We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully (albeit massive) resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Save
You added The Grand Bliss to your Saves list
Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A beautifully (albeit massive) resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Grand Bliss hotel (one of five within the resort) is a beautiful place to stay. The grounds are lush with plant life and well manicured, and the staff was always warm and very welcoming (even those who were not well versed in English were still kind and helpful).

-- Room --

The room we stayed in was a Grand Suite (two bedrooms connected with a living room), and it was well furnished (very IKEA-ish) and quite comfortable. The bed was also nice; I prefer a firm bed, but even with that, I didn’t think the bed was too hard. The bathrooms are also huge, with a separate area for the toilet, a large shower with a rain shower head, and a Jacuzzi tub (just be aware that you’ll be charged if you use the supplied bath gels). The balcony was very nice and had a wonderful view, even though we did not have an ocean view. We didn’t spend much time on the balcony during the day due to the heat and humidity, but at night, it was a nice place to relax and look out over the expansive resort (and it’s peppering of constructions sites).

-- Grounds --

As I said before, the grounds are gorgeous. The plant life, the cleanliness of the grounds, and the water views made the resort a very picturesque place … very photogenic. The beach was also nice, it didn’t have a lot of rocks in the sand and the water was warm. The water, however, wasn’t very blue since the sand was soft and mixed with the water making it murky. Now on the downside, some may find this resort too large. There are walkways scattered throughout the resort, so you could effectively walk from building to building, but trust me when I say it is a hike via foot. The resort does provide trams that go from area to area, and there are enough that you don’t wait for them for too long, but this is something to be aware of if anyone in your party has issues walking. And one more issue regarding the grounds, is that nothing is in a straight line. Example: My friends and I were trying to get to the beach for the first time. We followed the signs and the walkways, and could see the beach in the distance, but if you follow the walkways, you’ll end up meandering through all this foliage and waterways before you reach the beach (this would have been fine if it weren’t 80+ degrees with 100% humidity). In other words, a walkway from the back of the hotel directly to the beach would have been appreciated.

-- Resort Amenities --

The resort has an onsite grocery store, winery, frozen yogurt shop, bakery, chocolatier, deli, butcher, pharmacy, and a small boutique for those who may have forgot their bathing suit, or need a bag/hat; there’s also a bank associated ATM (Santander) located within the grocery store. The prices were pretty steep, but that’s what you expect for the convenience of having those facilities onsite. But if you’re trying to cut your costs down, you can always take a cab to Walmart.

The resort also has a pretty nice gym (though I didn’t use it … I mean I was on vacation), it looked nice with plenty of machines (cardio and weight), and I think there were some free weights there too.

The pools are large; the one associated with the Grand Bliss was very quiet, with not a lot of people using it. The water was nice, though pretty warm for a pool; I don’t know if they put chlorine in the water, but if they do, it didn’t feel like a lot … which can be both good and bad. We didn’t get a chance to use the lazy river by the Grand Mayan, but it looked like a nice, long, smooth ride. Oh, and speaking of the Grand Mayan, you’ve got to check out its entryway … pretty cool.

-- Food --

The food on the resort was good. Pretty much everything we ate was delicious. The restaurants were a little high in price, but again it’s to be expected on a resort. Also, be sure to check if the restaurant you want to go to is open before you make the trek out to it … most of the restaurants at the Grand Luxxe were closed when we tried to go.

-- THE BURGER CUSTOM MADE

The first restaurant we went to, and we were quite pleased. The prices were high for what you get, but the quality of the food was exceptional. The view by the water is spectacular … just don’t go when it’s very hot.

-- CAFE DEL LAGO

We went here for brunch; and an extensive brunch and delicious brunch it was. ** Tip: If you’re looking for bacon, you can get some from the grill. **

-- HAVANA MOON

Loved Havana Moon. It’s right on the beach, and serves “upscaled” Caribbean cuisine.

-- SAMBA

Another restaurant that provides a good breakfast brunch; it’s situated right by the pool of the Grand Mayan. Just be careful of the birds, they are relentless. ** Tip: If you’re looking for pancakes, you can get them from the grill next to the omelet station. Also, if you get there early (I think before 8 or 9 AM), you can get a discount on your meal. **

-- TRAMONTO

A good Italian restaurant. Nice food and flavors.

-- GONG

We weren’t too pleased with the food here. The food was okay, just didn’t have a lot of flavor.

-- CHIRINGUITO

Paella … enough said.

-- BALANCE

Went here for dessert. They service gelato and pastries … funny it’s located right next to the gym.

-- EPAZOTE

Delicious Mexican fare. We were pleased with the authentic Mexican flavors, and the service
was exceptional.

-- Final Thoughts --

You can’t go wrong choosing this hotel/resort; it’s clean, welcoming, and beautiful; and though it’s a timeshare resort, we were never bothered by anyone (I think it also helped that I reserved all our excursions before we arrived, thus we didn’t need the hotel’s assistance for those activities). Everything you could possibly need is located right on the resort, but you’re not too far away from other stores and restaurants if you so choose. And with a quick cab ride and you’ll be in downtown Puerto Vallarta in no time (nice nightlife there).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear The Man Shaft :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the accommodations, the pools, our grounds and that your trip was fun.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    54
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
96
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are having a great time at Grand Bliss. The resort is amazing! We especially had a great time today at the Grand Bliss pool. Even though it was raining, Vicente from the pool entertainment staff really went above and beyond to ensure we and the kids had a fun day. We played games, laughed, heard many stories. He answered all of our questions about things to do and wrote a detailed list with his favorite local restaurants to try and beaches to go to. Vicente really took a rainy day and made it into one we will really remember from our vacation. The Grand Bliss pool so far is our favorite pool at the resort!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to ocean view when we agreed to see timeshare presentation. Ocean view, even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear ssmmiillyy:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss. We are happy to receive your kind comment about our staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. We are certain Vicente will gladly receive your feedback. Also we are so glad you enjoyed our facilities, pools and restaurants.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We just finished an amazing vacation with our family in Nuevo Vallarta. Part of our family stayed in the Bliss and the other part of our family stayed in the Grand Mayan. The hotel service was perfect and the rooms were wonderful. We bought food at Walmart and cooked for some brunches and got the meal plan for the other meals. The restaurants on the resort are fabulous. Make sure to ask for a room that faces the ocean and is high up. You will be in awe at the views for those rooms. We were on the ocean side on the 7th floor. It couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear luvrockymts :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our restaurants; the facilities and that you had a great trip. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful properties I have ever stayed at. The property is large and so elegant.
I booked through a trade into RCI and it is impossible to get an ocean front room. I wouldn't even bother with requesting it because the check in person told me they really never give them to anyone unless you are an actual owner at this property. I'm not sure why you would become an owner when you can book a beautiful 2 bedroom room for 126,000 points through RCI. Its great you don't have to pay an all-inclusive fee.
It was nice to have a kitchen although you are somewhat limited without having an oven to cook. The refrigerators are actually two taller dorm-style fridges side-by-side on the floor so it works but you do a lot of bending to stock and access your food.
I felt the food at the resort was somewhat expensive for the quality. We ate off-property or made something in our room for most meals.
The pool area was beautiful and not crowded at all. The kids loved going next door to the lazy river and water slide area.
One thing that I didn't read about was the entertainment at Sanctuario. It was so bad. We would have loved to stop there for a drink but the performers were so dated. It felt like really bad Vegas entertainment from 10 years ago. So boring! They really need to liven it up. Maybe offer some dancing? We would have loved to dance and meet more people from the resort but we just couldn't stand this type of entertainment. It was a snooze fest!
The property was really beautiful and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: You won't get an ocean front room unless you actually own at the Grand Bliss because that is wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear travelwithkaufy:

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss. We are so glad you had a good time with you family enjoying our pools, activities and facilities. It is nice to learn you think our property is beautiful.

Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us, and your comments will be useful for this purpose. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster ma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at the GB 5/17-5/24.. The resort is beautiful and Grand! Very large and you have to do a lot of walking to get around.. The GB has only 1building and is centrally located in the resort , right across from the Santaurio which u have to go through to get off the property. The GB pool is also right on the beach, which is nice to get the ocean breeze. The GL and GM pools are inside the resort so you do not get the ocean breeze. The GL is very upscale and the GM is over populated with families. The GB was a nice middle ground, still upscale without the heavy population like the GM. All the pools have restaurants to get food at and they close at 7pm. We eat at Punta Arena which is located right on the beach, absolutely breathtaking views of the sunset, expensive but a wonderful experience. Gong was also very good and another wonderful experience. Tramonti (Italian) excellent..yes the restaurants are a bit pricey but by the time you pay for a taxi to and from another area it evens out...take a trip to downtown PV,(Boardwalk)another spot to see a wonderful sunset as well as shopping and restaurants. And take a trip to the marina in PV for dinner.. We tried to get an ocean view room but couldn't, they put us on the 6th floor over looking the Santourio, still a nice view and you can hear the entertainment..Overall you will not be disappointed by staying at the GB.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear cbc739:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our food options at Gong, Punta Arena, and Tramonto. We are happy as well that you liked the grounds and pools.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed on this property before with my boyfriends parents at the Luxxe. This time we decided to show my parents around. We stayed at the Bliss property and it was beautiful! Before we left we had decided we were not going to get suckered into the timeshare presentation because we did not want to waste any of our vacation. When we got there we were greeted by Roberta who tried and tried to get us to do a presentation. We said no and she told us our room was not available she came back about 30 minutes later and tried again and offered us two free tickets to Rhthyms of the Night and discounted prices for the other two and four discounted Outdoor Adventure tickets and lastly one free massage. We knew we were going to do those excursions and after adding it up we would be saving a ton of money by going on the presentation. We told Roberta we had read reviews that said it lasted well over 90 minutes and she assured us it wouldn't. My boyfriend and I left after a delicious breakfast at Cafe Del Lago and my parents stayed for the rest of the presentation and they were very happy with it. Claudia was our sales person and she was absolutely fabulous! My parents complimented that it was the easiest timeshare presentation they have ever been on and not high pressure at all!

The rest of our vacation was so relaxing.. we did not eat at any of the restaurants because we enjoy exploring the cities of Puerto and Nuevo. The taxi prices were not badly priced but the ones on the way back tried to charge you more but will usually settle for whatever price you offer. We picked up groceries from the mega and had our cab driver wait 30 minutes for us and it cost 300 pesos round trip. There is a new walmart that is closer than the Mega that might be a better option.

We stayed at the Grand Bliss pool most of our trip because it was always so clean and not crowded at all. We went to the Grand Mayan pool one day and were not pleased with it. Obviously this one had more kids so it was much louder and less relaxing but it was also dirtier. We visited the swim up bar at the Grand Mayan pools and we were not very pleased with our drinks. They weren't up to par compared to the Grand Bliss swim up bar. Christian was a great bartender! One of the days we were there was my dad's birthday so my boyfriend and I went to La Plaza to get a nice dessert for him and ended up getting three mini dessert cake things for 18 us dollars. We did not think these were badly priced compared to other things in there.

The staff was so friendly and said "Hola!" every time you passed them. We were so impressed with the friendliness of them all. Overall great stay and we are already considering coming back next year for my dad's 50th!

Room Tip: We did not have ocean view but still loved our view of the mountains and santurio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Katie P:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Bliss. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. It will be our privilege to share it with them, specifically the staff mentioned; we are certain they will be happy to receive it. We are also pleased you found our resort to be beautiful.


We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!


Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This property is amazing! The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the rooms are gorgeous, the beach is 2nd to none, & the pools...well, which one do you choose?!! Love the lazy river. There are plenty of things to do here on property that you wouldn't have to leave, but you do have easy access to activities & city tours. This was a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms...only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Dollbabygrand :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our grounds and pools. We are also pleased you found our resort to be beautiful.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
Sea Garden Nuevo Vallarta
#24 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#4 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,417 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Bliss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.