We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humu Humu Day Charters

Humu Humu Day Charters
39 Jacarandas, Nuevo Vallarta 63235, Mexico
322 221 0114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 22 Activities in Nuevo Vallarta
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The real beauty of a Catamaran Charter Vallarta sailing Vacation is the freedom to go anywhere! Your captain and crew know all the great spots to sail in Banderas Bay - close to Puerto Vallarta - or along the Costa Alegre to Barra de Navidad
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was hard to get ahold of the charter company at first but it was worth the effort. This was the perfect way to get our friends and family together before our wedding. It was a unique and wonderful experience for our group. Would love to do it again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super fun private boat tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A group of us (11) rented this boat for an all day trip. It was such a great experience. We set off to a location to snorkel (can't remember where) and then to Yelapa. The day was full of fun. Drinks and food were a plenty and was enough for our group which can drink a lot. One guy from our group as well as some of the crew were fishing most of the time on our way out to snorkeling and Yelapa. We caught some tuna which was immediately cleaned and prepared for sashimi and ceviche. It was the best, most fresh tuna I've had. Can't get fresher than just fished. The boat itself as a facility was great. Lots of space and very easy to get around to front of boat. We boarded and noticed there was no toilet paper and an empty soap container in the women's restroom. We mentioned it to a crew member and it was immediately fixed. They were really on top of things.

They had an audio out for our mp3 players so music was great. They would come around often to see if we were good on drinks and food. They were very attentive to our needs/wants.

It was really a great experience for our group. I would recommend hiring them for a group private tour...its worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Group Day Charter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We truly enjoyed our day charter - it was perfect for our group, who wanted a private experience separate from some of the other tours (which are also enjoyable but a very different experience).

Here is a recap - Earlier this month, we got married in Puerto Vallarta and had a week long celebration with friends and family. We definitely wanted to show our 50 guests a great time and decided to charter a catamaran for our group (ended up being 30 adults and 6 kids who came on the boat). After looking around at our options, the Humu Humu proved to be the most flexible and tailored for what we wanted for our group.

From the get go, Barbro, the owner, was very informative and willing to work with us on our many requests (we booked early - in February for a June trip) including finding us a photographer (who stayed with us all day and took great photos that captured the essence of our trip). Another request we made was to start our trip from Boca de Tomatlan (20 minutes from where we were staying on the south side of PV at Garza Blanca) instead of Nuevo Vallarta (1 hour away) which Barbro and the crew accommodated. We were scheduled for an 11 am departure (since the night before was a late night) and the charter arrived right on time (even a few minutes early) which was great.

We then spent 6 amazing hours on board, exploring Banderas Bay and taking a couple of snorkeling stops before settling on a private beach for a couple of hours. The humu humu itself is an impressive vessel, with a ton of space for everyone to lay around (and rest in some shade too). Captain Alvaro and the staff were extremely nice and on top of everything and it seemed someone was always there to refresh our drinks. The boys in our group are heavy beer drinkers and we never ran out, plus they made us special skinny margaritas (made with splenda instead of sugar) which I requested since the following day was after all, my wedding day. The staff also made the kids in our group special fruit smoothies, which we dubbed as their mocktails :) Lunch of sandwiches (vegetarian and deli meats) was great and we had a ton of guacamole, chips and salsa which was equally delicious.

A couple of people in our group started to get a little seasick, and the staff was on top of it with helpful advice, cold water, etc. When it came to snorkeling, the guides were super helpful, and even fed the fish so they would come around us. In addition to all the snorkeling gear, there were also 4 kayaks on board which we put to good use.

Overall, we had an amazing time and felt like rockstars with the treatment we were given by the whole crew. Our whole group is still talking about the trip. I would definitely recommend the charter for any group heading to Vallarta... this was a truly special and memorable day that was all the more better because it was private and tailored made for us!

Thank you so much to Barbro, Penny (who made sure everything ran smoothly), Captain Alvaro and the crew for an unforgettable day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best. Wedding. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We were married aboard the Humu Humu on New Year's Eve day, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The captain and crew ensured the boat was decorated beautifully, somehow even managing to include my favorite flowers - Birds of Paradise. The crew was very attentive to the needs of our elderly Moms who have some mobility issues. Our entire party of 18 had a fantastic time on our 7 hour cruise of the bay. The food and drinks were very delicious, especially the pina coladas. They even served our champagne and cake for us! I wish I could rate this trip a 50. Five stars does not do it justice. We will definitely book future excursions on the Humu Humu. I want to try an overnight trip next year for our anniversary!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxing Day on Banderas Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon in the Puerto Vallarta area. I charted Humu Humu for a large group (20) of us, and we left the marina at around 1 and sailed until after we saw the beautiful Sunset. The folks who helped me plan / set up the afternoon were very helpful and accomodating, and the crew itself was fantastic...very friendly and cool.

We sailed, snorkeled, spent time at a secluded beach, had Sunset toast and then chased the dolphins and whales on our sail back to the Marina..what a gorgeous day. Good music, plenty of cocktails and refreshments all day long, and the snacks were delicious too. Fun time all around!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humu Humu Day Charters also viewed

 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Humu Humu Day Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humu Humu Day Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.