We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was pretty cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta

Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta
Tepic Km 155, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
1-866-393-5158
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in paradise! With a range of programs, we have family-friendly adventures for all ages that you will never forget. Located in Aquaventuras Park, you'll enjoy your dolphin experience and a day on the water slides, an adventure full of adrenaline and smiles!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This was pretty cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We got to see and swim with the dolphins for our first time and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The trainers are very good at teaching the dolphins to be gentle around even small children. We had a good time riding on their fins, and diving down deep with them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    84
    28
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Snorkel trip via Ocean Riders ("Marietas Hopping")”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We took a 5 hour snorkeling tour operated by Dolphin Discovery (branded as "Marietas Hopping" by Ocean Riders) out of Nuevo Vallarta in April 2013. The cost was $50 per person. The inflatable boats are SUPER FAST and normally used for whale watching in season, which gets you to the diving site fast. 2 minutes out we were informed that the seas were high, visibility poor and waters too cold for snorkeling in the Marietas! (some timing, huh?). In lieu of turning around, our guide Benjamin... a resourceful, charming and knowledgeable eco-tourism guide... recommended an alternative location in the southern part of Banderas Bay. While we did end up getting into the water, the snorkeling was not good, but the commentary saved the day. Learned a lot about the local bird population, visited a secluded beach, enjoyed a simple but delicious picnic, and had fun on the boat ride. Not what we thought we signed up for... but a nice diversion. Can't say enough about Benjamin - he handled the "speedbump" with grace and made Plan B worthwhile.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chase, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a truly amazing swim with the dolphins. A memory I will cherish forever. You will regret not having done this. Worth every cent

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was a great experience! The dolphin pool is a little cold so if your kids get upset (like mine) skip the kids. You also get a pass to the water park which I did not know so you can actually stay for a while. The water is nice!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great time with the dolpins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was great. You swim with the dolphins in groups of 12 only. The price is under $100 per adult and less for kids. That gets you 30 minutes with the dolphins. Tummy swins, boggie board push and kisses from the dolphins. Kids loved it and so did the adults. Lots of one on one time with the dolphins which was great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.