We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one week holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 45% + FREE Suite
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great one week holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Found this hotel online and read many excellent reviews about it before booking it. Left on January 7th out of Toronto for one week. Hotel and grounds are very well kept. Never saw so much staff working in a hotel. My husband and I
definitely were not disappointed. The A La Carte restaurants were excellent. You should reserve them before you leave on your trip. The beach and pool areas are wonderul. Lots of kiddies - a great place for a family. The staff was excellent all around. Rooms were clean. Bathrooms could use a little upgrade but not too bad. We had a health issue just before leaving for home and I must say the dr on staff and the staff treated us remarkably well. Very caring. Thank you Anna, for your help. Would we go back. Most definitely. Thinking of taking our kids and grandson next winter. We definitely were not pestered by the time share reps. We said we were not interested and nobody bothered us. The top floor of the hotel offers free internet service. So we would go there everyday, have a drink and use our computer.

Room Tip: We asked for an ocean view room but did not get it. As it turned out the view was not bad and we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site. Your insights are quite valuable to us and we are certain other travelers will benefit from them as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    706
    652
    285
    155
    119
See reviews for
638
400
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We returned recently from our 2nd stay at the Marival. We were there for a one week stay from December 30th to January 6th /2013. Last time we were on the Club Side with a West Jet package. This time we were on the Grand Side with a Nolitours package. If you book with Nolitours you get a few extra perks as the Marival is in their "Nolizone" selection of resorts. The things that we noted were free Wi-Fi and 2 weekly coctail parties (One at the Marival Resort and one at the Marival Residences) where they serve drinks to your table outside and appetizers also. The Free Wi-Fi was the best inclusion. The Resort has not changed too much since our last visit except for the La Bamba Steakhouse was closed. I was told it was due to occupancy but front desk told me that the resort was full. We ate at the a la cartes 4 times, twice being the Italian.

New Years Eve was the Gala Dinner where they spent a long day setting up and put on a fantastic buffet meal and entertainment. An excellent fireworks display at midnight with more music to follow until 2am. Table service drinks all night as well by many many waiters.

We had 3 days of thick clouds during our week. New Years Eve was cloudy all day, New Years day was light rain all day followed by another 3/4 day of heavy clouds with a 2 hour rain in the afternoon. The rest of the week was all sun and blue sky. 3 days of clouds is too much when you are only there for 1 week.

There are still many of the same activity crew (David, Carlos and the activity boss as well) and they still go non stop all day and well into the night with activities and entertainment. Theatre shows are still above average from other resorts that we have been too and mostly done by the activity staff alone.

I was up before the sun to grab loungers by the Grand Pool as they go quick and we needed 6 beside each other. The beach palapas are starting to be reserved the night before at times. We did one excursion with Vallarta Adventures and it was the Extreme Adventure which included Ziplines, Polaris Razor course and the longest Zipline in Mexico where you soar like superman head first. Kids loved it even though we did it New Years day where it rained all day.

I had emailed ahead of time to the Resort with my room requests like I always do and also mentioned that it would be a repeat visit for us also. First time we have repeated a resort in 13 different tropical vacations but we enjoyed ourselves so much we just had to go back. Did not notice anything different being a repeat guest but after all we had only been there once before. Our 2nd last night (Friday) when we arrived at the Theatre for the evening show we noticed that there were several table set up with candles, wine glasses and balloons with people sitting at them and they each received a bottle of wine to drink. The M.C that night informed the rest of the crowd that those tables were set up for repeat guests who have stayed more than one time at the Marival. There is an evening like this each week and there is prizes for the people that have stayed the most number of times who are there that particular week. Hmmmm, funny thing is we knew nothing about this and the resort was made aware in my email that we would be repeat guests. It would have been nice to have been made note of by the resort at some point during our stay. Heck we should have had a table set for us with the wine as well. I thought these guests were maybe timeshare guests but the people who got 1st and 2nd place for amount of stays had Nolitours bracelets just like our family did.

As the end of the week came and we were preparing to head home we had decided that we would again not hesitate to return to the Marival Resort & Suites for a 3rd time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here with extended family ( 15 ) from December 26 to January 2. As this was our 3rd visit, we were very aware of the time share people and asked at check-in to receive our bracelets at the front desk and not from the time share people as is the usual way. Having experienced the time share pitch at Marival I would highly recommend avoiding it at all costs. It is extremely high pressure and uncomfortable.The front desk people were happy to oblige us and we had a quick and painless check in.

We have stayed in suites on all our visits and find them spacious and well appointed. They are on the quiet side of the resort close to the adult pool, and just a short walk to the beach. Some of our party have stayed in the regular rooms on previous visits and had mentioned that they can be quite noisy. Our rooms were cleaned and freshened everyday and water was also delivered to the room daily. On our last night one of our party wasn't feeling well and we had to have maid service come up to the room at midnight to change some bedding. This was done very efficiently and quickly and was a reminder of the quick and efficient service of the room cleaning staff.
Overall the resort is well laid out with many options for relaxing, playing and eating. Unlike most resorts in Nuevo there are defined and separate kids, activity and adult pool areas.There are lots of pool chairs and although many people get up early to reserve chairs, we were able to find chairs either on the beach or by the pools. The resort is very clean with the staff doing maintenance all the time to keep things looking in top shape. The activity pool has something going on from the late morning to the late afternoon, plus there is a water park, kids club and a teens club as well. The beach hut has boogie boards and kayaks for use at no charge, and there is a sailing boat available to rent. The adult pool is very quiet and close to the snack bar and the staff do their best to keep the kids away.
There are lots of options for food. In the morning the main buffet is open from 7 to 11 am, and the Mediterranean restaurant is open till noon. The buffet has a great selection as well as a made to order omelet bar. It is quite noisy so we preferred the Mediterranean restaurant for breakfast. Here you have a buffet of continental type breakfast selections, plus you can order off the menu as well. We did find service slow here most mornings though, so if you are in a hurry, best to go to the main buffet.
Lunch is served in the same 2 places, the main buffet and the Mediterranean restaurant, plus it is also available in the 2 snack bars. The snack bar by the adult pool has wood fired pizza ovens and is open from noon till 1 or 2 am each day. There is also a small buffet selection and burgers and hot dogs available here. The other snack bar is located by the kids water park and offers the same selections, but no wood burning pizza ovens. Dinner is either the buffet, or one of 3 Ala-cart restaurants. The ala-carte options are Italian, Mediterranean or Mexican. This trip were ate at the Italian and Mexican and enjoyed them both. You need reservations for the ala-carte's and those are done in the main lobby every morning. You can resterve up to one week in advance.
We traveled with Nollitours and learned while there that because of that we had extra privileges. With Nollitours we were able to receive unlimited ala-carte reservations, plus free WiFi in the lobby.
Over all the trip was enjoyable and without incident. Marival offers great value in all categories from food, drink, accommodations ad entertainment. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I went with my son for a week and for the most part enjoyed our stay. When we first arrived at the hotel we checked in and then sat down with a time share rep. We were warned about them ahead of time so we said we were not interested in the tour . The rep would not take no for an answer and kept saying why not. My son kept saying because we don't want too. The rep finally got very mad , stood up and said " your in a different country,think about it" It felt like a threat. Needless to say thins left a very sour taste in my mouth and I was quite upset for the rest of the day. I was a little parinoid for the reat of the trip thinking this guy might do something. Other than that we had a lot of fun.
The room had a nice view and was clean. it did have a musty smell to it. I guess just from the high humidity.
There were lots of fun activities and a good gym.
The food was good for the most part but I found it was cooked with a lot of salt.
The drinks were ok but were served in plastic cups. I understand its safer than glass but when cleaning they were just dunked in soapy water a few times and then rinsed. There was no actual scrubbing them that I saw.
The beach was amazing. it was flat with no rocks at all.
The staff were very friendly as well.
We met many very nice people here.
I choose to remember all the good things about our stay and would consider going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Excellent beach, pool. agree with previous reviewers re the beach staff. The small hobbie cat was available for no charge but it was usually too rough to take out. The large cat cost $8 per person. Internet charges were very high. Buffet food was disappointing and the house wine was undrinkable. The other restaurants were superb although we had to pay $20 to $30 for a bottle of decent wine

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Prairie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed the the Marival mid December and have to say it was one of the best holidays we have had. We have travelled to many all inclusives and did not have high expections going into the Marival based on age and reviews - but were extremely impressed and pleasantly surprised. The hotel is lovely and well kept from entrance to beach front.

Our room was a two bedroom suite (not much more expensive than a regular room) It had a bedroom with king bed on the main level with its own bath , an upper loft level with a master suite that includes a king bed, full bath and private balcony, then an open kitchen/dining living area with a 3rd bath off the living area and an main balcony.... each room had a tv --- so three baths and three tv's (no fights ha) Felt like home and made for an great family vacation. The hotel is spread out over a large peice of property so most rooms are close to the beach and most have a partial ocean view at minimum.

We booked with Nolitours and were allowed to book a la carte for 7 nights if we wanted to . The reservation system is easy and accomodating. Book reservations for all the restaurants easily on the first day of our trip with and each one was fantastic. The Italian was a favorite but the Mexican was amazing as well. Great food and service, felt like we were 5 star dining ! From the reservation lady to the maitre d" everyone was very accomodating, we were even able to change times and add people to our reservation last minute. Just a tip being patient and pleasant here goes along way. Make sure to have the Mexican Coffee after dinner --- its quite a show when they make it at your table and light it on fire!

The beach is fantastic - likely one of the best locations along this strip of beach for sure ( we have stayed at many different resorts on the same beach in Nuevo Vallarta) Soft clean sand, great (flat) to run and walk on. Fun waves to play in. The resort offers kayaks, boogie board (all in great shape) and easy to arrange to take out. They even have surf boards (small rental fee) which was so handy to give actual surfing a bit of a try and not have to leave the resort to try it. Plenty of beach chairs and huts for shade - as long as we were up before 10 we had no trouble finding good ones. Never any trouble around the pools for space - especially the adult pool.

Entertainment staff did a great job of keeping everyone entertained. From encouraging volleyball participation to water games... or just reminding you to come to the show. They worked hard at getting to know the guests (much more than other resorts) especially Carlos, great job!! If you travel with kids that like to be involved.... this resort is great. Day activities that actually happened, kids always running around in crowns that they had just made or some activity going on. I have travelled with kids for 20 years lol - so I have seen resorts through the eyes of a parent at different stages..... I wish I would have discovered this one when my kids were younger. Many hotels talk of kids programs.... this one delivers! Even fantastic kids buffet at the main buffet - totally caters to them. My 20 something kids had lots of fun too haha --- pizza bar open till 3 am great pizza and beer! Disco where most of the young adults wander in too - allows them to meet others in their age group. They had a decent gym that they used often, ping pong, shuffleboard, golf ...... and on and on! Nolitours had a free tour from the hotel into Puerto Vallarta. 7 pm to 10 pm on Wed,,,,, check it out. We were dropped off by the Malacon and they had an event similar to Taste of Edmonton ( many local restaurants selling tickets to sample their food) and a fiesta --- Lots of fun and a Free opportunity to go into the city and check things out. Nolitour reps were very helpful - go see them and use them for advice and day trips.

Yes, the time share pressure sucks --- but I have to say that is my only complaint. To the hotel: less pressure at the start of the holiday and people would more likely purchase your units. Your hotel is one of the ones we would acutally consider, it sells itself but the pressure to attend a time share presentation that is suppose to be 90 min ,,, turns into 3 hours and makes people feel bad if they are not ready on the spot to purchase leaves a bad taste in your guests mouth!! Thats too bad - because your resort is worthy of people considering a purchase if that is truely watch a guest is considering.

Overall - this resort has a bit of it all and would suit lots of different travel types. We have probably travelled to over 30 different resorts, many of them very good but I think our stay at the Marival will put it up close to the top of our list - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruapan, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Unprofessional staff, rude and an absolute robbery. My girlfriend made a reservation with her credit card. I arrived at 1:00 in the morning from a long trip. The security guard could not direct me
to the Club a section of the compound. after finally finding my way to my room I was summoned at 1:30 am to go to front desk to complete the reservation . Got there and was told i had to pay in cash $200 or leave the hotel This with an approved credit card as security. Further more was told I had to wear a bracelet. I asked them if this could have wait until the morning. The guard came over and told me I couldn't and to wear the bracelet or to leave the premises. Complete morons.
Total for a lousy mediocre room $400. In the morning discovered hundreds of package people who paid a fraction of my bill roaming noisily the premises. Absolutely to avoid at any cost!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for bringing to our attention your experience at Marival Resort & Suites. However, as you already know all our guests need to pay their stay before being assigned a room. In your case we had the information that you would pay, upon arrival, the difference between double and single occupancy. As all inclusive Resort from the arrival to departure, guests need to wear a bracelet all the time which identifies them as guests. Our rates can be different if you book in advance, otherwise at the hotel will be apply rack rates. As you know, New Years’ week is the highest season for the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun ‘n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.