We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 45% + FREE Suite
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Good Experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I got back from staying at the Marival 4 days ago. Overall it was a good experience, but would say that the hotel needs to be renovated. I am an experienced traveller to all-inclusives and this hotel is one of the ones that stand out in my mind as needing a facelift.

We were upgraded to a suite with two bathrooms, so we were very happy. The daily maid service was awesome and we even had "turn-down night service" nightly.

We were very impressed with how quickly the staff at Marival dealt with requests. Only one phone call was required and a person was sent immediately, e.g. to fix something, replenish the pop in the fridge, etc.

Two things that I have never encountered at any other all-inclusive is that 1) You have to pay for the use of the safe and 2) you are told that the first coffee kit in the room is free, but you have to purchase any others! Luckily, we asked about the coffee on our first day there and was told that as long as you requested daily coffee for the coffee maker in the room, it would be provided free-of charge. Not so with the safe! I could not believe that we had to pay for something that is so basic to all all-inclusives. As I said, I have never had to pay for that before.

The food was good, though the buffet became rather tiresome and "same-old", after awhile. Thankfully the a la carte restaurants are available on an un-limited basis. We loved the Mexican one, though The Pergola (Mediterranean) started out as our favorite, until I found a hair in my food that was definitely not mine! I could not return to that restaurant after that.

The beach was good and the Marival is ideally located for beach walking.

Overall, we enjoyed our time there and would go back, if it was renovated. Oh, it can be noisy in the hallways outside the rooms and at the hotel at nights. I finally put ear plugs in at 12:20 a.m. one night, because of the noise level. The shows were in our estimation, terrible-we went the first night and did not go back.

Thanks to the varied staff-everybody was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We first visited this resort in November of 2013 when decided to purchase into becoming timeshare owners. We went back beginning of July 2014 for 2 weeks and had an incredible time!

The food is great here from the gigantic buffet with so many different choices for everyone to the superior fine dining restaurants and the late night buffet as well. Not to mention those who are able to visit the VIP area....the food is next to none and if you're lucky the chef will serenade you in his kitchen as he drums to his own beat of La Bamba!!

I can't believe how wonderful ALL the staff are, always so happy and always willing to try and make your stay and/or requests fulfilled. I have to say that the amount of people we now call our friends is what will keep us coming back! So grateful to have shared our time, stories and love to those who have shared theirs with us!! We love you all Fabian, Karen, Jerry, Jacky, Vanessa, Berna, Hugo, Armando, Freddy & El Capitan!!

Room Tip: Know the difference between Ocean View & Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed at marival in november 2013 with four other couples. this is about our tenth time at marival from when our kids were small to now. we have enjoyed marival for many years. It has nice tennis courts, a nice beach and the ala carte restaurants are good. now unfortunately, the hotel is catering to timeshare guests and have a two tiered hotel, where timeshare guests can go to some areas and regular guests of the hotel not. Our friends from last year are going again this year and have rented from timeshare owners. we booked as regular guests of the hotel. As a result, they will spend their time at the beach at the VIP beach club and we will be by ourselves. Not exactly a fun group vacation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travelers. We are glad you have enjoyed our fantastic facilities and friendly staff through the years and we appreciate your loyalty. The new VIP beach club has certainly been built only for members with over 35,000 points. We are sorry for the inconvenience you may have felt because of this policy. The goal of having created this luxurious space is to invite our guests to join our Vacation Club program. As I mention in our previous conversation, there is no day pass available for this area at the moment. Should this be analyzed and authorized by the general management in the future, we will be glad to let you know. We regret you have decided to cancel your reservation with us due to this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First time to this hotel - and excellent experience!
We've been lucky to get the ocean view room on the second floor, even though we had bought an average price ticket. But it is not only the room that made the most part of our memories. The animation team was ingenious, fun, enthusiastic and loving their job. One night they took us on a trip to a city night club - and it was superb! Great thanks to Ulysses (te amo!!!), Mariana, Leo, David, Ivan.... not all the names I can remember. The whole team and every one of them was unique!

A la Carte restaurants are beyond the few words I can fit in here. Check out the pictures! Special regards to Adam (from Italian resto) and Fidel (from Mexican resto)!

Casa Bella restaurant where most people usually had breakfasts, lunches and dinners is also nice - versatile food for most tastes. I particularly liked the fresh juices in the morning and their omelette, pancakes and desserts.

Overall, the hotel employees managed to make an enjoyable stay for all kinds of visitors: families, couples, solo.. They even had a wedding reception one night.

We slept only 4-6 hours a day because so many interesting things were going on: night discos, yoga, beach volleyball, pool activities, food, swimming in the ocean.... The water in the ocean is extremely warm all day through, by the way.

We both liked our stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was our first time in Puerto Vallarta and We really enjoyed Our stay at the Marival . It was better than We expected . Clean rooms with great views. Food was never disappointing . Very friendly ! We even had Our own concierge Jorge , who took care of everything We needed . Loved it !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at Marival 11 years ago on a vacation and returned July 2014 with our three children. Overall, Marival is a good place to stay for families. We got a very reasonable rate through Expedia. We had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite which was very much like an apartment and suited our family well. The suite had three full bathrooms and was well air conditioned and kept very clean. We had no problems with security. If you want to lock your valuables in the room, they will charge you 20 dollars for a lock but you can also lock your valuables in a safety deposit box at the front desk for free. We opted for the second choice and had no difficulties. The restaurants at Marival are good - we enjoyed the Italian and Mexican the best. The service in the restaurants was excellent. You must make reservations ahead of time. It is true that guests can only get the equipment (kayaks and Boogie boards) on yellow flag days. Our first five days of the vacation were blue flag days due to sting rays. We did in fact see them swimming around so I understand why they did not want us in the water. Every night there is a show in the theater. The activity staff is very good. They entertain by the pool during the day as well as in the evening at the show and in the lobby afterwards. Marival is about 15 minutes from the downtown area. We rented a car for our entire vacation and drove back and forth to town. We were also located near other hotels and shops in the complex which were very nice. We did not use our cell phones since our phone company wanted to charge us over 2.00 per minute. Instead, we purchased a HELLO International Calling card at the Marival gift shop for $8.00. This gave us 25 minutes of phone service which allowed me to check in at home. The pay phone is located in the hotel lobby. I would strongly recommend buying the HELLO card to save big bucks on the cell phone bill. Marival also has a laundry. It will cost about 3.00 per load and they provide the soap at the front desk. We stayed for 10 days so I had to wash some clothes about midway through. Internet service is not free at Marival. I did not want to pay extra for it, so we used Internet in the downtown Puerto Vallarta area at the McDonalds. You can also use free internet at Vallarta Adventures if you take one of their tours. (We did three tours). There is an actual computer for free use at their main hub. Overall, Marival was a great time. I would highly recommend! We came back again!

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Suite is like an apartment - two levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved our stay. Be forewarned that you will be asked to attend a 90 min time share presentation. We purchased through Bookit and were told we could avoid that but wasn't able to upon check in. We actually ended up purchasing. Shocking to us since we ready own a time share. The rooms are amazing, if not to your standard, call and they will do anything to accommodate you. The wifi is an additional charge per device. We were told $10.95 per 24 hrs but that's not true. For 4 devices for a week it was around $180. The service is impeccable. If you use the VIP beach club, ask for Franciso, he's AMAZING. Before your drink is finished, he's bringing another. He remembers you daily and is quick to serve you with a smile!!! Also by the pool at Residence, Patrice is amazing as well. Most TV shows are in Spanish. So be prepared to have wifi or movies on your computer for yourself or kids. The room service is included in all inclusive but 10% service fee is not. So for a $100 meal (only room service) you must pay $10 of that. Bring cash for the beach. They have wave runners that cost $40-$60 per half hour that you can't charge to the room. Outside venders sell, jewelry, hair braiding, etc. the kids club isn't as nice as the video but our kids painted and had a water balloon fight. We will be coming back for sure!!! Very hot and humid in July but worth every minute!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun ‘n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.