We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Bliss week of Oct. 27” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
West Covina, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Grand Bliss week of Oct. 27”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am an owner at the Grand Mayan (same property). I received an upgrade for the Grand Bliss. The rooms are similar to the Grand Mayan both being very nicely appointed. This is the first time in the 5 years, as an owned, that I received an ocean view. It is true that there is a fair amount of construction but that aside this was by far my best visit. If it were not for the construction I would have rated the stay as 5 stars. The construction aside the property is kept spotless. The amenities at this resort property are incredible. Room service (usually not provided at a time share) is both daily and exceptional. Everyone was very helpful and the service was beyond excellent. I would suggest caution with the time share sales. You will be hit with incentives to visit a "property update" as soon as you check in. I would suggest extreme caution when dealing with the resort sales department.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    40
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
60
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love the Mayan resort in NV but this trip was our least satisfying. The grounds are in disarray due to the ongoing construction. The Grand Bliss is beautiful, opulent and empty! Very hot and muggy. The pool for the GB is built but not open for use. There is no restaurant at the Bliss
And it's a trek to the ones on the property. Once construction ends or moves away from the current Bliss building and the pathways are clear things will be much more convenient. The kitchens are very nice but only One knife for food prep and one salad bowl! Our next visit will be to the Grand Bliss in Rivera Maya just after opening so I hope the property is ready. We will return to NV in the spring of 2013 and I expect it will be a nicer time.

Room Tip: Buy some kitchen knives and bowls for food prep at Walmart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear DrStuo :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss.We are also pleased you found our resort to be beautiful.

Your comments are always welcomed. We will take note of your observations so that we can provide all our guests an extraordinary vacation experience.Also, we are pleased to inform you that the pool area is now available for our guests to enjoy, as well as an on-site restaurant called “Chinguirito” (Spanish cuisine).
We look forward to welcoming you back and make your next stay memorable.

Sincerely,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo VallartaManagement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Grand Bliss in August 2012 for 1 week. It's not a high season for US travelers, but we were invited by our friends who own a timeshare there and offered what seemed to be a good price for a large 2 bedroom unit. The room was the only good thing we had there, nicely furnished, spacious, and with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Now about the bad part of the trip: CONSTRUCTION! The entire site is under construction. Wherever you look you see a constructed or demolished building. Exactly at 8:00 in the morning construction workers start cutting steel rebars, bang on metal by metal tools, unload building supplies, yell, etc. It goes on every weekday and Saturday till 7 pm without lunch break. Looking at the work amount and rate this will definitely continue into high season. Food was scarce and overpriced, they charge about US $30 for what they call "buffet" with poor selection and quality. On our way back we had much better and less expensive food in airport restaurant. Overall the cost of the food for a family of 3 which included the cost of groceries from local stores and restaurant charges added to the room cost was pretty much equal to that of a good all inclusive resort. Most of the hotel staff consider you as a cash cow which they are entitled to milk. A waiter at breakfast buffet yelled at us insisting that his tips should be US $5, not 20 pesos. Timeshare sales people offer 2000 pesos room credit and 10% off an all charges, so we decided to see what they offer without any intention to buy. 90 minutes presentation lasted for 5 hours, because "breakfast, property (construction site!) tour, and show room visit are not included into the presentation time" as the sales person told us. Obviously, one has to be out of mind or a very confident investor to buy a share of the property in the current state, but keep in mind that timeshares in this resort are available on the internet at about 20% of the list price. Also, they promise that you will always be able to rent out your timeshare if you do not use it and completely offset the cost of the ownership. Sadly, all owners we talked to told us that they had never been able to rent their unit out (what a surprise!) By the way, the promised 10% discount for the food and services was conveniently forgotten and we had to show the proof of it at the check out.

To summarize, this was the worst vacation in Mexico for us ever. Stay away from this hotel by all means.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear dvornik:
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss and we are delighted to learn you enjoyed our accommodations and a dazzling ocean view.

We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

We hope you visit our resort again so you can truly see what we are about.

With all good wishes from,
The Grand Bliss Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I came here as a guest of an owner so I can't speak to the sales pitch but can offer my perspective as a first time guest at the Mayan Group.

Check in was a breeze. Welcome drink offered. Sometimes there is even a woman who will give you a hand massage as you wait. Lobby is gorgeous and well kept.

The room was beautiful. Master suite with fabulous shower and separate giant hot tub. Comfy bed. Lots of bath amenities. Full kitchen that had everything we needed to make breakfast and some lunches. Soap and sponge too! Everything was great... except for when you stepped out on the balcony. To the left and right... very loud construction. Impossible to enjoy the sunbed or the dunk pool. With the doors closed you can still sort of here it but it was tolerable.

Pool area fantastic. Lazy river. Two wave pools. 2 pool bars. Lots of pools everywhere.
Beach was eh.. but thats Pacific Ocean Mexico beaches. Lots of sunbeds. It was low season and so there were plenty all around.

Had chance to visit the Grand Luxxe which has more of a contemporary modern Vegas style resort. Had a chance to use the gym there which was fantastic! Huge gym. Offers yoga, pilates, and stretch/massage sessions on weekday mornings.

Brio spa was also phenomenal. Beautiful relaxation jacuzzi area as well. Try to negotiate a discount on your spa treatments. We were able to talk them into doing an 80 min for a 50min price.

Sounds like this place is going to be fantastic in 2-3 years when they finish up all the construction. They said they have another 24 months of building. I'm sure its going to be awesome then. For now, there's still ALOT of construction. I was okay with it.

Overall great experience, just know there will be alot of construction going on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mine Hill, New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am here at the Grand Bliss right now. I have been a Mayan Group owner for three years now. My last upgrade was to a Grand Bliss unit, for significant additional cash over what I had at Mayan Palace. I was sold a "Grand Luxx" product, however, I did not get that. To my dismay when I arrived, my beautiful 2 bedroom unit was surrounded by construction, to the right and to the left of the building. Right across you see the ocean and a pool under construction, I was told that would be designated to the Grand Bliss owners. At this time the 2 open pools are Grand Mayan and Grand Luxx. We were told we could only use the Grand Mayan pool which was crowded by Mayan Palace, Grand Mayan and Grand Bliss owners. The Mayan Palace buildings are all closed since they are....guess.....under construction, you guessed right. I attended the sales presentation which is called an "owners update". All they pushed is ownership at Grand Luxx, a great fantastic look to the "future" of Mayan Paradise, yet to be delivered with no firm completion date in sight.

My unit has a broken hot tub, a broken microwave, today the TV went out, and all and all, nobody seems willing to help. The sales staff and program managers are abrasive at best. There is nothing for teenagers to do after 9:00 PM once they hit 13 they cannot participate in the "kid's club" and they cannot drive somewhere fun outside of the Mayan compound, all pools and activities are done by 9 PM. OH! allow me to mention the golf course is also under construction and the promotions such "follow the happy hour trail" are all misleading and could not get any of the three concierges to explain alternatives. All and all, I am extremely disappointed and embarrassed that I dragged two other adults along for this vacation which I was really looking forward to, based on promises made last year at the sales presentation.

Mayan group DOES NOT CARE about current owners and enhancing their experience, they only care about potential sales that benefit THEM not YOU the owner, they got their cash and you are stuck. This year Grand Luxx is the product of choice, last year was the Grand Bliss. Do not be fooled, next year, probably a Diamond Luxx of sorts membership offer would be developed and minimize your existing investment whichever may be.

I do not recommend this resort unless you have a fetish for watching Mexican construction worker's butts. THUMBS DOWN MAYAN GROUP!!!!!

When I brought all of these concerns to the attention of Vida Vacations, during my status update meeting, assuming that they might do something for us as a way of making it better, what do you think they did? they offered me to purchase Grand Luxx at 2011 pre-construction pricing, only $24K additional dollars instead of an additional $57K. I would gladly have accepted a simple apology and some comps, instead. They pointed out that I had purchased a "Pre-Construction" contract at Grand Bliss, never mind that I was told "Grand Bliss In Nuevo Vallarta is Open". A building with no pool, no amenities and a great deal of non Grand Bliss construction going on all around the "only" existing Grand Bliss building can hardly be called open.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort location if you are bound to use any of the Vida Vacations or Mayan Group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Ana M:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Bliss.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. Our resorts are constantly being refurbished to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction. We are also pleased to inform you that the pool area is now available for our guests to enjoy.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

With all good wishes,
The Grand Bliss Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a... nice... vacation at the Grand Bliss. Let's start from the beginning, shall we? We checked in, went through the often talked about timeshare talk that we escaped as quickly as possible. Once up to the room, we discovered that although they told us it was a two bedroom with an ocean view, they had given us a construction view studio. There were 7 of us We went down and complained and they told us that since we had already entered the room, that there was nothing we could do. We tried to get upgraded to two one bedroom units, which the man at the desk tried to sell us for $250 extra per night, per room, on top of what we had already paid. When we declined, he was very nasty saying that people who can afford a vacation such as this should not be complaining about $3000 to get what we want, and they won't do it otherwise because he knows that we obviously have the means to pay. After going to another person and agreeing to the timeshare presentation, we were moved to an ocean view two bedroom.
This was the major problem of our stay, although constant major construction noise, very uncomfortable beds, bugs beyond belief, and broken jacuzzi tubs did not make the vacation fun either.
Overall, although it was a mildly successful vacation, there is no way that I'm coming back to this resort any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear klmarie :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss.

We are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine hospitality by providing outstanding facilities and service excellence. We will gladly follow-up with the appropriate areas as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.

Your feedback is always welcomed.

With all good wishes,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Grand Bliss only has 84 two bedroom suites so there is a lot of space for a few guests. Very private and exclusive. Complete opposite to the Grand Mayan next door which feels like Vegas. Skip the timeshare presentation unless you want the discounts on tours. They say 90 minutes but more like 3 hours. No pool here but you can use Grand Mayan's. Pool here should be done next month. You can also use the pool of the Mayan Palace; much quiter the Grand Mayan's.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Bliss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grand Bliss to your Saves list