We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic...best dinner in Mexico...even for a group of 14” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dinamita

El Dinamita
Paseo Cocoteros, lote 8 villa 8 | next to Fajita Republic, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
322 2977694
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 101 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marisqueria al fresco, owned by the same people who own Fajita Republic on the same lot
Bothell, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic...best dinner in Mexico...even for a group of 14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my 7th trip to Mexico. This was the best dinner I have had in Mexico.
We are with a group of 14 people ages 6-64...we absolutely loved dinner. George asked us our likes and dislike. We were amazed. We loved it so much we came back a second time two nights later. Dishes kept coming out one after another. Never had to wait for anything. 5 stars and 2 thumbs way up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    69
    31
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Based on the reviews we decided to try this place. Felt like a mojito, very sour until I noted the bartender neglected to stir the sugar in the bottom of the glass?? Felt like fish and asked our waiter to recommend something, he suggested a dish with "white fish" which I was told was sea bass, topped with mushrooms and a tequila flambe, 148 pesos. The fish was tasteless mush, the mushrooms were so salty I could almost feel my blood pressure rising. The choice of sides were fries, rice, veggies, etc., I chose steamed veg but would have liked having a bit of rice or bread with it. To top that off, the service, which I'm not normally too concerned about, was really nonexistent. Other than the guy in charge, Jorge, trying to upsell us on a tasty appetizer (we passed), we had a hard time getting anyone's attention. Husband had the all you can eat fish and chips which was good, sea bass again, came with soup and coleslaw, 158 pesos. So many really good options for dining, I'd give this place a pass.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best we found in the PV area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent a week dining in Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta and Bucerias at well recommended restaurants and this was definitely the best.
We might have been lucky because when our waiter asked if he could bring food based on our likes and dislikes we all agreed and this probably allowed him to bring their best food. Appetizers were a raw marinated tuna bowl (very good although I would have preferred less soy sauce), an incredible rice, mushroom and chicken plate (like a risotto but with long grain rice) and steak and chicken skewers with a light teriyaki sauce.
The main course is a little difficult to describe. It came in a large iron pot with chicken steak and suasage in a broth which we ate like fajitas in a tortilla with a little rice and guacamole. We all agreed that this was one of the best dishes we have eaten ever. We also had coconut shrimp which was just as good as the other reviews say.
We are actually all light eaters, so we could barely eat dessert, but we managed to share a very good fried ice cream.
The environment is pretty simple but on a pleasant PV evening, no more is needed. Very friendly, very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Went back three times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were recently in Nuevo Vallarta for 2 weeks. Our eldest son (age 17) loves to select all the restaurants that we go to and had selected El Dinamita. Unfortunately the first time we visited, it was a Monday and we discovered it was closed. Luckily Fajita Republic was next door so we went and had a pleasant meal there. The next night my son suggested that we try for El Dinamita again and met a cool reception as we'd just eaten Mexican the night before. He persisted and off we went. I am so glad that we did. The food was excellent! The restaurant likes to guide you in your menu selection. They will ask you all sorts of questions about food preferences and then propose a menu to you. This worked out great but the next visit I did request the menu and made my own selections. You can obviously do it either way. (I'm not good at relinquishing control!!) Among our favorites were the ceviche, the shrimp and especially the Mocahito (sp?) This is a MUST try!! You select a protein (steak, chicken, seafood, etc) or combo of proteins. It arrives in this massive stone serving bowl which is sizzling hot. Inside it is a bubbling concoction of melted cheese and green and red tomatoes & spices. You then dip the meat /fish selection into this amazing sauce and eat to your heart's content. Its like a Mexican fondue and so delicious! El Dinamita appears to be owned by the same people as Fajita Republic as my younger son was able to order a hamburger off of their menu. The outside setting is charming and you are seated under a massive tree with twinkling hanging lights. The staff were efficient and caring and genuinely happy to see us return each time. El Dinamita will definitely be a huge part of our eating plans whenever we return to Nuevo Vallarta! And the prices are excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I read about this restuarant on trip advisor. Nothing could have prepared us for this dining experience. Alex and his staff went out of their way to make our alfresco meals special. They come to your table and ask your allergies and food likes. Trust them, they will bring wonderful food pairings. We loved it so much we went twice in one week. You can also order from their menu, but please trust them. They bring you wonderful food. They brought us a goodbye drink on our last night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dinamita also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to El Dinamita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dinamita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.