We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came up short in almost every area. Many better places to eat.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Grill

Riviera Grill
Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #35 Sur, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
+52 322 297 6545
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Riviera Grill restaurant offers a fun, lively garden atmosphere in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta in Riviera Nayarit.We are located just 3 minutes from Paradise Plaza and within walking distance of all of Nuevo Vallarta's hotels and resorts including Playa Royale, Marival, Grand Velas and Dreams and we are a short taxi ride from Mayan Palace and Flamingos. We are just across from Luma and Ocean Terrace.Choose your spot - sit at the Onyx Bar or sit at a table in our beautiful garden restaurant.You'll love our Contemporary Mexican and Mediterranean Cuisine including Pasta, Mediterranean Seafood Soup, Enchiladas and Chili Rellanos (like you've never had them before!), Tequila Shrimp and Daily Fresh Fish.The Onyx Bar features an international selection of spirits and wine and over 20 different Tequila's.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Came up short in almost every area. Many better places to eat.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Let me count the ways. They don't provide a glass of water when asked but rather want you to buy a bottle. Tourist trap alert. The steak was mediocre at best. Tough and stringy rib eye. Nothing special about the sides. Bread was average at best. The limonada almost made it but was a tad weak. Wife said her wine was good and it was a generous pour. Server never checked back with us after serving our meal. And to top it off, they did not have 20 pesos for change after only being open an hour with only three tables occupied.

There are many, many better places to eat on the north side of this bay and in Vallarta. Don't know how they make it except it is close to Paradise Village so many can walk and a short cab ride for others. We live almost directly across the street and had never gone due to hearing and reading mixed reviews. Only went to night because we had a 50% off coupon. Won't waste another dining out opportunity on it if they moved it onto our property. Just mediocre in every way. Wasted dining out opportunity.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraGrill, Manager at Riviera Grill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are sorry to hear your disappointment.
We want to turn this misadventure of yours into an opportunity.
We need your help to get better so please contact us or visit Riviera Grill again, in the end we are neighbors.
We are open every day from 5pm
You are important to us and we really hope to hear from you.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    32
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We visited this restaurant with a group of ten friends. Tables are intimately arranged in the attractive courtyard setting. Fernando and the rest of the staff were attentive throughout the meal. . Allergy concerns were addressed (at one point the chef was consulted). The fresh rolls were tasty, warm and plentiful and everyone enjoyed their entree. The highlight of the meal was Fernando's "special treat". His Mexican coffee presentation is not to be missed - very entertaining and the result was delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We went twice, once wasn't enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The setting is great, the food was very good though the menu could be a bit more exciting. However the setting,food entertainment and service all make for a great evening out. Please order a Mexican Coffee! Fernando's presentation was the best we have ever experienced. Absolutely magnificent and delicious too! Thank you!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Garden Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our second visit to the Riviera Grill. Our first visit was in 2012. It was recommended by 2 different people so we decided to give it a try. We enjoyed it so much we have recommended it to several other people. From the outside it doesn't look very promising - no curb appeal at all. But then you are walking into a Garden of Eden. Go at subset and watch all the torches being lit. The Margaritas are really good. The food has an Italian flair. The seafood lasagna special was excellent. The wine menu was good which is not always true in PV. The prices are reasonable. They had live entertainment both times we were there. Have a drink at the bar. A must visit if you are staying in Nuevo Vallarta!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A garden setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time last evening in this off the beaten path restaurant. Tequila lime shrimp was excellent...fresh baked bread was excellent. Side veggies not so much, but didn't take away from great food experience. Service was top-notch. Atmosphere in the inner courtyard was lovely.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Grill also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Riviera Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.