We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP Beach Club and Francisco get an A+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“VIP Beach Club and Francisco get an A+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hats off to the staff at the VIP Beach Club, especially Francisco. He was so attentive to our family. My only problem was the heat. It was extremely hot and even the pool water didn't cool you off. The view of the mountains while sitting on the beach was breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    669
    290
    162
    121
See reviews for
671
404
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enderby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a great time at the VIP section on the beach. Our waiters, Jacqueline, Jerry, Karen, Fabian, and Vanessa really made us Canuks feel like part of their Mexican family. We shared comedy and good stories. They really made us feel at home. They were so helpful with any questions we had or anything we needed. They made us feel like royalty. But we didn't act that way. Ya see I'm a brick and stone mason. So we weren't there to put on airs. We were there to meet real people and have a good time, and that we definitely did. We would also like to say thanks to Alfredo Verde, another gentleman who made us feel so much at home. The food at the beach, the VIP club, the pizza ovens, the a la carte restaurants, the buffets and anywhere else you might have found food, was superb. We loved it here. So we give you all 10 Stars.

Room Tip: They're all good when you're in Mexico. Gonna miss our new found friends. So Len and Lorrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We just came back today and we hated it. Since you arrive they tried to sale or commit to a timeshare presentation. The rooms smell bad and half of the appliances don't work: including phone, hair dryer and the tub is plugged. If you need a security box they want to charge you 20 pesos a day (then don't bring any cash or valuables). The food at the buffets starting from the fruits itself don't look appealing just imagine the rest. The drinks they are disgusting, the bar service at the pools expect a long wait for bad drinks and be sure you are pushy to get a drink or they completely ignore you. For the reservation restaurants I will say the amalfi is the best, las Paloma's is not worth it the food is tasteless and the drinks are water down.
Forget about pool hours they say they will close at 10 pm but they will kick you out at least 30 minutes before by kicking your chair or moving your stuff. I have never posted any comments on this sites but my experience was horrible and knowing that the price difference with the Riu palace was just 30 dollars please take my advise and don't go cheap you will regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Traveler,
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and we appreciate your review. We are disappointed to hear your experience with us was not what you had hoped it would be, but we thank you for your helpful feedback.
Our Vacation Club personnel on the welcome speech not only invites you to attend the presentation but additionally provides you with important information on services, events and facilities you can enjoy at the resort. However, it was not our intention to make you feel disturbed and your concerns have been already forwarded to the Vacation Club Manager for proper follow up.
We are sorry we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding the room condition and amenities. We would have loved to attend your discomfort while still on property. We are always willing to offer a room change in order to make your stay more enjoyable.
Kindly be advised that the safety deposit box located in your room has an extra charge as that is not an inclusion of our all-inclusive package, however we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk with no extra charge available 24 hrs a day.
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the quality of buffet and drinks. We will address your concerns to our Food & Beverages manager and he will be gladly taking them under consideration as we continue to improve the hotel experience for our guests. However, it is nice to know you enjoyed dining at our Italian restaurant.
Regarding the pool schedule, we apologize for any annoyance you may have felt by our public areas staff when they were rearranging the lounge chairs. The pool closes at 10 pm when the daily maintenance process starts by applying chemical products that causes skin irritation. This is why no one can stay after 10 pm.
Thank you once again for your review and please be sure we will address your concerns. Although there are other hotels in the area, I believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Right where to start ... we have just come back from 2 weeks here and I can't quite believe how people can say anything negative about the staff/service/ food or drinks at this place, I swear they must have been at another hotel! The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us (a smile and a few kind words go along way, how can you expect anyone to go out their way for you if you are rude to them?!) we had pool side service at the adults only pool thanks to the amazing Pedro, Ricardo and Miguel, they would come down and check if we needed more drinks on a regular basis and even when we went to get our own they would insist on carrying them back for us. Guadalupe and Theresa were both amazing in the two lobby areas at bringing drinks over, your drink only had to be half empty and they would bring a fresh one!
I would recommend the adult only pool if you don't like noise and want to relax, the main pool can get very loud with the music and all the activities going on. The other pool by the beach was nice but that got a bit noisy and over run with kids as well so we stuck to the adults only pool being a young couple it suited us perfectly.
The animation team are brilliant as well, we got to no some of them quite well and they would take the time to come and talk to us and try and get us involved in the night time shows, they made the shows all the more better for us and the fact they remembered us was a big thumbs up in our eyes. The dancing shows at the theatre were brilliant and the casino night was a lot of fun! A couple of the other shows were aimed more at kids but we expected that. After the theatre there were always activities in one of the lobby's, we loved the dancing ones where they came and showed us how to dance, such a fun experience! Some of the other activities were a bit too loud for us like charades so we just went to a different lobby for a quiet drink.
The buffet food was so good! Breakfast got a bit repetitive but there's not a great deal you can do about that especially being there for two weeks. The evening buffet were always great and had such a big variety, we got to try a lot of new things :) We went to the Mediterranean and Italian restaurants which were both superb, couldn't fault a thing! Just wish we had gone to them more but booking a day in advance isn't ideal really. Both snack bars were great as well, the flies and birds can get annoying though but the hotel can't be blamed for this as they do what they can to stop them.
The rooms could do with being updated and modernised more, if you are in the main block the rooms are very basic and a bit old fashioned as I'm assuming it has been there the longest, the newer blocks with the suites are amazing so if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room I would recommend upgrading. We didn't care about the room too much as we only slept and showered in it! The view was amazing, we were right on the beach front :D they should really make WiFi cheaper or at least have it free in the lobby areas as you have to pay per day and its 120 pesos which is too much really.
Over all we loved the place and would go back in a heartbeat. Big thanks to all the staff and animation team for their hard work, you can tell they enjoy what they do!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room! Pay for a upgrade to the newer rooms if you plan on being picky about them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I visited this property from June 24-July 1 for their restaurants, beach and nightly entertainment. This resort was very clean and for the most part had very helpful and friendly staff. Prior to our arrival I had contacted the hotel with a few questions/concerns about the restaurant reservations/room layouts and I got immediate responses from Christian Salazar and Chantal Ayala Barragan. Both of these individuals were extremely helpful and answered all of my questions and concerns.
POOLS-There were a variety of pools at this resort, my youngest loved the kiddie pool (1-3 feet) with the slides and water fountains. We also spent a few days at the main pool, which was right next to the kiddie area. The kiddie area has limited pool chairs, so unless you get there early, be prepared to stand in the water with your child. Please pay attention to the depth of the water in the various pools. There's one pool that starts at 4 feet and drops off into 5'9, so please be careful and pay attention. There is also an adult only pool, which seemed to be very quiet and relaxing.
RESTAURANTS- We had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast and a mid day snack at La Pergola. The midday snack (we ordered off the menu) was very delicious and service was pretty good. The Piazzeta dei Forni (brick oven pizza) was tasty as well. Cheese pizza seemed to be very popular and was in constant demand but we managed to get 4 slices. Right next to this pizza stand you can get hamburgers, nachos, french fries and hotdogs.This was good for a mid day or late at night snack. We were also able to reserve at Amallfi and Las Palomas. To say the food at Amalfi was good would be an understatement. This food was down right delicious and service was phenomenal. We had reservations on June 26th at 6:30. The phenomenal service started the moment we walked through the door and didn't end until we exited. As I stated before, the food did not disappoint us. The bread basket was unlike one we had ever seen in the states. We ordered spaghetti and meatballs for the youngest kids, my husband ordered steak and my oldest son and I ordered the lasagna. Not a single problem with the quality or taste of the food….absolutely delicious!!! The food was so great here that we made reservations again for Monday June 30th at 7:30. The manager remembered us the minute we walked in the door and said "glad you came back to join us". We had reservations for Las Palomas on June 28th at 6:30. The reception upon entering wasn't' as welcoming but the service from the waiters was fantastic. We ordered tostados, shrimp/chicken in a hard tortilla, chicken wings for the youngest and my husband had a beef dish. The food here was delicious too and I enjoyed watching our waiter make fresh guacamole for our table. Both of these ala carte restaurants deserve a visit.
BEACH- beautiful beach area, no rocks, plenty of beach chairs and you can even sign out a boogie board for one hour from the activity desk. There are vendors walking up and down the beach but a simple "no gracias" did the trick. The waves were strong on the last day we were there, so please pay attention to the colored flags.
THEATRE- we attended all of the nightly shows (9:00) and enjoyed every single show. The Michael Jackson Experience, battle of the sexes and A Toy's Dream were our favorites. I'm glad the battle of the sexes show was family friendly. All of the shows were family friendly and appropriate for children. The theatre is not air conditioned but it is covered and you can order drinks from the bar. The animation staff also hosted events in the main lobby around 10:30 but we never stayed for any of those.
KIDS CLUB- the young lady who was there on Wednesday June 25th around 9:30 a.m was extremely rude. She needs a refresher course on how to talk to people. I let my kids stay for 20 - 25 mins and then went back to pick them up. This kids club was not a big hit for my kids, they stated that the young lady never really talked to them. The young man who was there that day at the same time was much friendlier.
ROOMS- I can't comment to much on the rooms because we were guests of the Marival Residences and World Spa.
SERVICE- most of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and extremely helpful. There were a few that definitely need to take a refresher class.

Overall, I think this was a good resort and would stay here in the future. Hopefully management reads this review and takes notes about the few unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice facilities with good food. For the price paid the hotel is worth it. Very nice pools and access to beach is great. Rooms are nothing special but do the job. Plenty of activities really no need to visit city center if you just want to lounge around. Only complaint was you couldn't take food to pool area.

Room Tip: ground room near pool areas is great, easy access to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Shared a week at the Marival with my mother in-law and we had a wonderful time. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated very well. We spent a lot of time at the VIP beach club and were spoiled by the staff there. Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: If you're going to be in your room during the day or early afternoon choose a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun ‘n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.