We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ernestos In Nuevo Vallarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernesto's Good Grub

Ernesto's Good Grub
Nuevo Vallarta Nayarit | Jarretaderas, Nuevo Vallarta 48300, Mexico
+52 2976179
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 101 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ernestos In Nuevo Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Another couple excellent meal at Ernestos. Every time we are in Nuevo Vallarta we make a point of going for supper at least twice while we are there. This time we took another family and they were just as impressed as we are. Fine food, friendly family run restaurant. Not to be missed!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Ribs and Tortilla Soup Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is fabulous restaurant for singles to families. They are known for there wonderful Ribs and Tortilla Soup. The best anywhere, not just Vallarta. Not a fancy setting, family style with tablecloths, tv, lots of plants all around on the patio. Outside sitting with fans and a over open over hang.
All the food on the menu is good.
They are open for breakfast-dinner, same menu all day.
Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dine refined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ernestos is tops in our fave places to enjoy a great meal. Marnie and I, Frank from Ontario love this place. We have brought many friends here to dine with us and they all raved about the wonderful service and the homemade food. Awesome! There is no better chicken totilla soup anywhere on the west coast of Mexico. This is a must dine location. Bring your friends and be prepared to be sated. We'll be there in January and February 2013. Can't wait!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The ribs are great for the Saturday all you can eat, but it gets very crowded. We had a long wait the the service could have been better. You do need a reservaiton.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was in search of the best chicken tortilla soup in PV and all of the reviews said this was the spot. My own personal recipe and the chicken tortilla soup at a Mexican restaurant where I live in Minneapolis (MASA) blow Ernesto's away. I should have known when the cab driver tried to take us somewhere else and there wasn't a single local in the restaurant when we arrived. (It was busy, but with all older Americans or Canadians.) Considering how hard this was to get to and how much it cost ($45 for a medium bowl of soup, a chicken entree, a beer and a margarita), I wish I would have tried the place the cab driver recommended.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernesto's Good Grub also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Ernesto's Good Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernesto's Good Grub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.