We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicksan

Nicksan
Paseo Cocoteros 53, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: It has been open for about 8 months. It is located in the Marival Group residence
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was invited to have lunch here by a local friend on my stay at the Marival resort up the street (different hotel, but same group). I had the shashimi sampler and gyoza and both were very good and tasty. While I am not a sushi connoisseur, I do know enough to know good from bad.
Service was prompt and well attended, the menu had a number of options, and the overall feel of the restaurant was nice and relaxing.
I did find the prices a bit high even for an upscale sushi restaurant, and there are other good sushi options within easy cab ride. But overall the meal was good and I would consider returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Customer
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience in our restaurant. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    71
    18
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nicksan takes advantage of tourist who are stuck in Nuevo and are afraid to leave their resorts..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good sushi and shashimi but "critically overpriced"...there are so many excellent sushi high end restuarants in Bucerias, la Cruz and downtown...this restaurant takes advantage of the situation they are located in a "Marival World hotel" who's clients most likely do not want to wander too far from their suites...so stay here...you are most likely paying 40-50% more than you need to!
beware tourists...
Service is very good- although staff only know the basics of find dine service ( if you ask them if they know the difference between a good Italian Borolo- vs a Primitivo or Chianti- they would not be able to tell you)...nice wines on the list ( try the Casa Laposolle Cab Sav Reserva only $540 pesos) with some snapper aoli sushi- tuna is good also..
Overall...there are much better places,
advice: just on the "free Nuevo shuttle" that picks up right in front of the Marival World and try a few other good restaurants in the neighbourhood ( over at the 316 plaza, etc..)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great service; unique choices; great tasting; excellent recommendations from very attentive staff; even called a cab for us! I'll be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for writing a review on this website; your comments are quite valuable to us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“AMAZING - 7 Course Tasting Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

An amazing restaurant. We enjoyed their 7 Course Tasting Meal so much we went again 2 nights later (!). Another pair of diners were exclaiming how good their meals were, and said if they were staying longer on vacation they'd eat there every night. We live here, and feel Nicksan - by far - is the best restaurant in Greater Vallarta. Outstanding flavors and sauces. The waiters and service is so friendly, bi-lingual, and they make a terrific dining experience even better. Sitting outside by the fountain is relaxing, our favorite spot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant on this website. It is very rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your dinner experience here, and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Upscale Sushi - Funky Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Expensive but good sushi, some of the rolls were weird and you have to ask what's in everything because the menu doesn't say it. They have some traditional rolls, but don't expect a full sushi menu like at home. The appetizer with raw tuna and avocado is amazing, and in my opinion, the best thing on the menu. We had some other rolls that I can't remember the name, but I think the Spicy Japango roll was one that we liked. They had interesting drinks as well, one was a very good lychee martini, and the other I wasn't so into because it looked like dirty water. For 4 people, ordering 2 drinks each, one tuna appetizer each, and one roll each, the bill came out to be around $200. The atmosphere was very pleasant and the bathrooms were very nice. It's pretty much the only place in Nuevo Vallarta and it's a place I'd go back to if I were staying in Nuevo again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Nicksan, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review of your dining experience at our restaurant. We value your insights, and would love to welcome you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicksan also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Nicksan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicksan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.