We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Marival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 45% + FREE Suite
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Marvelous Marival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely resort and well-taken care of. Our first time here, so we do not really know if quality has gone down. We always find staff and service anywhere top notch if they are treated with respect and appreciation and this was no exception. We did not travel with small children but could see this was an excellent place to bring them for all the daily activities that were available. We found the adult-only pool area, which saved us from the busyness of the family areas. When a family pretended they couldn't read the adult-only sign, they were asked to move to the other areas.

Our standard room was clean and comfortable, staying in the hotel-style block. The drawback to staying in these buildings is the open floor concept because when families allow their children to run, play and yell in the halls late at night (up to midnight!), sleep quality is very poor as the sound is horribly amplified and carries up through all floors.

We thought the food quality was more than adequate. We concur that the dessert selection in the Casa Bella buffet restaurant was very poor. This was surprising as you can see that they take quite a bit of care (as much as you can for buffet) in offering fresh and tasty selections in the other areas. Desserts were very fine in the a la carte restaurants! Carrying food away from the outdoor eating areas is not permitted by regulation with signs posted, but guests also pretended to not be able to read these and took food to eat outside the areas. Waiters are more or less vigilant in stopping this depending on the area. It was actually nice to be around the pools and beach area and not having to look at dirty plates and spilled food lying around.

We avoid time share presentations everywhere we go and this was no exception. Unfortunately they use these people to assist with check-in, so they are the ones putting on the arm bands and giving you room keys. They tended to continue trying to approach one the entire time you are there, but we just usually smiled and said no thanks, and they cheerfully desist.

Room Tip: We found our sleep quality in the hotel block very poor as hall noise amplifies and carries up throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    706
    652
    285
    155
    119
See reviews for
638
400
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in August 2012. It was the first time we'd stayed at an all-inclusive resort. We had a fantastic time! We stayed in an amazing suite overlooking the ocean. We booked our trip through Delta Vacations, and got the Honeymoon package, which included the suite. We were put in a regular room the first night, but I was too exhausted to say anything. The next day, I made the front desk aware of their mistake and they fixes it immediately. The suite was outstanding. We had a beautiful fruit basket and cake in our room when we got there. The food was very good, and the drinks were always cold. One drawback that concerned me when I booked this was the number of families on the property. Yes there were a lot of families, but we have kids of our own so it didn't bother us much. We mainly stayed in the adult pool. We actually would like to take our kids there someday. We booked some excursions at one of the desks at the resort, and had great experiences each time. The staff was very friendly and only asked me once to attend their time share presentation. I politely but firmly said no, and was not asked for the rest of the week. I have read some other reviews by people who have obviously stayed at a lot of resorts, but for our first time, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Literally held hostage in the time share presentation. Wouldnt let us leave after many more hours than agreed to. We would have just walked except they said if we didnt get our voucher signed they were going to increase the rate on our room dramatically. They insulted us and made it impossible to see past that for the other amenities. Only plus was the beach front room and the Italian restaurant there; very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Marival deeply regrets any inconvenience you may have felt during the presentation to our Vacation Club ownership. We would like to let you know that our Vacation Club presentation was designed with a method of sale, where the respect given to our guests is very important. Please be assured that it is not our intention to neither mistreat nor manhandle our clients, for that reason our Vacation Club Manager has already received your comments and will review them and work on how our promoters are approaching and treating our guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and please be so kind to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your arrival to help you with any request you could have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachuca, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just got back from Marival. This is the second time we visit this resort and I agree with other reviews that the quality is going down. Food quality and variety is OK, although they need to improve their desserts. Casa Bella restaurant is clean, but outside restaurants are not. They used to have "Distintivo H" which is a certification for restaurants with good hygiene practices, but they probably have not renewed it. Rooms were not cleaned at all and the housekeeper was very rude all the time. We could only make 1 reservation at the nice dinner restaurants in a 6 day stay. So I guess you have to book your dinners before you even arrive, which is ridiculous. Beware of the people near the front desk that try to sell you time share. They will bother you until you agree to go to a informative breakfast. Then, they will kidnap you until you agree to buy something or you escape after many hours of torture. People at the front desk and at Marival Gold are not very nice. Too crowded and pool animation is awful. But...... the beach is spectacular. We saw manta rays near the beach, sea turtles, many seabirds and pretty sunsets. Unfortunately, manta rays were confused for sting rays by hotel staff, and they were scared and driving people out of the ocean. We know the difference, so we swam with the manta rays (amazing experience). Beach is clean and wide. Because of the manta rays, we could never use kayaks or boards (hotel regulation when there is "dangerous fauna"). Overall a nice vacation, although they have to improve a lot of things.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the animated pool (too noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for your comments and are very sorry for all the inconvenience you may have felt during your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to follow up on your remarks with our Managers, as our commitment is the satisfaction of our guests. For your information, our Distintivo H for food safety was renewed last February 22nd for the 7th consecutive year. Please do not doubt to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx to help you with any request you could have for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our third trip to Marival. I will not start by telling you everything was horrible. It wasn't all horrible, but the quality went down since our last visit and the service changed focus. (1) Our biggest complaint was that they limited the number of times you could make reservations at the nice dinner restaurants. Only 3 reservations for a 1 week stay. We did not have this problem either of the previous times. The restaurants were half full at most but we watched them turn people away every night. (2) Drinks were very watered down at the pool bars. (3) The previous 2 trips had a very international client base, people from all over the world. It has become a resort for locals and the staff caters to the locals with many employees only speaking Spanish. Again, I went to Mexico, I don't expect fluent English except for the fact that it was very focused on the International traveler the previous 2 times. (4) We had a very large group, at least 20 people got sick that took them down for at least 1 full day. (5) We booked an excursion through the hotel staff. It got cancelled due to weather (not their fault) but we spent 3 days trying to get our money back...we still did not get $40 cash deposit back but didn't want to spend another day fighting so we ate it. Book directly through the tour company (Vallarta Adventures) (6) Apparently the first part of July is national vacation time in Mexico and the resort was very crowded .. not their fault but FYI make sure you don't book vacations during national holiday times in other countries. (7) Sting rays on the beach ... we could not use the ocean for even 1 day out of 8. (8) Day passes - they let people pay to use the resort for a day, I think this is a big contributor to some of the above issues. (9) Rooms feel worn and musty. (10) They used to have Grey Goose at the Martini Bar...no more. (11) the towers are built with atriums that echo all the hallway noise...you will be woken up. (12) Management and reservations could have cared less that we had a group of 54 people and made absolutely no effort to assist with issues such as dinner reservations.
On the good - I thought the food at the sit down restaurants was still good and some of the buffet food was also good. Majority of the service staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a 2 bedroom suite with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you may have found during your last experience and you can be assured we will follow up on your observations with Management. In order to provide our guests with a better service and give all of them the chance to enjoy at least half the nights at our à la carte restaurants, we had to take certain measures, which is why you found we have limited the times you can make dinner reservations. Please be so kind to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx and send us all the information to help you with the refund of the tour you mentioned. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Since I am a glass half full type of person, I will start with the positives. We really enjoyed the restaurants especially the Mexican place, and all of the desserts. The service at the restaurants was fabulous, and we definitely never went away hungry. We never had to wait long for alcoholic drinks. There was a nice variety, and we never went long with an empty glass when drinking. The rooms were very spacious, and it was nice having two bathrooms (although, you could hear everything that your neighbors were doing which made it hard to get much sleep).

Okay now for the reasons that we will not be returning to Marival. Communication was very poor, and I am not talking about the English/Spanish translation. When we arrived at the resort, we waited in line for a while to check in and then were told that we had to check in at the Marival Gold desk (they were not very friendly about it either). After they checked us in, I asked if there was a map or anything they could tell us about the resort. The only thing that we were given was a kid's map which was not helpful at all. There was a guy named Felix that immediately greeted us, but he only wanted to sell us something. Felix continued to call our room consistently for about the next four days which was very annoying to say the least. We called to make dinner reservations for the night, but we were told that we couldn't because it was after 5. Wasn't that something they could have shared with us when we checked in at 4?

So we were disappointed that night when we had to eat mediocre food at the buffet. We went to the show after dinner which was in Spanish, so we couldn't really enjoy it. Thank goodness the drinks were flowing, and we made the best out of the situation.

Another big disappointment was how hard it was to get bottled water at this resort. You got four bottled waters in the fridge which is two per person. I'm sorry, but two bottled waters a day when drinking and out in the sun is not enough. We went to all of the bars which could not give us any, and then called room service which never came with more even though they said they would. I finally had to go to the front desk and get a little sassy to start getting six bottled waters in the fridge. Needless to say we had to drink the water out at the restaurants. Now about nine days later, both of us are still not feeling 100% after getting sick the last couple days of our trip.

There was one last incident that annoyed us. We wanted to play tennis one day. We went to ask for rackets and balls. We were told that the courts were wet, and we couldn't play. Although, we saw another pair playing. We stayed and played pool. About fifteen minutes later, another pair came in and were given tennis rackets and balls. We asked again and then were told to go outside and someone would help us out there. Well by that time all of the courts were taken, and there was no one to help us. I guess we were not playing tennis.

This was our first all inclusive trip that we have taken, but I have done several cruises. I will definitely be sticking to cruises from now on. If we do take another all inclusive trip, we will be spending the extra money to stay somewhere a little more accommodating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you may have encountered and we will share your comments with the appropriate leaders for their follow up. We are sure our operation is dedicated to the highest safety procedures and our guests can find safe water all over the Resort at the restaurants or bars, bottles of water are only send to the rooms. Our main concern is the total satisfaction of our guests and we deeply care when our guests express their dissatisfaction; we would have appreciated it if you had reported us your observations while you were still at the hotel. We hope you will give us in the future the opportunity to welcome you back; please do not doubt to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your arrival to help you with any request you could have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from here and will NEVER go back or recommend to anyone! Food was awful and we are all VERY sick! Also met other families there who were sick as well. Housekeeping did not clean the room well at all. No towels left in the rooms. All in all very upset with this vacation considering we took my mother and our kids for the first time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have felt with us, and are very sorry if we could not meet your expectations. It would have been very helpful if you had told us of your discomfort during your stay to make sure it would be more enjoyable. For your information we do not have any other report regarding guests getting sick from food. Our main concern is the total satisfaction of our guests and you can be more than sure that your remarks are being followed up by our Managers. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future; please do not doubt to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your arrival to help you with any request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun ‘n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.