We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and slow, but great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Paseo de los Cocoteros 700 | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Riviera Nayarit, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
3222269700
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $90
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Eclectic, International, Healthy
Restaurant details
CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Expensive and slow, but great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Prices are very expensive, and the service is very slow, but the food is excellent. Nice and quiet, clean. Menu is clear. My favorites were the endive Blue cheese salad, and the scallop appetizer. The pork chops and rib eye entrees were also very good. And I don't know how they do it, but the best tasting baked potato you'll ever have. Just have a credit card with a high limit handy, and allocate a couple hours for dinner because service can be excruciating slow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a very good dinner at La Casona Jan 7. We all enjoyed our dinners that were either steak or chicken in choice. The staff here is exceptional and I must say it was wonderful to see old faces from other establishments now working here. Alejandro is always a favorite of ours and made our evening very enjoyable. The ambiance is wonderful too the building and finishings are top quality throughout. Sit outside by the fountains and enjoy the el fresco dinning. A lovely evening for all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa La Estancia (fantastic establishment) over Christmas and dined at La Casona once. The meals are thoughtfully prepared and use fresh ingredients. My companion and I shared the scallop appetizer which was enjoyable, however, not an ideal dish for sharing as it is small and served with three scallops. We both had the red snapper main - it is topped with a crispy potato crust which was quite tasty. I would have liked the dish to be more flavourful. Service was excellent and our margaritas and sangrias were refreshing.

We have heard La Casona is an excellent choice for special occasions as the several course meals and alcohol fixed price is of good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visit twice the area twice a year and stop over at La Casona for breakfast and dinner - it is always divine and relaxing. Ask for server Omar, he's the best, always very attentive and anticipates your every need! Sit outside by the relaxing waterfalls. The restaurant is also very reasonably priced and offers a better deal than other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loved it! Nothing but great things to say! The service was sensational, the food was delicious!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.