We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Paseo de los Cocoteros 700 | Condominio Maestro Flamingos, Riviera Nayarit, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
3222269700
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $90
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Eclectic, International, Healthy
Restaurant details
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a very good dinner at La Casona Jan 7. We all enjoyed our dinners that were either steak or chicken in choice. The staff here is exceptional and I must say it was wonderful to see old faces from other establishments now working here. Alejandro is always a favorite of ours and made our evening very enjoyable. The ambiance is wonderful too the building and finishings are top quality throughout. Sit outside by the fountains and enjoy the el fresco dinning. A lovely evening for all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    15
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa La Estancia (fantastic establishment) over Christmas and dined at La Casona once. The meals are thoughtfully prepared and use fresh ingredients. My companion and I shared the scallop appetizer which was enjoyable, however, not an ideal dish for sharing as it is small and served with three scallops. We both had the red snapper main - it is topped with a crispy potato crust which was quite tasty. I would have liked the dish to be more flavourful. Service was excellent and our margaritas and sangrias were refreshing.

We have heard La Casona is an excellent choice for special occasions as the several course meals and alcohol fixed price is of good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visit twice the area twice a year and stop over at La Casona for breakfast and dinner - it is always divine and relaxing. Ask for server Omar, he's the best, always very attentive and anticipates your every need! Sit outside by the relaxing waterfalls. The restaurant is also very reasonably priced and offers a better deal than other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loved it! Nothing but great things to say! The service was sensational, the food was delicious!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Special treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a place to go for a special occasion. The special full course meal is tops. However, you must eat their special chocolate dessert which is not one of the choices on the special.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.