We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ernestos In Nuevo Vallarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernesto's Good Grub

Ernesto's Good Grub
Nuevo Vallarta Nayarit | Jarretaderas, Nuevo Vallarta 48300, Mexico
+52 2976179
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 113 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ernestos In Nuevo Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Another couple excellent meal at Ernestos. Every time we are in Nuevo Vallarta we make a point of going for supper at least twice while we are there. This time we took another family and they were just as impressed as we are. Fine food, friendly family run restaurant. Not to be missed!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 61spoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Ribs and Tortilla Soup Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is fabulous restaurant for singles to families. They are known for there wonderful Ribs and Tortilla Soup. The best anywhere, not just Vallarta. Not a fancy setting, family style with tablecloths, tv, lots of plants all around on the patio. Outside sitting with fans and a over open over hang.
All the food on the menu is good.
They are open for breakfast-dinner, same menu all day.
Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank renee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dine refined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ernestos is tops in our fave places to enjoy a great meal. Marnie and I, Frank from Ontario love this place. We have brought many friends here to dine with us and they all raved about the wonderful service and the homemade food. Awesome! There is no better chicken totilla soup anywhere on the west coast of Mexico. This is a must dine location. Bring your friends and be prepared to be sated. We'll be there in January and February 2013. Can't wait!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The ribs are great for the Saturday all you can eat, but it gets very crowded. We had a long wait the the service could have been better. You do need a reservaiton.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeWashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was in search of the best chicken tortilla soup in PV and all of the reviews said this was the spot. My own personal recipe and the chicken tortilla soup at a Mexican restaurant where I live in Minneapolis (MASA) blow Ernesto's away. I should have known when the cab driver tried to take us somewhere else and there wasn't a single local in the restaurant when we arrived. (It was busy, but with all older Americans or Canadians.) Considering how hard this was to get to and how much it cost ($45 for a medium bowl of soup, a chicken entree, a beer and a margarita), I wish I would have tried the place the cab driver recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesCaliNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernesto's Good Grub also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Ernesto's Good Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing