We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knows how great it would have been if the card machine had not been broken.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dinamita

El Dinamita
Paseo Cocoteros, lote 8 villa 8 | next to Fajita Republic, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
322 2977694
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 101 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marisqueria al fresco, owned by the same people who own Fajita Republic on the same lot
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Who knows how great it would have been if the card machine had not been broken.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

As we were seated we were informed the card machine was broken and it would be "cash only" tonight. As it was our last night in NV we were not carrying a lot of cash on us. There were four in our party and we were able to come up with about $120 US and that would have to cover drinks and cab fare back to the hotel. The waiters suggested a menu that we were able to afford. Had the card machine been working we would have probably been able to sample even more of the wonderful food. It's been two weeks and everyone in our party is still talking about the wonderful tuna cerviche. The escargo was amazing. Next year when we come we will be prepared to try some of the amazing dessert selections.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    69
    31
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It was suggested by new friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We met a couple the other evening at our time share. They asked us we would like to go for dinner some evening. Tonight was the night.
They suggested a seafood place their daughter had eaten at. Neither of us knew what to expect.
We walked down the street from Paradise Village approx. 3/4 of a mile. El Dinamita is a small, open air restaurant underneath beautiful trees. Our waiter came over to get our drink and I began to pull out my readers. He informed me I would not be needing them.
He said he was going to ask is questions about our likes and dislikes, what we like to eat, and suggest a menue which he would take to the chef for a price.
We ended up with an appetizer of spiced jicima and melon and chips and salsa. This was followed by a rice dish with shrimp, fish and cheese that went on garlic bread. Amazing!
The next course was two salads and garlic, coconut and panko breaded shrimp.
Each course so far was served with several different sauces, salsas and dressings.
Next up were delicious fish tacos with cilantro salsa. Then our waiter brought out our final course, a lava pot with what looked like a stew (?) with steak, fish, onion, shrimp and mushrooms that we put on fresh tortillas.
Everything was served family style.
As we were finishing up our waiter decided to treat us to a round of white Russians. I was about to turn mine down since I do not like then and decided someone might want it. After my wife remarked how good they were I decided to try mine. It was so fresh and delicious. It tasted like chocolate milk.
I would obviously recommend El Dinamita to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“El Dinamita delivers a flavor explosion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I adored the flavors of this place, everything tasted really fresh but the flavors were all unbelievable. Just let the waiter choose your food, that's what he did for us and everything was amazing. And I never allow waiters to choose my food, ever. But the waiters definitely know their best dishes, so allow them to choose your food as well. The view isn't much other than a beautiful tree that has nice candles and such hanging from it. Other than that you're pretty much sitting in a parking lot. But you must go for the food, there wasn't one thing that wasn't good and everything came out really fast. Not one complaint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food prepared with You in mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Mexican Food: This place is totally outside. If it rains you will have problems keeping your food dry. The food is to die for and the ambiance fantastic. One of our favorite places. Been here 4 or 5 times now and never have I been disappointed. If the waiter suggests something from the menu or not from the menu for that matter. Always get it! It is a wonderful surprise. Pablo De Leon is a wonderful waiter and if your lucky enough to get him your dinner will get a little entertainment with it as well. Some of my favorites are Dynamite rice, The Molcajete bowl, Ceasers salad

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just returned from dinner at El Dinamita. The food and service were both excellent. Being first time visitors, the dishes we selected included various fish, chicken and prawn recipes that were recommended to us by the host in order to meet our specific tastes. They exceeded our expectations. The fried ice-cream desert along with a generous Kahlua was the perfect gastronomic terminator! We would heartily recommend this restaurant to all who enjoy good food, prompt friendly service at a very reasonable price. A memorable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dinamita also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to El Dinamita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dinamita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.