We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-named Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Save
You added The Grand Bliss to your Saves list
Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well-named Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the end of April during Easter week, the busiest week of the year. We had checked in to the Grand Mayan, where the lobby was a zoo populated by children scrambling every which-way. So when they offered us an upgrade to the newer, quieter Grand Bliss in exchange for a 4-hour timeshare presentation, we jumped at the chance. Let’s get the negatives out of the way: This hotel does not have its own pool, and I clocked a seven-minute walk from our room to the pool/beach. The beach is far from pristine and at one point we realized that the crunching beneath our feet was the sound of hundreds of tiny-shelled creatures being squished to death by us. This complex of hotels has been a construction site for at least five years running, and I expect they will continue to overbuild it for years to come. The soundproofing wasn’t bad, but I sometimes heard the incessant beeping of trucks backing up. The kitchen lacked an oven (no big deal, there) and if there had been four of us, the mini-fridges would have been too small. The quantity and size of the pots, pans, and bowls was meager. There are absolutely no daytime activities or nightlife at or around this building, though there’s more going on at the nearby Grand Mayan. Now for the good stuff: Our two-bedroom suite was the nicest I’ve ever stayed at anywhere. Each room had its own large bathroom and each bathroom had its own effective hot tub. There were two loaner bathrobes per room and each room had it’s own TV. The living room/dining room area had a large flat-screen and everything was clean and modern. Our balcony had a dipping pool, though I didn’t spend any time there as it overlooking some of the construction. There are more restaurants in the complex than you could possibly need (though none in this specific building). The nearby Mayan Palace has a decent size convenience and clothing store, as well as a wine bar. The water park at the Grand Mayan is great, though too overcrowded during holiday weeks. Yet, our hotel was almost empty. There was never a line at the front desk, and rarely a customer at the bar. If you need to call home a lot, you can buy a phone card for unlimited U.S. calling for the full week for $21. Oh, and about that walk to the beach. It’s through a patchwork of glorious gardens and man-made lakes. It’s sheer bliss.

Room Tip: Agree to give up four hours of your life for a timeshare presentation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    48
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
80
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Family trip to Nuevo Vallarta to celebrate College Graduation ( 6 adults, 3 rooms). We had a wonderful experience in June at the Grand Bliss Resort. Beautiful grounds, roomy and wonderful accomodations. Excellent staff. Real attention to detail. The lazy river, numerous pools (not overcrowded) and the wave pool made staying on the property a real delight. If you enjoy walking, this is the property for you.

My only negative is the Master Suite (similar to large hotel room) only had a coffee pot and dorm size fridge. We were there for a week, so not having a kitchen was a huge expense and a real inconvenience. Could not bring back left-overs from the wonderful restaurants on the property or bring in food because the refrigerators are so small.

Walls are pretty thin, so think about your neighbors.

Room Tip: families will need the one bedroom with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our destination wedding. We got married at Las Caletas but stayed here during the week. We had the rest of our family stay at the Grand Mayan but we were lucky enough to get upgraded to The Grand Bliss.

The Grand Bliss is definitely an upgrade from the Grand Mayan. The furniture in the rooms are more updated and better appointed. The sofa/mattress on the balcony is a great place to take a nap. The bathrooms are bigger and more updated. Turndown service was nice every night. I like the quietness of the Grand Bliss in comparison to the Grand Mayan. It was nice that all the main pools and activities was a 5 minute walk and then we can walk to a nicer, more serene and relaxing environment. The concierge, front desk were all extremely helpful. The Grand Bliss also has free internet unlike the Grand Mayan. We loved ordering room service in the lobby/lounge area. It was like we had a private restaurant all to ourselves! They had a nice guitarist playing every night.

The pools at the grand Mayan were also amazing. We loved the happy hour, lazy river and even went down on the water slide a couple of times. We didn't like that they shut down the lazy river around 6 and wish they could just keep it going longer. Otherwise, we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bliss for 9 days in May. We had three kids (14, 5, 2) with us. We stayed at the Grand Mayan next door last and wanted to experience the upgrade. We had a 2b/2b unit that was beautiful in the inside. The design is the same as the Grand Mayan lay out, but everything is new and beautiful. The terrace is much bigger than at the GM (although the plunge pool, which the little ones love) is about the same size. The walk to the GM pools isnt long and everything is lanscapred so wonderfully it wasnt a roblem at all. The Grand Bliss is a bit of a stand alone, not having its own restauarnt or spa/gym, which is a bit of a bummer--but not a problem as things are so close and there is agolf-cart shuttle service if you need it.

Our first 4 nights were in a non-ocean view room and it wasnt great. There is a lot of construction going on and it stayed loud until almost 10 pm. We were finally moved to ocean view (only after agreeing to go to the time share presentation) and it was much better. Lovely wind, fabulus view, and much quieter.

The odd thing about the GB is that in both rooms they seemed to have a problem with internir doors closing all the way 9ie the bathroom doors), its as if things werent measured quite right.

Housekeeping sevices were great as was the service at the hotel generally. We had great meals at the hotel and at Prime 951, a short cab ride away.

I don't think I'd pay more for the GB next time 9at least until construction is done), but we would go back to the resort.

Room Tip: Go to the timeshare breakfast (dont buy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Up until Easter Sunday morning, we were having a great time. However, at approximately 8 a.m. on Easter, we heard a huge crash in the main living area where my 5 year old, 3 year old and 6 month old KIDS were sleeping. A huge 8x5 foot mirror came off the wall and shattered glass was all over! I called the operator in a panic and 2 maintenance men arrived. They gasped at the scene! The mirror was not anchored to the wall and was merely balancing on a small piece of wood. Had this happened several minutes later we would have been sitting in it's path at the dining room table! Please be safe and request that your mirrors be checked by maintenance or whomever at check in! We certainly will! A "10" vacation quickly turned into a very bad experience and all that we have been told to date was that "it was an accident!"

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Bliss, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear kbmbethesda:
Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Bliss.

This highly exceptional occurrence will be thoroughly investigated since we spend considerable resources to maintain the highest possible standards so that our accommodations are safe and in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.

Your comments are always welcomed since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay memorable.

Sincerely,
The Grand Bliss Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bliss for Spring Break. We stayed at the Grand Mayan 2 years ago and the Bliss did not yet exist. The Bliss is beautiful. We had an ocean view room which also overlooks the pond area below. We had fun looking for the alligator in the pond everyday. The grounds are so pretty with bright, fragrant flowers. There are many nice walking paths with lush vegetation (and signs to look out for gators!). The rooms are very comfortable. The layout is almost identical to the rooms in the Grand Mayan, with more updated decor and much more comfortable beds. The shower is nice and big with a "rain" type of shower head. My only complaint about the bathroom was that there were not many hooks for towels, bathing suits, etc. There is a line in the shower you can hook up for suits though. Out on the balcony there is a big round comfy chair which was popular for an afternoon siesta! There is a short walk to the pools, but they are awesome and it did not seem far at all. Pool area is great...you can be by the activities, or find quieter places to relax. We took a taxi to Wal-Mart (60 pesos, I think, for four of us...very cheap). We loaded up on bottled water and breakfast and lunch foods (I would not recommend buying hot dogs there...ick). We ate dinner out each night, except for one night when we ordered pizza to the room from Havanna Moon, one of the resort restaurants. Within the resort we ate at Samba (by pool) Ole Mulata (by kiddie pool and beach), Havanna Moon and Punta Arena. All were very good. The portions at Havanna Moon were really small, but my dessert was HUGE and DELICIOUS...the chocolate truffle. Punta Arena had VERY slow service. Both Havanna Moon and Punta Arena are on the beach and have beautiful sunset views. Outside of the resort we took very short taxi rides to Taco Break (a very casual outdoor place with super cheap Mexican food...they have beer, too.) It is located on the golf course. Farther down are some newer places...Porto Bella and Prime 159. Both very good, but pricey. Our favorite place was Eddie's. Super casual, eat outside or in (more fun outside). Nice entertainment and awesome Mexican and Mediterranean food. The owner, Eddie is a nice guy who walks around with his glass of red wine and visits tables.
Service at the Grand Bliss was excellent. Very clean and any issues you have are taken care of immediately. Everyone was so helpful and kind. If you stay at the Bliss, be sure to take a peek inside the Grand Mayan (make sure you walk through the main entrance..it is pretty incredible!) and the Grand Luxxe. The Luxxe is new too and looks very pretty.
On the beach you can parasail for about 60 dollars. Hairbraiding is available. There are also vendors selling jewelry, coverups, hats, etc. There is a small vendor market near the pool area and another one on the beach. You can bargain with them. Highly recommend the Grand Bliss!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The Grand Bliss evidently just opened early 2011. It part of a much larger resort (Grand Mayan). The Grand Bliss itself is an 8 level bldg with rooms situated over seemingly 6 of them. Very nice reception area with an area to sit in. Pool is about a 5 minute walk by the beach. Being at the Grand Bliss, you have access to the pools, lazy river and kids pool at the Grand Mayan. The Grand Mayan pools are closer than the Grand Bliss pools, plus the Grand Mayan pools are huge especially the kids pool. The kids pool has a water slide, wave pool and a lazy river.
We stayed in a 1 bdrm and it was a nice size (guessing about 750 sq.ft), very nicely appointed. Kitchen consisted of 2 smaller style fridges you would find in college dorm, a 4-burner stove and a microwave. There is a W&D located on the 2nd level. No restaurants at the Grand Bliss but again, it is just a bldg part of a much larger resort. You can go out front and catch a free golf cart that comes around to go other places at the resort.
1 downside- they have a decent amount of construction going on to the West of the Grand Bliss. They start about 8am and end about 7-8pm. Not that big of a deal if you are out and about most of the day, but if you have a desire to take an afternoon nap or hang on the balcony and read a book...you will have some noise unless you are on the ocean facing side of the building.
Can catch a taxi to anywhere from the resort- here is some example of prices. ~60 pesos to Wal-Mart, 150 pesos to the airport, 210 pesos to Old Town. You can also catch the bus out front of the resort which is super cheap...and safe in my opinion.
On resort prices- 300 pesos for use of the in-room safe, food out at the pool restaurants started at about 110 pesos for a turkey, ham, bacon sandwhich. More upscale restaurants go up from there.
If your going, e-mail conceirge prior to arrival to see if they provide airport transfer to the resort (they did for us). You will get a timeshare pitch in the form of "we would like you to join us for breakfast and show you around...". We passed although the guy would not take no (this is the guy you will immediately see once checking in. He signed us up and we did not show. If you do, this is what we were offered, 10% off our final bill on anything bought at the resort (drinks, food...) and 2,000 pesos resort credit.
If you have small kids, this or the Grand Mayan (which is closer to the awesome kids pool area) is a must. Also for anyone going, I would recommend bringing bug spray. You don't notice them but they get you and it itches.
All in all, a great overall resort. Place will be amazing in the future when all the future buildings are done.
Would get a 5 star from me if we had been on the oceanside or no construction noise.

Room Tip: ask for odd # room- view towards ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Bliss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.