We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM...Filet Mignon at it's BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PRIME 159

PRIME 159
Centro Commercial Local 13 | Nuevo Vallarta Plaza Business Center, Nuevo Vallarta 13, Mexico
322 2976442
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“YUM...Filet Mignon at it's BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A birthday dinner at Prime 159 yielded not only EXCELLENT Filet Mignon cooked to perfection (Med/Rare = pink all the way through), but also a complimentary oooey-gooey, oh so tasty slice of fudge torte for the birthday girl. The three of us ladies took a short cab ride from the Grand Mayan to Prime 159 and were NOT DISAPPOINTED. Great seating inside and out, but we opted for the atmosphere of outside dining. Our waiter was alert and attentive, and made a super red wine recommendation for us...best to just purchase and split a bottle. We started off with Caesar Salad and were REALLY GLAD that we decided to split two, and we could have just ordered one! The chef split our two into three serving dishes with two slices of bagette for each of us.
Next, we ordered three sides, sauteed mushrooms, asparagus, and a potato dish. Again we shared these sides. All in all we ended up STUFFED beyond belief...WHAT A WONDERFUL EVENING...THANK YOU PRIME 159!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    34
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Too pricey for the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place was supposed to be the best steakhouse around so we had high expectations. Of the 6 dinners, only 2 met our expectations. the flank staek and prime rib were the highlights. We sent the New York steak back, the mussels had sand inthem and the sauces were bland. even the dips were disappointing. The bread was musty and the "butter" smelly. Do not order the calamari, unless you like hard, tasteless, breaded chunks of something. A good wine list. Definitely not worth the money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our first visit this year to this restaurant. The outdoor patio overlooking the marina in Nuevo Vallarta was beautiful with a nice breeze blowing the entire time. The food, especially the tuna and bone-in-ribeye were out of this world! If you get a chance to stop in here the trip is worth the time from PV.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected great steakhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

So being a self proclaimed foodie needed to find a great place and was willing to spend a little more for it. We ordered filet and it was done to perfection. This had to be the best we have had here in Mexico. Everything we ordered was tasty and well prepared. Service was top notch. Highly recommend this place!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Best Filet I have ever had and great wine sauce. Excellent service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PRIME 159 also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to PRIME 159? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PRIME 159, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.