We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good from far, far from perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$250 Airfare Credit
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good from far, far from perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

First impressions go a long away with me and I must say that I was very impressed. The entrance into the property and the landscape were mind blowing. Staff were friendly but not over the top happy to make you perfectly comfortable. The pool activities were lacking in though it was fun times playing the water polo and volleyball. The idea i got was that it needed to be supervised by the staff every step of the way. Either way good times had by all.

I think in a general it deserves a solid "very good" rating but that may sink itself when it came down to the buffet food. The lack of taste alone was enough to make a person nuts after a week eating it, but then again I was never impressed with that style of dining. On the flip side the restaurants especially the Italian were magnificent!

Room Tip: The lower level facing the pool is perfect. The sliding door from the deck lets you access it easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort on this web site. We value our guests' opinions as we strive for excellence, and always welcome an opportunity to improve. We are happy to know that you had a good time during your recent stay, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    699
    301
    176
    125
See reviews for
728
425
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have to say that although we “used” to really love Marival Resort and Suites and after giving it “4 marks” last year, this year we have to knock it down a notch and give it only “3 marks”. Two marks would be too harsh, because there is still a lot to love, but less than in years past.

Apparently this resort is giving away a 3 night, 2 day stay for free if you fill out their questionnaire and take their tour. it is apparent that locals take great advantage of this as we found that both weekends we were inundated with unruly families, they come in on Friday and leave on Sunday, so the mid-week is wonderful. Our check-in was behind a busload of locals.

We love the size of the resort, the food in the Italian and Mediterranean Restaurants are superb. Mexican menu has changed in the past 2 years and isn’t as good – it was understaffed the night we ate there. We also love seeing the regulars here every year since we come Thanksgiving week ever year, but those are dwindling as well.

We also found this year that the resort is pushing the Gold and Platinum level of guests that you can buy into their time share and we had powder blue (we choose not to buy in and feel that we were penalized). The level of service is based on the color of your bracelet. Unfortunately this was very disheartening. Signs everywhere say “Members First”.

LaBamba was restricted to G/P level and they are building a new bar area for G/P. You never knew when the Pizziattea was going to be open, rules change from day to day, no consistency any more. Everything is open when the “free” people come in. Staff is instructed to hustle for G/P bracelets.

We found this year that our drinks were definitely watered down. Who knows what’s in the bottles.

Another feature that has changed was the number of times you can eat in an ala carte restaurant. They strictly reinforced this rule this year as it was lax in years past. We dislike buffets and certainly not on vacation. The reservationist for dinner in years past has always been accommodating, not this year.

They need to enforce “no kids” policy in the places were they are not allow -- Adult pool and Jacuzzi, the staff turns their heads to this problem. Adult pool bar service was only available 3 out of 10 days of our stay.

We will miss Luis, Fernanda, Gilberto, Maritsa, Rosario, Miguel, Manuel, Eduardo (all superior staff over the years) as we are forced out to find another resort in the Nuevo area because we didn’t “buy in”. Thanks Marival for 6 great years at your resort. #7 was questionable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We regret you did not enjoy your stay as much as in the past. We are always striving to make guests' stays as comfortable as possible so we apologize.
We would like to clear up the misunderstanding regarding the bracelets, the different colors we use have nothing to do with the treatment you receive from the staff, but with the access that you have to some exclusive areas for our sister property´s guests or members, such as the beach club. We use different colors also for groups that are having special activities so they can be identified by their group coordinator.
We are surprised by your statement regarding the snack bar Piazetta, since that restaurant opens every single day. The open time might vary (one or two hours) depending on the hotel´s occupancy, but still available for lunch and dinner 7 days a week until 2.30 am.
In reference to the snack bar La Bamba, since June 2013 this spot serves breakfast exclusively for Vacation Club, lunch and dinner is available for every single guest.
Regarding the number of reservation cards given at the check in for our specialties a la carte restaurants, it depends on the number of nights of stay and the resort ensures at least half of the total of nights. This policy has always existed and we are now taking a better control so every guest has the opportunity to enjoy these culinary experiences. We rely on your understanding and apologize for the inconveniences.
In reference to kids being in the jacuzzi and adult´s pool, we always ask our guests to please keep their kids out of these areas. It is important to mention that this normative applies to all our guests for safety reasons. In case someone is not following these rules, our staff will approach and talk to them, but unfortunately, there are some guests that do not care and let their kids back in the area when the staff member walks away.
We are glad to read you enjoy the way you are treated by our staff and we really hope you give us another chance to host you in the future so we can do our best on trying to make your stay more enjoyable. Please contact us on gsmanager@marival.com.mx when planning your next trip and we will be happy to help you with anything you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent a week at the Club Marival from Jan 20-27. Overall we thought it was a very well run resort although it is a little dated but well maintained. The staff were very considerate and attended to any complaints promptly. The a la cartes were very good and the Mexican fiesta night outside was definitely a highlight. We thought the food including the buffets and pool bars were excellent and found no need to complain. It would have been nice to have spanish coffees in the buffet after dinner. When we asked the waiter he said he had never heard of it. He did bring us coffees with a half glass of Kalua on the side(uhh...that's not a Spanish coffee) What did bother me was the Marival had advertised free wi fi in the lobby and all you had to do was get a code from the main desk when checking in. When I asked for this they told me they don't have this. I later found out that they only give that to gold band members. We had grey so I guess we didn't rate. When I found out other people had got a access code I returned to the business center and complained as I wanted to send an email to our kids. Finally she gave me a code and said I could use it only one time to send an email home. I used this code every day thereafter. They don't explain that you are not getting certain things because you are not a preferred member. This also relates to what other guests have said on this board about all the preferred areas on the beach which nobody ever seemed to use. These gold band "preferred" guests were invariably mingling with all us "commoners" on the non preferred beach while their lounge cots and restaurant/bar areas were virtually empty. Naturally, this made things rather crowded. The beach was wonderful although the incoming surf stirs up alot of sand. The beach vendors were polite and respectful and had no issue with them being a bother. Time share vultures were not a problem either which was a relief. Overall we thouroughly enjoyed our time there and will undoubtably return sometime in the future. We ran into one old fellow and his wife who were there for their 25th time and others a little less so obviously guests are comfortable with the resort and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean or garden view and they try to accomadate you. We asked for an ocean view and got o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay in our resort on this web site. We welcome the opinion of our guests as we constantly strive to providing our guests with quality service and facilities.
Your comments have been forwarded to management and will be taken into consideration to improve communication with our guests.
We look forward to a new opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This tennis facility is really well run by Miguel Fernandez. The tennis round-robins and tournaments are very efficient and professionally directed. We really enjoyed ourselves and found partners easily. I would rate this club and director 5 star.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort on this web site. Without any doubt, our tennis facilities are a favorite to many travelers like you, who enjoy our tournaments and rate our tennis pro's job very highly.
We look forward to a new opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was well organized and a fun event.
Miguel did a great job of organizing the tournament.
The prizes were also good.
We will definitely come back to the Marival Resrt again and play in the tennis tourement.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of our resort on this web site. We value our guests' opinions and appreciate them sharing their views on line for other travelers to benefit from them as well. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed tennis during your recent stay here, and appreciate the work done by our pro. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this resort in 2007 and 2013. The staff is very friendly,helpful. Food choices are great, being able to make dinner reservations is a nice change from going to buffet style meal.
The stone pizza oven and snacks are great. Rooms are clean and if you have any room issues they get dealt with promptly. Pools are great, but if wanting to sun at the adult only pool…recommend that you reserve with your towel early.

Room Tip: Ground level is great….and choose with two bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. Guests' comments are very important to us as we strive to provide them with the best possible vacation experiences. We are very pleased to have you as repeat guest, and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucyrus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went to this resort a year ago February. Pizza outside was good and the mushrooms in the Italian restaurant was out of this world we just kept asking for more. Buffet food was average at best sit down restaurants were good. Drinks were all cheap and bottom shelf. Snorkeling in the area is not good the whale watching was something different for us and neat. Stay away from Timeshare people also. Nice resort wont be back there is better but there is also worse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers. We regret you found the quality of drinks less than satisfactory. Any opportunity to improve our services and facilities is more than welcome. We also apologize for any discomfort you may have felt by the Vacation Club staff. Your concerns have been addressed to the head of each area you mention. We hope you will give us another chance to host you in the future. Although there are other hotels in the area, we believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our passion to serve you better makes us to continue evolving... Feel the new sensation. Introducing Marival Resort & Suites totally re-styled rooms! Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun 'n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.