weather down here?, It's one of the most beautiful destinations that I've been to. A guarantee to get some rest, enjoy the sun, the beach and regroup.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gardens are more noisier, the ones on the other end are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA20, Director General at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for so lovely comments about your stay at Samba Vallarta, we really appreciate it as it is very motivating for all our associates to continue offering the best , the quality service of our friendly and courteous staff make us a favorite for vacationers. We sincerely hope you and your family will be back soon here at your home Samba Vallarta.
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just returned from the Samba after yet another amazing holiday.The Samba is a small hotel ,right on the beach.It was perfect for all of us and the age range in our party(10 people) was from 2 years to 72 !!
Most of the staff have been there for many years which speaks well for any hotel.
The dining staff were wonderful,friendly as always...this includes Carlos(pinky),Ismael,Juan Carlos and Ricardo. Ernesto,who supervises the dining staff etc. is thoughtful,friendly and efficient.The chef,Teodoro is always there to help in any way and the food was always fresh and very tasty.
The drink staff are also great.These include Jose,Martin Bruno and Fermin.They remember what you ordered and are always pleasant and hard working.
Rosario ( front desk manager) is fantastic...she really knows her stuff..always smiling and very helpful.
The beach is swept daily and there are always enough loungers.There is even bar service on the beach.We don't use the pool much but there are plenty of activities near the pool during the day.
The hotel location is between Puerto Vallarta and Bucerias,both perfect for sightseeing.
If you want a hotel with clean,comfortable rooms, with new beds and awesome staff,you couldn't pick a better place!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA20, Director General at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
On behalf of Hotel Samba Vallarta thank you for post your experience regarding your stay, we are so glad it has been so pleasant. This comments are very motivating for all of us to continue offering the best, we are going to post your comments in our notice board so that all our co-workers fell your kindness. We hope you continue being one of our most valued guests at this your home “Samba Vallarta Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samba Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samba Vallarta All Inclusive

Address: Av. costera y la playa s/n., Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Samba Vallarta by Pueblo Bonito)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samba Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samba Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Samba Vallarta Pueblo Bonito
Hotel Samba Vallarta
Samba Vallarta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.