We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasnat Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samba Vallarta All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Samba Vallarta All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. costera y la playa s/n., Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Samba Vallarta by Pueblo Bonito)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasnat Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had reservations to stay at another resort and 2 days before we traveled they closed. We had to rush to find a hotel, that would fit our limited budget (we still had not got a refund from the other hotel).
Great Service, good, clean room, decent food. Adult Beverages that were not weak and some premuim brands were available. We wanted to relax and this was perfect for that.
There were minor issues, the shower could have been better, after a week I had a back ache from the bed (but this seems to be true of all hotels in PV), the a/c was loud. We ate buffet each night and because we are not fans of sea food or French Food we had some issues there, but that is us and not the hotel.
Would I recommend, yes

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    375
    159
    108
    51
See reviews for
347
265
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Samba is a smaller hotel, so by day two they call you by name. It is older but well kept. The rooms were very clean, and one of the best holiday beds and pillows I have had in my four trips to Mexico this year!! Fresh towels daily but if you are a facecloth fanatic bring your own, hit and miss on that.
Like all reviewers agree the staff make the hotel. I was there in 2008 and most of the same staff were still there, some even remembered my name!!
The Buffet is stocked and hot food is hot, and the cold food is on ice trays, which is nice for yogurt and creamy dressings, no worry of getting sick. If nothing in the buffet is interesting you can get eggs made to order, they have the bacon there as well. If you want to dine in one of the restaurants every morning at the buffet they have a sign in sheet for that night with a 6:30 or 8:30 seating. The pool snack bar is ok but I think the pizza and nuggets have to go, wings were good, if you have a hamburger be sure they cook it well done!! Would have been nice to have a tossed salad and dressing in the fridge they have there. There is an icecream machine and cones as well. The mexican restaurant was good, as well as the itallian for a nice break from buffet. Be sure to let them know if it is a birthday or special event!!
The pool bar opens at 10:am but until 11:00 you have to go up as they do not serve around the pool, that is due to the staff finishing the breakfast buffet, then they go to pool and beach shift, no big deal. the beach towels are at the pool at the rec centre. I would recommend bringing your own drinking cup as on a busy day they washed the plastic ones after use, not sanitary in my books, and maybe that is why some people posted drinks tasted like soap? After a day at the beach and pool around 5:30 or 6:00 the lobby bar opens and you will find Fermin or Bruno ready to shake you a martini or pour you a befor dinner drink. While we were there the staff had their company Christmas party, and we were invited because they said you are family, I did not attend but that is how they treat you at the samba!!(I work in customer service and the last thing I would want is my customers at my Christmas party)
My mom and aunt did the swimming with the dolphins and had a great time both in 80's, they try and get you to buy pictures but depending on your budget you do not have to.
There are no time share people at the hotel to hound you daily, morning after you arrive your travel rep will host about a 15 min meeting telling you what side trips you can do. A trip to Bucerias will cost a cab fair of about 85 pesos, lots of people took the bus for less so you have options.
Worst fear of my review is thanking all the staff, I hope I have not missed a name Ismael,salvador,martin,eric,ricardo,olga, mr.reyes, bruno,fermin,and above all javier at the front desk!! Samba management should be honored to have a staff like that!
Now when booking we booked with nolitours, I choose the nolitour plus plan, said to have the best room location of the hotel for ocean view, private check in,happy hour 2 times a week in there set up spot.(never happened)We booked the other 3 traveling with us a room with 2 queen size beds. Day one check in our room was on floor one overlooking the sidewalk and buffet, the 3 ladies had a king size bed, that night did get a rollaway, with no pillow or covers untill they moved the next day, to the room we booked.We also had to move to what we had paid for, but 2 days later.Do not waste your money on noliplus plan when booking, they do not deliver anything better then the reg plan. I do not hold the samba in error but the company I booked with.
read all the reviews and I hope you make a great choice for your special trip to mexico, as all hotels maybe it is a hit and miss depending on on how busy they are, but at the samba if you ask nicely you will get!! happy vacation!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Good value for the money. The grounds were well kept. The have a nice park for the kids. The staff was accommodating and super friendly. The rooms were basic but clean (the air conditioning was a bit on the loud side). We had a balcony room facing the pool and there was a bit of noise from the pool and nightly entertainment but it didn't really bother us. The pools were nice and when we left all the pool work was complete. The main restaurant was just alright. We were always able to find something to eat but the selection was very small. We didn't like the food at the beach restaurant. The pizza was stacked in a buffet dish and was dried out, the chicken nuggets didn't look like chicken. What bothered us the most was the birds that constantly fly through and walk on the chairs and tables. There was bird poop on every chair and nobody ever cleaned it off - disgusting! We only ate there a few times because we couldn't get over how unsanitary it was. But we just ate all our meals at the main restaurant and we were fine. The beach itself is fantastic but again there was bird poop on every chair and they never get cleaned. But we just threw our towels over the chairs and carried on. We wouldn't go back to this hotel because we realized we don't mind paying more for a little extra attention to cleanliness and a wider variety of restaurants and great food. However, if you can look past the few things we didn't appreciate it is a decent budget friendly resort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA20, General Manager at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We offer our thanks for sharing your comments about your stay at Samba Vallarta. Thanks to the constructive guest comments we have the opportunity to continue to improve on a daily basis, I would like to share with you that our goal is to exceed our guest satisfaction in every service aspect. I have taken attention from all and each one of the points that you mention in your comments.
We sincerely hope you and your family will be back soon here at your home Samba Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby Bc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our 10th visit to the Samba and once again had a great time. We usually go the 1st two weeks in December with a group of friends we have met at his hotel over the years (The Pirates). The staff are excellent and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I would mention their names (as they do ours) but honestly I would have to list each and everyone of them. We never went hungry, the food was very good and I didn't loose any weight. We had a Balcony room on the Riu side and had no complaints. The Bars were great as were the drinks and the beach service. The local tourists added to the the adventure and we in fact made some new Mexican friends, exchanging e-mail addresses the their last day. Yes for our 1st week the pool work was a little noisy (at times) but it is done to better the property was not a mayor inconvenience. It was sad to leave the Samba but is tempered by the fact we will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAMBA20, General Manager at Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your pleasant stay at Samba Vallarta, we really appreciate it as it is very motivating for all our associates to continue offering the best , the quality service of our great friendly and corteous staff make us a favorite for vacationers.
We sincerely hope you continue being one of our most valued guests at this your home “Samba Vallarta Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Once again a wonderful week of warm friendly atmosphere. As returning guests we were welcomed as usual, just like returning to family, Staff are the best, always ready to help, serve,make your stay something special. Suites or rooms are very clean and adequate with beautiful views from all the balcony's. Rosario was once again very helpful in arranging rooms for all of our extended family. Food is always available and a great variety to suit all appetites.
Special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries are acknowledged in several ways with all the dining staff ready to serenade.
The pools are very clean and maintained
Family oriented resort, yet also a great place for the senior set.to feel comfortable.

We recommend Samba to everyone searching for a special place on the ocean front, where sunsets are magnificent.

Marianne and Ron, B

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hi just got back from my vacation from Mexico (My first trip ever!!) and I must say this Samaba Vallarta gave me the best memories and enjoyed about everything there...Staff were so friendly and very very helpful...This trip will be remembered forever for so many reasons(service at the bar and food etc..,) ...You guys are just awesome...Keep at it Samba Vallarta!!.Would love to come back sooner...:) Xo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the time we entered the hotel to the time we left we felt like we were old friends. When we arrived we were welcomed by Omar, the general manager, and Rosario, the reservations manager. There are very few hotels where the general management actually takes time out of their busy day to greet you. It makes you feel very special. It was so nice to have the staff greet you as a returning guest before you even had a chance to say hello.

Every waiter /waitress were always there with whatever you needed. They would always acknowledge you by name and say hello as you passed by.

There was a group of eight of us. Our accommodations were the best. The rooms are kept exceptionally clean.

The food was excellent and never was there an empty container. The food was always hot and never stale. Once a week there was a BBQ on the beach. The setup was absolutely beautiful. There is a Mexican and an Italian specialty restaurant. We celebrated a birthday and an anniversary at those restaurants. The waiters and the dinners were superb.

The overall hotel is finely maintained and the grounds are immaculate.

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this quaint hotel to our friends. We will be returning at least on a yearly basis if not more often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samba Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samba Vallarta All Inclusive

Address: Av. costera y la playa s/n., Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Samba Vallarta by Pueblo Bonito)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samba Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samba Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Samba Vallarta Pueblo Bonito
Hotel Samba Vallarta
Samba Vallarta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samba Vallarta All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.